Media Advisory


The Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) will host the 10th Annual “Rethink Recycling” Sculpture Contest. Program Director and on-air personality, John Klug from The Bay 100.7 FM, working artist and retired art teacher Barbara L. Cox, and MDE Secretary Robert M. Summers will serve as judges to determine contest winners based on creativity, use of materials, and workmanship.  Sponsors of the event include:  Giant Food, Constellation Energy, Maryland, Delaware, DC Beverage Association, The American Visionary Art Museum, The American Cleaning Institute, e-Structors, Inc., Maryland Recycling Network, Waste Management Inc., Rehrig Pacific Company, and Lori Scozzofava. 



Friday, November 18, 2011 from 10 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

Sculptures will be on display beginning at 10 a.m. and the winners will be announced at approximately 12:15 p.m.



Montgomery Park Business Center Auditorium, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, 21230



Since 2001, MDE has celebrated America Recycles Day by hosting the Annual “Rethink Recycling” Sculpture Contest. High school students from across Maryland are invited to participate by creating sculptures made of recycled and reusable materials. Approximately 68 entries from 30 different high schools across the State will be judged. Previous contestants have created innovative and artistic sculptures using records, plastic bags, old shoes, playing cards, computer parts, and more.


Participating High Schools

  • Anne Arundel

    Old Mill High School

  • Baltimore City

    Digital Harbor High School, Heritage High School

  • Baltimore County

    Mount de Sales Academy, Parkville High School, Sparrows Point High School

  • Carroll County

    Century High School, Liberty High School, South Carroll High School, Westminster High School

  • Calvert County

    Huntingtown High School

  • Charles County

    Westlake High School

  • Frederick County

    Linganore High School, Middletown High School, Urbana High School, Walkersville High School

  • Garrett County

    Northern Garrett County High School, Southern Garrett County High School

  • Harford County

    C. Milton Wright High School

  • Howard County

    Glenelg Country School, Reservior High School

  • Montgomery County

    Albert Einstein High School, Besthesda-Chevy Chase High School, Northwest High School, Northwood High School

  • Prince George’s County

    Charles Herbert Flowers High School, DeMatha Catholic High School, Suitland High School-Center for Performing Arts

  • Washington County

    Smithsburg High School, North Hagerstown High School