Featured Staff


Secretary's Office

Secretary Ben GrumblesBen Grumbles is Maryland’s Secretary of the Environment. He was nominated by Governor Larry Hogan and confirmed by the Senate in 2015. His duties include chairing the Governor’s Chesapeake Bay Cabinet and the Maryland Climate Change Commission, and serving as Vice Chair of the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative. He has served previously as President of the U.S. Water Alliance, Assistant Administrator for Water at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Director of Arizona’s Department of Environmental Quality and as Environmental Counsel and Senior Staff Member on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and the Science Committee in the U.S. House of Representatives. He has a master’s degree in environmental law from George Washington University, a J.D. from Emory University School of Law and a bachelor's degree from Wake Forest University.



  1. Erica Chapman​ (6/2019)
  2. Chimere Eaton (5/2016)
  3. Bill Kamberger (4/2016)
  4. Gilbert Lookingland (3/2016)
  5. Jarry Marshall & Dorothy Stokes-Wallace (9/2015)
  6. Peg Nemoff (8/2015)
  7. Laura Armstrong, MDE's Sustainability Coordinator (5/2015)
  8. Suna Yi Sariscak (3/2011)
  9. Steve Lang (8/2010)
  10. Abigail Pascual (1/2010)
  11. Brian Hug, Employee of the Year (12/2009)
  12. John Boris, Project Manager (1/2009)

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information