emde logo 

List of State Officials - Martin O'Malley, Governor; Anthony Brown, Lt. Governor; Shari T. Wilson, MDE Secretary 

Volume III, Number 9

 March 2009

eMDE is a bi-monthly publication of the Maryland Department of the Environment. It covers articles on current environmental issues and events in the state. 

In Brief...

Back to this issue's cover page 

New Permit Turnaround Times for 2009

The Maryland Department of the Environment annually reviews and adjusts the standard permit turnaround times in accordance with Section 1-607(A)(2) of the Environment Article. The annual review gives permit applicants current information regarding the processing time. In most permitting programs, each application has unique characteristics that influence its processing time. For each program, the standard represents the time in which 90 percent of applications can be processed.

MDE made changes to the turnaround times for several permit types for 2009. A new category of Air Quality Permits to Construct was added with a turnaround time of 4 months. General Discharge Permit Registrations for Industrial Wastewater Discharges and Individual Permit for Wastewater Discharges to groundwater all increased the turnaround times due to increasing complexity and volume of applications. The turnaround time for renewals of Part 70 (Title V) Permits to Operate was decreased to 12 months. Click here for the full list of turnaround times and changes.

Nominations for the 26th Annual Governor's Volunteer Service Awards

Volunteerism remains an important part of our ability to move forward in times of economic hardship. The Governor's Office on Service & Volunteerism has officially opened its nomination process for the 26th Annual Governor's Volunteer Service Awards. The awards are given out each year to service-oriented individuals who make Maryland's communities a better place to live. Nominators must submit nomination forms for no more than three candidates. The awards ceremony will take place during National Volunteer Week from April 19 through April 25. All entries must be submitted or postmarked by March 6, 2009. To nominate your unsung hero, click here.

Nominations for the 2009 Tawes Award for A Clean Environment Being Accepted

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2009 Tawes Award for A Clean Environment, named in honor of the late J. Millard Tawes, Maryland Governor (1959-1967) and first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources. The awards are co-sponsored by the MDE and the Maryland Petroleum Council.

The annual statewide environmental recognition program seeks to involve youth, adults, private and public organizations in the restoration and protection of Maryland's many natural resources and attractions. Any individual, civic, community, or non-profit entity that has demonstrated outstanding efforts to enhance Maryland's environment over a period of time or with a single project may be nominated. One award will be given in the adult category and a second in the youth category.

The James B. Coulter Award will honor former Maryland Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources James B. Coulter, and recognizes a government employee who goes above and beyond his/her duties in efforts to improve Maryland's environment. Activities or projects may include, but are not limited to recycling, ecology, animal habitat, community and stream clean up and conservation.

For more information contact the Maryland Petroleum Council office at (410) 269-1850 or MDE's Office of Communications at (410) 537-3003. E-mail requests may be sent to: maryland@api.org. Deadline for submissions is April 17, 2009.


©2009 Copyright MDE

Editorial Board
Maryland Department of the Environment
1800 Washington Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21230