Press Release

BALTIMORE, MD (April 13, 2007) – Nominations are now being accepted for the 2007 Tawes Award for A Clean Environment – named in honor of the late J. Millard Tawes, Maryland Governor (1959-1967) and first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources. The awards are co-sponsored by the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) and the Maryland Petroleum Council.

“The award nominees are on the front lines of making a positive change in Maryland’s environment,” said MDE Secretary Shari T. Wilson. “They’ve rolled up their sleeves and set an example for all of us who want to see real, lasting accomplishments that benefit their communities and all Marylanders.”

The annual statewide environmental recognition program seeks to involve youth, adults, private and public organizations in the restoration and protection of Maryland's many natural resources and attractions. The award is to nominate any individual, civic, community, or non-profit entity that has demonstrated outstanding efforts to enhance Maryland's environment over a period of time or with a single project.

In 1976 the first Tawes Award was presented in the late governor’s hometown of Crisfield. Through the years, award recipients have ranged from boy scouts, emergency response personnel and environmental activists to elementary and secondary schools, beautification and ecology groups. Entries are divided into categories – youth (individual or organizations with members under 21), and adult (individual or organization).

The James B. Coulter Award will honor former Maryland Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources James B. Coulter, and recognizes a government employee who goes above and beyond his/her duties in efforts to improve Maryland's environment. Activities or projects may include, but are not limited to recycling, ecology, animal habitat, community and stream clean up and conservation.

Winners, runners-up and their guests will be honored at an awards luncheon will be held on May 21, 2007, at Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis. A panel of judges chooses the Tawes Award winners and runners-up. Last year’s winners included two students from Severna Park High School, High School Leadership Institute; Barry Gabler of the Harford County, and the Maryland Cooperative Extension Howard County Master Gardeners – group of 140 volunteers.

For more information or a nomination form contact the Maryland Petroleum Council office at (410) 269-1850 or MDE's Office of Communications at (410) 537-3003. E-mail requests may be sent to: Deadline for submissions is April 20, 2007.