Maryland Registered Vehicles Due for VEIP Test but Temporarily Out of the Area

If the vehicle is in a state that has an emissions testing program: 

The vehicle may be locally tested if a testing facility is available within a reasonable distance. Transmit the official emissions inspection documentation, including a cover letter identifying the vehicle license plate number and the name, address, and contact information for the registered owner, to the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) via:
    • email to
    • fax to (410) 424-3193 with cover letter
    • mail to Motor Vehicle Administration, 6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E., Glen Burnie, Maryland 21061, Attn: VEIP
Information on other states' programs may be found on the MDOT MVA website at Please direct questions to MDOT MVA at (410) 768-7000.

If the vehicle is not in a state with an emissions testing program or the testing area is outside a reasonable driving distance:

  1. ​If the vehicle is in possession of a person who is a student or in military service, MDOT MVA form #EP-009 may be completed to request an out-of-area extension. It must be signed by an administrator at the school or installation, or local law enforcement, and transmitted to MDOT MVA as instructed on the form, or scan and email to​. Form #EP-009 may be found on the MDOT MVA website at

  2. For other vehicles, an extension from MDOT MVA may be requested by:

​VEIP - Out of State Motorists Needing an Emissions Test in Maryland

Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program (VEIP) Stations Remain Closed for VEIP testing, however eight of the ten 24 hour VEIP self-service kiosks are open for motorists with 2005 model year and newer vehicles (2008 and newer for heavy duty vehicles). The Columbia and Owings Mills VEIP self-service kiosks are closed at this time. 

Vehicles that have VEIP due dates during the state of emergency are being automatically extended. Vehicle owners whose vehicles are due for inspection during the state of emergency will receive a new notice stating their revised, future due date. This notice should be delivered via mail about two months before your new VEIP due date.

For questions regarding VEIP due dates, vehicle registration status, or waivers, contact the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) 

​​ ​
Out of state motorists that need to comply with their home-state emissions testing requirements can do so while located in Maryland.

Where to go: Any of Maryland’s eighteen VEIP stations (Note: Out-of-state vehicles canot be tested at the self-service VEIP kiosks.)

What to bring: Your ​vehicle, registration, and test fee of $14 payable by cash, Mastercard , Visa, American Express, Discover, personal check with two current IDs (made payable to VEIP), money order or travelers check

What to request: An unscheduled mandatory/out of state test

What to do next: Forward your test results to your home-state emissions inspection program according to that state’s specific instructions.​​​



If we do our share, we can breathe cleaner air.