emde logo 

List of State Officials - Martin O'Malley, Governor; Anthony Brown, Lt. Governor; Shari T. Wilson, MDE Secretary 

Volume IV, Number 3

 February 2010

eMDE is a quarterly publication of the Maryland Department of the Environment. It covers articles on current environmental issues and events in the state. 

Nominate Your Environmental Champions for the 2010 Tawes,Coulter Awards

Back to this issue's cover page 

Marylanders are encouraged to nominate environmental champions for the 2010 Tawes Award for a Clean Environment and the James B. Coulter Award. The awards are co-sponsored by the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) and the Maryland Petroleum Council.

The Tawes Award recognizes individuals, civic, community, and non-profit groups that have demonstrated outstanding efforts to enhance Maryland’s environment over a period of time or with a single project. The award is named for the late Maryland Governor J. Millard Tawes, who was also the state’s first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources. For 33 years, the Tawes Award has recognized youth, adults, and organizations involved in the restoration and protection of Maryland's environment.

The James B. Coulter Award, established in 2006, acknowledges environmental contributions by an outstanding government employee. The Award commemorates the outstanding public service of Mr. Coulter who served as Maryland’s second secretary of the Department of Natural Resources from 1971 to 1983.

For more information and a registration form visit http://www.mde.state.md.us/aboutmde/enviromatters/tawes _awards.asp or contact Kay Richards at 410-269-1850.

Deadline for submissions is April 8, 2010.


©2010 Copyright MDE

Editorial Board
Maryland Department of the Environment
1800 Washington Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21230