The Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE), Maryland Petroleum Council (MPC) and Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR) will announce winners of the 2013 Tawes Award for a Clean Environment and the James B. Coulter Award. This year’s award winners are from Harford, Carroll and Washington counties.

The awards are co-sponsored by MDE, MPC and DNR to recognize youth, adults, private and public organizations involved in the restoration and protection of Maryland’s natural resources. The Tawes award, given to both adult and youth awardees, is named in honor of J. Millard Tawes, Governor of Maryland from 1959 to 1967 and the first secretary of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. The James B. Coulter Award, named after Maryland’s second DNR Secretary, acknowledges environmental contributions by a government employee.



  • MDE Land Management Director Horacio Tablada

  • Maryland Petroleum Council Executive Director Drew Cobbs

  • DNR Assistant Secretary of Aquatic Resources Dave Goshom



Thursday, May 16, 2013, 11:30 a.m.



Blue Heron Center at Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis, 600 Quiet Waters Park Road, Annapolis, MD 21401


Please inform the entrance gate attendant that you are attending the Tawes Award luncheon and you will not be charged admission to the park.

# # #