Title V Fee Sheet



Major Sources Include:

  • Clean Air Act Section 302(j) (100 tons per year) sources
  • Nonattainment major sources (see COMAR for specific thresholds)
  • Acid Rain affected sources under Title IV
  • Sources required under 40 CFR 70.3 to obtain a Part 70 Operating Permit regardless of emissions (e.g. certain landfills)


Increased Air Quality Permit to Operate Annual Fees

The Department revised regulations in order to implement the permit fee increases provided by Senate Bill 442 Clean Air Permit Fees which was signed into law on April 24, 2008. The revised fee schedule under COMAR became effective October 1, 2008

Applic​able Fees

Fees are assessed annually and are based upon emissions of all regulated pollutants, excluding CO and Greenhouse Gases (GHG).  The fee includes a $5000.00 base fee, plus $50.00 per ton of actual emissions adjusted by the Consumer Price Index (CPI) annually.  Please see schedule below for current fees.


The Specific Changes are as Follows:

  • The maximum air quality emissions-based fee was raised to $50 per ton. This emissions-based fee will be adjusted in January of each calendar year by the percentage change, if any, of the Consumer Price Index (CPI)  by which the Consumer Price Index for the most recent calendar year exceeds the CPI of the previous calendar year, as calculated as of the close of the 12-month period ending on August 31 of each calendar year.  
  • The 4000 ton per year limit on a single pollutant was repealed. 
  • The facility cap expired at the end of 2009.
  • Every facility subject to annual permit to operate fees is required to pay for all of the emissions of regulated air pollutants that are emitted, excluding CO and GHG.  These emissions are certified by the facility for each calendar year and reported to the Department by April 1 every year.


Current Fees

Effective January 1 through December 31 of the Calendar Year

2020 will be $62.01 per ton of actual emissions, plus $5000.00 base fee

2019 is $60.86 per ton of actual emissions, plus $5000.00 base fee

2018 was $59.42 per ton of actual emissions, plus $5000.00 base fee 

2017 was $58.27 per ton of actual emissions, plus $5000.00 base fee

2016 was $57.79 per ton of actual emissions, plus $5000.00 base fee

2015 was $57.53 per ton of actual emissions plus $5,000.00 base fee

2014 was $56.63 per ton of actual emissions plus $5,000.00 base fee


For more information on Title V (Part 70) fees please contact Christopher Mentzer at 410-537-3230 or at christopher.mentzer@maryland.gov.


Maryland Department of the Environment
Air and Radiation Administration
1800 Washington Boulevard, Suite 720
Baltimore, Maryland 21230-1720

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information