Press Release


The Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) and Maryland Petroleum Council will announce winners of the 2007 Tawes Award for A Clean Environment and the second annual James B. Coulter Award. This year’s awardees are from Baltimore, Charles and Frederick counties.

The awards are co-sponsored by MDE and the council to recognize youth, adults, private and public organizations involved in the restoration and protection of Maryland’s many natural resources and attractions over a period of time or with a single project. The award is named in honor of the late Gov. J. Millard Tawes, and the first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources (DNR). The James B. Coulter Award acknowledges environmental contributions by a government employee. Mr. Coulter served as Maryland’s second secretary of DNR.

Through the years, award recipients have ranged from boy scouts, emergency response personnel and environmental activists to elementary and secondary schools, beautification and ecology groups. Entries are divided into two categories – youth (individual or organizations with members under 21), and adult (individual or organization). Activities or projects may include, but are not limited to recycling, ecology, animal habitat, community and stream clean up and conservation.


MDE Secretary Shari T. Wilson
Maryland Petroleum Council Executive Director Drew Cobbs
Award Winners


Monday, May 21 at 11:30 a.m.


Blue Heron Center at Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis

Please inform the entrance gate attendant that you are attending the Tawes Award luncheon and you will not be charged admission to the park.