Press Release

BALTIMORE, MD (May 10, 2007) – Maryland joins with 30 states, representing over 70 percent of the U.S. population, as charter members of The Climate Registry, marking the largest multi-state effort to address climate change.

The newly-formed organization will assist in measuring, tracking, and verifying emissions of greenhouse gases (GHGs), the gases that cause climate change. It will also provide the measurement and reporting infrastructure to support voluntary, mandatory, market-based and emissions reduction programs that are consistent across borders and industry sectors. The Registry will accept reporting data starting in January 2008.

“Participating in The Climate Registry is a critical step forward in Maryland’s efforts to address climate change,” said Maryland Department of the Environment Secretary Shari T. Wilson. “We can only manage what we can effectively measure. Getting accurate data on greenhouse gas emissions is a vital first step towards addressing the impacts of climate change on Maryland. It makes sense for states to share resources and synchronize our programs. By working together, Registry members are laying the foundation for climate actions that will benefit generations to come.”

Maryland is taking a leadership role in addressing climate change in Maryland. Recently Governor O’Malley signed the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI), in which Maryland became the 10th state to join the Northeast regional climate change and energy efficiency program. The Governor also signed an Executive Order that establishes a Climate Change Commission charged with collectively developing an action plan to address the drivers and causes of climate change, preparing for the likely consequences and impacts of climate change to Maryland and establishing firm benchmarks and timetables for implementing the Commission’s recommendations.

The list of charter members includes:

  • Arizona,

  • California,

  • Colorado,

  • Connecticut,

  • Delaware,

  • Florida,

  • Hawaii,

  • Illinois,

  • Kansas,

  • Maine,

  • Maryland,

  • Massachusetts,

  • Michigan,

  • Minnesota,

  • Missouri,

  • Montana,

  • New Hampshire,

  • New Jersey,

  • New Mexico,

  • New York,

  • North Carolina,

  • Ohio,

  • Oregon,

  • Pennsylvania,

  • South Carolina,

  • Utah,

  • Vermont,

  • Washington,

  • Wisconsin,

  • Wyoming and the

  • Campo Kumeyaay Nation.

  • Two Canadian provinces, British Columbia and Manitoba, have also committed to participate.