Media Advisory


Governor Robert L. Ehrlich Jr. announces Board of Public Works approval today of a $200,000 state Bay Restoration Fund grant to finance the upgrade of the Town of Mount Airy’s wastewater treatment plant in Carroll County. . This year’s awardees are from Anne Arundel, Howard, and Baltimore counties.

The awards are co-sponsored by MDE and the council to recognize youth, adults, private and public organizations involved in the restoration and protection of Maryland’s many natural resources and attractions over a period of time or with a single project. The award is named in honor of the late Gov. J. Millard Tawes, and the first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources (DNR). This year marks the first presentation of the James B. Coulter Award to acknowledge environmental contributions by a government employee. Mr. Coulter served as Maryland’s second secretary of DNR.

Through the years, award recipients have ranged from boy scouts, emergency response personnel and environmental activists to elementary and secondary schools, beautification and ecology groups. Entries are divided into two categories – youth (individual or organizations with members under 21), and adult (individual or organization). Activities or projects may include, but are not limited to recycling, ecology, animal habitat, community and stream clean up and conservation.


MDE Secretary Kendl P. Philbrick
Maryland Petroleum Council Executive Director Drew Cobbs
Award Winners


Wednesday, May 17 at 11:30 a.m.


Blue Heron Center at Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis
Please inform the entrance gate attendant that you are attending the Tawes Award luncheon and you will not be charged admission to the park.