Press Release

BALTIMORE, MD (October 8, 2004) – Governor Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. has named Robert E. Warfield chair of the Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee. Mr. Warfield is the former president and co-owner of Moore, Warfield & Glick, a real estate brokerage in Ocean City.

The committee will advise the secretary of the environment on issues related to the Bay Restoration Fund, the landmark environmental legislation proposed by Governor Ehrlich and enacted by the General Assembly in 2004.

“This committee will serve as both advisor and sounding board as we move forward with the Bay Restoration Fund, and the expertise and environmental commitment of its members will be invaluable,” the governor said. “And Bob Warfield, with his excellent credentials, will be an effective chair.”

Mr. Warfield has extensive experience in real estate development and was Chairman of the Worcester County Wastewater Task Force Commission. “I am eager to get to work on this critical issue.” Mr. Warfield said. “And I strongly believe that everyone should do their fair share to ensure that we leave our environment in better condition than we found it."

The secretary of the environment, Kendl P. Philbrick, said, “The Bay Restoration Fund is the most significant environmental legislation in Maryland in 25 years. This committee will play a key role in its implementation.”

The committee will hold its first meeting at 1 p.m. on Oct. 13 at the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) headquarters. The other members of the committee are:

  • William P. Ball, Ph.D.
    The Johns Hopkins University

  • David B. Bancroft
    Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay

  • Veronica L. Chenowith
    Harford County Council

  • Ron Crites
    Department of Budget and Management

  • Kevin Dayhoff
    Mayor of Westminster

  • Delegate Barbara Frush

  • James L. Hearn
    Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

  • Senator Paula C. Hollinger

  • William Bryan Icenhower, M.D.
    St. Mary’s County Health Department

  • E. Keith Menchey
    Maryland Department of the Agriculture

  • Gregory B. Murray
    Washington County Dept. of Water Quality

  • Karen Harris Oertel
    W.H. Harris Seafood

  • Leland D. Spencer, M.D.
    Kent County Health Department

  • Thomas H. Stoner
    Trustee of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation

  • Robert M. Summers
    Maryland Department of the Environment

Still to be named are representatives of the departments of planning and natural resources.

The meeting is from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. on October 13, 2004. MDE is located at 1800 Washington Boulevard in Baltimore.