Press Release

BALTIMORE, MD (April 1, 2010) – Marylanders are encouraged to submit nominations for the annual Tawes and Coulter Awards by April 8, 2010. The Tawes Award, established in 1977, recognizes outstanding youth, adults, and organizations involved in the restoration and protection of Maryland's environment. The Coulter Award, established in 2006, acknowledges environmental contributions by an outstanding government employee.

Any individual; civic, community, or non-profit organization; environmental professional; government employee; or educator who has demonstrated outstanding efforts to enhance Maryland's environment over a period of time or with a single project may be nominated.

Winners will be honored at a luncheon on May 12, 2010, at Quiet Waters Park in Annapolis. For more information and a user-friendly online nomination form, as well as a list of previous winners, visit MDE’s website or call Kay Richards at 410-269-1850.

The Tawes Award is named for the late Maryland Governor J. Millard Tawes, who was also the state’s first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources. The Coulter Award commemorates the outstanding public service of Mr. Coulter who served as Maryland’s second secretary of the Department of Natural Resources from 1971 to 1983. The annual awards are co-sponsored by the Maryland Department of the Environment and the Maryland Petroleum Council.

Editors Note

This articled has been edited after publication