Press Release

BALTIMORE, MD (January 30, 2012) – Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 Tawes Award for a Clean Environment and for the James B. Coulter Government Employee Award.

The Tawes Award recognizes individuals, civic, community, and non-profit groups that have demonstrated outstanding efforts to enhance Maryland’s environment over a period of time or with a single project. There are separate categories for youth and adults. The award, being given for the 35th year, is named for J. Millard Tawes, governor of Maryland from 1959 to 1967 and the first secretary of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. He is the only Marylander elected to all three statewide offices: comptroller, treasurer and governor.

Nominations are also being accepted for the James B. Coulter Award, named in honor of Maryland’s second Secretary of Natural Resources. That award, established in 2005, acknowledges outstanding environmental contributions by a government employee.

The Maryland Department of the Environment partners with the Maryland Petroleum Council and the Department of Natural Resources in support of the Tawes and the James B. Coulter Awards.

“We encourage Marylanders to nominate their environmental heroes,” said MDE Secretary Robert M. Summers. “This is our chance to recognize the individuals and groups making a real, lasting difference in protecting and restoring our environment – and setting an example for all of us.”

The deadline for nominations for both awards is April 13. Nomination forms are available on MDE’s website, and may be submitted by email to or by mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, Land Management Administration, 1800 Washington Boulevard, Suite 650, Baltimore MD  21230, Attention: Jennifer Hopper - Tawes Award.


Recent winners of the Tawes and Coulter awards are:


2011 Tawes Award

  • Standard Solar
  • Youth Action Corps of Frederick County


2011 Coulter Award

  • Paul Kayzak, Department of Natural Resources

2010 Tawes Award

  • Stephen Hult, London Towne Property Owners Association
  • The Greenanators from Sunset Elementary School in Anne Arundel County


2010 Coulter Award

  • Mark Ecker, MDE’s Water Management Compliance Program

The 2012 awards will be announced in May. For more information, email or call MDE’s Office of Communications at 410-537-3003 or the Maryland Petroleum Council at 410-269-1850. 


# # # ​