Water Conservation

Maryland State Water Conservation Committee

The Maryland Statewide Water Conservation Committee was tasked with establishing statewide indicators for evaluating drought conditions, examining current water and conservation efforts and the need for regional enhancements, assessing well failures, and programs for ground water conservation, developing comprehensive public education and outreach programs, recommending short and long term planning solutions for responding to future drought conditions, and suggesting mechanisms to address its findings, if necessary.

Committee Report (.pdf file)

Committee Members

  • Robert L. Swann, Chairman
  • Jennifer Aiosa, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
  • Robert S. Baldassari, River Run Golf Club and Community
  • John M. Bambacus, Mayor, City of Frostburg
  • Roland F. Behnke, Behnke Nurseries
  • Charles Boutin, Delegate, Maryland House of Delegates
  • Neal T. Fitzpatrick, Audubon Naturalist Society
  • Erin M. Fitzsimmons, Town of Ocean City
  • Dean M. Graves, Bethesda Country Club
  • Steven A. Harris, Mr. Wash Car Wash
  • Kenneth E. Manley, Gourmet Indulgence Catering
  • Christopher J. McCabe, Senator, Maryland Senate
  • Joy Oakes, Sierra Club Appalachian Office
  • Bernard W. Samm, Jr., Montgomery County Public Schools
  • Donald Spickler
  • Paul O. Swartz, Susquehanna River Basin Commission
  • Linda Washington, Centers for Disease Control
  • W. Gregory Wims, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission
  • George L. Winfield, Baltimore City Department of Public Works

Water Supply Program Staff Support

  • Saeid Kasraei, Program Manager, Water Supply Program
  • John Grace, Chief, Source Protection and Administration Division
  • Barry O’Brien, Chief, Compliance and Technical Assistance Division
  • Nancy Reilman, Chief, Safe Drinking Water Act Implementation Division
  • Lyn Poorman, Environmental Specialist, Safe Drinking Water Act Implementation Division

For More Information
For more information, contact the Water Supply Program at 410-537-3702 or water.supply@maryland.gov