Balloon Release Prohibition

During the 2021 legislative session, Senate Bill 716/House Bill 391 (2021 Md. Laws Ch. 610) was passed, which created a new law, § 9-2301 of the Environment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland. Under the law, effective October 1, 2021, a person may not knowingly and intentionally release or cause a balloon to be released into the atmosphere, and a person may not organize or participate in a mass balloon release.

Factsheet: Prohibition on Releasing a Balloon into the Atmosphere

County governments that wish to assume enforcement authority for the Balloon Ban are authorized to do so under the law.  A template of a delegation agreement that grants this authority, and states the conditions under which this can occur, is provided above under the link "Template for County Balloon Enforcement Delegation Agreement". 

Maryland State Legislature Regular Session 2020, HB 391 / SB 716

Prohibiting a person who is at least 13 years old, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a nonprofit entity, the State, or any unit or political subdivision of the State from knowingly and intentionally releasing, or causing to be released, a balloon into the atmosphere; prohibiting a person from organizing or participating in a mass balloon release; requiring a person who violates the Act to perform 6 hours of community service or watch a video on environmental damage or both; establishing a $100 civil penalty; etc.

Section 9-2301 of the Environment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.

Maryland House Bill 390 - Senate Bill 716

Additional Information:


Contact Us

Solid Waste Program, Land and Materials Administration
Maryland Department of the Environment
1800 Washington Blvd., Ste. 605
Baltimore MD 21230-1719
Phone: 410-537-3315
Fax: 410-537-3842​​​

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information