emde logo 

List of State Officials - Martin O'Malley, Governor; Anthony Brown, Lt. Governor; Robert Summers, Acting MDE Secretary 

Volume IV, Number 9

 March 2011

eMDE is a quarterly publication of the Maryland Department of the Environment. It covers articles on current environmental issues and events in the state. 

Nominate champions of the environment for Tawes, Coulter awards

Back to this issue's cover page 

It's time to nominate that person or group that worked to better Maryland's environment for the 2011 Tawes Award for a Clean Environment. Government employees can be nominated for the James B. Coulter Award.

The Tawes Award goes to an individual or civic, community, or non-profit entity that has demonstrated outstanding efforts to enhance Maryland's environment over a period of time or with a single project. These efforts can include community clean-ups, school ecology or beautification projects, recycling projects, prevention and control of hazardous materials, waste reduction, or other innovative environmental projects.

The award, first given in 1976, is named in honor of J. Millard Tawes, governor of Maryland from 1959 to 1967 and the first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources. One award will be presented in the youth category and a second in the adult-or-organization category.

The James B. Coulter Award recognizes a government employee who goes above and beyond his or her duties in efforts to improve Maryland's environment. The award is named in honor of former Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources James B. Coulter.

The awards are sponsored by the Maryland Department of the Environment and the Maryland Petroleum Council.

The deadline for nominations is April 8. For information, call the Maryland Petroleum Council at 410-269-1850 or MDE’s Office of Communications at 410-537-3003 or email TAWES.AWARD@maryland.gov.


©2011 Copyright MDE

Editorial Board
Maryland Department of the Environment
1800 Washington Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21230