Purpose, Composition, and Appointment of Members of the Board of Well Drillers


  1. Issue and renew licenses to applicants who meet the requirements of the licensing law and regulations;
  2. Prepare and revise licensing regulations and Board policies and guidelines; and,
  3. Investigate allegations of misconduct by license holders and to take enforcement action against a license holder who is found to have violated the provisions of the licensing law and regulation.  The enforcement action that could be taken includes issuing a written reprimand, or suspending or revoking that individual's license.

Composition and Appointment of Members

The Board consists of 7 members who are appointed by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary of MDE and the advice and consent of the Maryland State Senate.  Of the seven Board members:
  1. One shall be from the Department of the Environment;
  2. One shall be from the Department of Natural Resources;
  3. One shall be public member; and
  4. Four shall be licensed master well drillers who are actively practicing well drilling at the time of appointment and shall include:
    1. One from Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, or Worcester County;
    2. One from Baltimore City or Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, Howard, or Montgomery County;
    3. One from Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, Prince George's, or St. Mary's County; and
    4. One from Allegany, Frederick, Garrett, or Washington County
Members serve two-year terms.  At the end of a term, a member appointed by the Governor continues to serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies.  A member appointed to fill out the term of another member serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies. 

Curent Commission Membership

Slot Appointee  Term Begin  Term End  Appointed
Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) Robert A. Peoples 7/1/2018 6/30/2020​ 11/7/2018
Department of Naural Resorces (DNR) Heather A. Quinn 7/1/2018 6/30/2020 8/6/2018
Public—Chair Hahns S. Hairston 7/1/2018 6/30/2020 11/7/2018
Well Driller—Eastern MD Michael T. Hall 7/1/2018 6/30/2020 7/1/2018
Well Driller—Western MD David M. Kelly 7/1/2018 6/30/2020 8/6/2018
Well Driller—Southern MD David B. Hartman 7/1/2018 6/30/2020 8/6/2018
Well Driller—Western MD Larry Dale Brenneman 7/1/2018 6/30/2020 8/6/2018

Contact Information

For more information please contact (410) 537-4466 or Elaine.nolen@maryland.gov.

Return to Board of Well Drillers Home Page

Click here to return to the Board of Well Drillers Home Page