Press Release

BALTIMORE, MD (February 21, 2008) – Nominations are now being accepted for the 2008 Tawes Award for A Clean Environment – named in honor of the late J. Millard Tawes, Maryland Governor (1959-1967) and first secretary of the Department of Natural Resources. The awards are co-sponsored by the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) and the Maryland Petroleum Council.

“The award nominees are on the front lines of making a positive change in Maryland’s environment,” said Acting MDE Secretary Shari T. Wilson. “They’ve rolled up their sleeves and set an example for all of us who want to see real, lasting accomplishments that benefit their communities and all Marylanders.”

The annual statewide environmental recognition program seeks to involve youth, adults, private and public organizations in the restoration and protection of Maryland's many natural resources and attractions. The award is to nominate any individual, civic, community, or non-profit entity that has demonstrated outstanding efforts to enhance Maryland's environment over a period of time or with a single project.

In 1976 the first Tawes Award was presented in the late governor’s hometown of Crisfield. Through the years, award recipients have ranged from boy scouts, emergency response personnel and environmental activists to elementary and secondary schools, beautification and ecology groups. Entries are divided into categories – youth (individual or organizations with members under 21), and adult (individual or organization).

The James B. Coulter Award will honor former Maryland Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources James B. Coulter, and recognizes a government employee who goes above and beyond his/her duties in efforts to improve Maryland's environment. Activities or projects may include, but are not limited to recycling, ecology, animal habitat, community and stream clean up and conservation.

Winners, runners-up and their guests will be honored at an awards luncheon will be in May at the Tawes Garden in Annapolis. A panel of judges chooses the Tawes Award winners and runners-up. Last year’s winners included Jeffery A. Grills co-director of Frederick County Public School’s Earth and Space Science Laboratory, and Edward Sinnes, an active Boy Scout who participated in restoration and creation of natural habitats and environmental improvements at the Waldorf Izaak Walton League property. The Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) Jacksonville Release Project Team was honored with the second annual James B. Coulter Award.

For more information contact the Maryland Petroleum Council office at (410) 269-1850 or MDE's Office of Communications at (410) 537-3003. E-mail requests may be sent to: Deadline for submissions is April 10, 2008.

Download Award Announcement and Nomination Form (.pdf) (.doc)