Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission

History, Charge and Term


The Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission was created by statute in 1994 (Chapter 114, Acts of 1994). The Commission studies and collects information on the effectiveness of the Lead Poisoning Prevention Program and current risk reduction treatments in reducing exposure to lead as well as risk and liability issues including availability of insurance. (Environment Article, Secs. 6-801, 6-848)


The Commission consists of nineteen members who serve four-year terms. Seventeen of these, including the chair, are appointed by the Governor. One is a member of the Senate named by the Senate President and one is a delegate chosen by the House Speaker. (Environment Article, Secs. 6-807 through 6-810)


Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Annual Report, 2019pdf icon
Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Annual Report, 2018pdf icon
Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Annual Report, 2017 pdf icon
Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Annual Report, 2016 pdf icon
Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission Annual Report, 2015 pdf icon
Report to the Governor by the Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission, 2001 pdf icon


Lead Commission Mission Statement Mission Statement Current Membership


Patricia McLaine, DrPH, MPH, RN,(Chair), Shana G. Boscak, Benita A. Cooper, Mary Beth Haller, Susan DiGaetano-Kleinhammer, John P. Martonick,  Clifford Mitchell, MD, Paula Montgomery, Barbara Moore, MSN, RN, Christina Peusch, Leonidas A. Newton, Adam D. Skolnik, John J. Scott, Jr., Ms. Manjula Paul, Ms. Anna L. Davis, JD, MPH.


Vacant Positions: a member of the Senate of Maryland, a member of the Maryland House of Delegates, The Secretary of Housing and Community Development or the Secretary's designee, a representative of a financial institution that makes loans secured by a rental property


Commission Overview pdf icon
CV Form pdf icon



Meeting Schedule

Please note that the Lead Commission Meeting scheduled for Thursday Jul 2, 2020 9:30am - 11:30am (EDT) has been cancelled. The next scheduled Lead Commission Meeting is Thursday August 6, 2020. Details will
be posted.
Unless otherwise noted, the Commission meets the first Thursday of each month. Meetings are from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. at MDE. Exceptions are listed in the meeting schedule.

Please confirm your attendance with Wendy Phillips at wendy.phillips@maryland.gov or 410-537-3304.  


The January 2020 Commission meeting will be held on January 9, 2020 from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
in the Aeris conference room at MDE. This meeting will include an overview and discussion of draft lead regulations, available. To view draft regulations click here.pdf icon


2020 Meeting Schedule pdf icon




Meeting Agenda


 Meeting Agendas




Meeting Minutes


Meeting Minutes 




MDE Contact


Paula Montgomery, MDE, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore MD 21230, Paula.Montgomery@maryland.gov, 410-537-3317, toll free in Maryland 800-776-2706 ext. 3441 or fax 410-537-3156.​