Press Release

ANNAPOLIS, MD (February 4, 2005) -- Nominations are now being accepted for the 2005 Tawes Award for A Clean Environment – named in honor of the late J. Millard Tawes, Maryland Governor (1959-1967) and first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources. The awards are co-sponsored by the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) and the Maryland Petroleum Council.

“Tawes nominees are on the front lines of making a positive change in Maryland’s environment,” said MDE Secretary Kendl P. Philbrick. “They’ve rolled up their sleeves and got to work and set an example for all of us who want to see real, lasting accomplishments that will benefit their communities and all Marylanders.”

The annual statewide environmental recognition program seeks to involve youth, adults, private and public organizations in the restoration and protection of Maryland's many natural resources and attractions. The award is to nominate any individual, civic, community, or non-profit entity that has demonstrated outstanding efforts to enhance Maryland's environment over a period of time or with a single project.

In 1976 the first Tawes Award was presented in the late governor’s hometown of Crisfield. Through the years, award recipients have ranged from boy scouts, emergency response personnel and environmental activists to elementary and secondary schools, beautification and ecology groups.

Entries are divided into two categories – youth (individual or organizations with members under 21), and adult (individual or organization). Activities or projects may include, but are not limited to recycling, ecology, animal habitat, community and stream clean up and conservation.

Winners, runners-up and their guests will be honored at an awards luncheon in mid-May at Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis. A panel of judges chooses the Tawes Award winners and runners-up. Last year’s winners included the Boy Scouts of America Venturing Crew 202 of Carroll County and Stephen Barry of the Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center in Anne Arundel County.

For more information or a nomination form contact the Maryland Petroleum Council office at 410/269-1850 or MDE's Office of Communications at 410/537-3003. E-mail requests may be sent to: Deadline for submissions is April 15.