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MARYLAND REGULATIONS 
 
Section A.2 Definitions. As used in these regulations, these 
terms have the definitions set forth below.  Additional 
definitions used only in a certain part will be found in that part. 
 
“Absorbed dose” [See “Dose”]  
 
“Act” means the Annotated Code of Maryland, Environmental 
Article, Title 8 “Radiation”. 
 
“Adult” means an individual 18 or more years of age. 
 
“Agency” means the Maryland Department of Environment, 
Radiological Health Program. 
 
“Annually” means either (1) at intervals not to exceed 1 year or 
(2) once per year, at about the same time per year (plus or 
minus 1 month). 
 
“As low as reasonably achievable (ALARA)” means making 
every reasonable effort to maintain exposures to radiation as far 
below the dose limits in these regulations as is practical, 
consistent with the purpose for which the licensed or registered 
activity is undertaken, taking into account the state of 
technology, the economics of improvements in relation to state 
of technology, the economics of improvements in relation to 
benefits to the public health and safety, and other societal and 
socioeconomic considerations, and in relation to utilization of 
nuclear energy and licensed or registered sources of radiation in 
the public interest. 

 
 
The definitions are self-explanatory. 
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“Background radiation” means radiation from cosmic sources; 
naturally occurring radioactive materials, including radon, 
except as a decay product of source or special nuclear material, 
and including global fallout as it exists in the environment from 
the testing of nuclear explosive devices or past nuclear 
accidents such as Chernobyl that contribute to background 
radiation and are not under the control of the licensee.  .   
 
“Background radiation” does not include sources of radiation 
from radioactive materials or radiation producing machines 
regulated by the Agency. 
 
“Calendar quarter” means not less than 12 consecutive weeks 
nor more than 14 consecutive weeks.  The first calendar quarter 
of each year shall begin in January and subsequent calendar 
quarters shall be so arranged such that no day is included in 
more than one calendar quarter and no day in any one year is 
omitted from inclusion within a calendar quarter.  No licensee 
or registrant shall change the method observed by him of 
determining calendar quarters for purposes of these regulations 
except at the beginning of a calendar year.  
 
“Calibration” means the determination of (1) the response or 
reading of an instrument relative to a series of known radiation 
values over the range of the instrument, or (2) the strength of a 
source of radiation relative to a standard. 
 
“CFR” means Code of Federal Regulations. 
 
“Collective dose” means the sum of the individual doses 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The text on the left side of the page   The language on the right side of the page addresses   
of the page is an unofficial version of the official  issues of compliance with the rules   
rule found in COMAR 26.12.01.01                                                                  

2



received in a given period of time by a specified population 
from exposure to a specified source of radiation. 
 
“COMAR” means Code of Maryland Regulations 
 
“Committed dose equivalent”  [See “Dose”] 
 
“Committed effective dose equivalent” [See “Dose”] 
 
“Deep Dose equivalent” [See “Dose”] 
 
“Dose” is a generic term that means absorbed dose, committed 
dose equivalent, committed effective dose equivalent, deep dose 
equivalent, dose equivalent, effective dose equivalent, external 
dose, eye dose equivalent, shallow dose equivalent, total 
effective dose equivalent, or total organ dose equivalent.  For 
purposes of these regulations, “radiation dose” is an equivalent 
term. 
 
(1) “Absorbed dose” means the energy imparted by ionizing 
radiation per unit mass of irradiated material.  The units of 
absorbed dose are the gray (Gy) and the rad. 
 
(2) “Committed dose equivalent”(HT,50) means the dose 
equivalent to organs or tissues of reference (T) that will be 
received from an intake of radioactive material by an individual 
during the 50-year period following the intake. 
 
(3) “Committed effective dose equivalent” (HE,50) is the 
sum of the products of the weighting factors applicable to each 
of the body organs or tissues that are irradiated and the 
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committed dose equivalent to each of these organs or tissues 
(HE,50 = ∑ wTHT,50). 
 
(4) “Deep dose equivalent”  (Hd), which applies to external 
whole body exposure, means the dose equivalent at a tissue 
depth of 1 centimeter (1000 mg/cm2). 
 
(5) “Dose equivalent (HT)” means the product of the 
absorbed dose in tissue, quality factor and all other necessary 
modifying factors at the location of interest.  The units of dose 
equivalent are the sievert (Sv) and rem.  
 
(6) “Effective dose equivalent (HE)” means the sum of the 
products of the dose equivalent to each organ or tissue (HT) and 
the weighting factor (wT) applicable to each of the body organs 
or tissues that are irradiated (HE = ∑ wTHT). 
 
(7) “External dose” means that portion of the dose 
equivalent received from any source of radiation outside the 
body. 
 
(8) “Lens dose equivalent (LDE)” applies to the external 
exposure of the lens of the eye and is taken as the dose 
equivalent at a tissue depth of 0.3 centimeter (300 mg/cm2). 
 
(9) “Shallow dose equivalent” (HS), which applies to the 
external exposure of the skin of the whole body or the skin of an 
extremity, is taken as the dose equivalent at a tissue depth of 
0.007 centimeter (7mg/cm2). 
 
(10) “Total effective dose equivalent “ (TEDE) means the 
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sum of the deep dose equivalent for external exposures and the 
committed effective dose equivalent for internal exposures. 
 
(11) “Total organ dose equivalent” (TODE) means the sum 
of the deep dose equivalent and the committed dose equivalent 
to the organ receiving the highest dose as described in 
D.1107(a)(vi) of these regulations.   
 
“Dose equivalent” [See “Dose”] 
 
“Dose Limits” means the permissible upper bounds of radiation 
doses established in accordance with these regulations.  For 
purposes of these regulations, “limits” is an equivalent term. 
 
“Effective dose equivalent” [See “Dose”] 
 
“Embryo/fetus” means the developing human organism from 
conception until the time of birth. 
 
“Exposure” means being exposed to ionizing radiation or to 
radioactive material. 
 
“Exposure” means the quotient of dQ by dm where “dQ” is the 
absolute value of the total charge of the ions of one sign 
produced in air when all the electrons (negatrons and positrons) 
liberated by photons in a volume element of air having mass 
“dm” are completely stopped in air.  The special unit of 
exposure is the roentgen (R). See A.13 “United of Exposure and 
Dose” for SI equivalent. 
 
“Exposure rate” means the exposure per unit of time, such as 
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roentgen per minute and milliroentgen per hour. 
 
“External dose” [See “Dose”] 
 
“Extremity” means hand, elbow, arm below the elbow, foot, 
knee, and leg below the knee. 
 
“Eye dose equivalent” [See “Dose”] 
 
“Facility” means the location at which one or more sources of 
radiation are installed or located within one building, vehicle, or 
under one roof and are under the same administrative control. 
 
“Gray” (Gy) means the SI unit of absorbed dose.  One gray is 
equal to an absorbed dose of 1 joule per kilogram (100 rad). 
 
“Healing Arts” means a system of rules or methods of 
performing particular actions including the systematic 
application of knowledge or skill in effecting a desired result 
acquired by experience, study, or observation relating to the 
science of medical diagnosis, treatment, or surgery. 
 
“Human Use” means the internal or external administration of 
radiation or radioactive material to human beings. 
 
“Individual” means any human being. 
 
“Individual monitoring” means the assessment of: 

(1) Dose equivalent (a) by the use of individual 
monitoring devices or (b) by the use of survey 
data; or 
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(2) Committed effective dose equivalent (a) by 
bioassay or (b) by determination of the time-
weighted air concentrations to which an 
individual has been exposed, that is, DAC-hours.  

 
“Individual monitoring devices” (individual monitoring 
equipment) means devices designed to be worn by a single 
individual for the assessment of dose equivalent such as film 
badges, thermoluminescent dosimeters (TLDs), pocket 
ionization chambers, and personal (“lapel”) air sampling 
devices. 
 
“Inspection” means an official examination or observation 
including but not limited to, tests, surveys, and monitoring to 
determine compliance with rules, regulations, orders, 
requirements, and conditions of the Agency. 
 
“Licensee” means any person who is licensed by the Agency in 
accordance with these regulations. 
 
“Limits” [See “Dose Limits”] 
 
“Member of the public” means any individual except when that 
individual is receiving an occupational dose. 
 
“Minor” means an individual less than 18 years of age. 
 
“Monitoring” means the measurement of radiation, radioactive 
material concentrations, surface area activities or quantities of 
radioactive material and the use of the results of these 
measurements to evaluate potential exposures and doses.  For 
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purposes of these regulations, “radiation monitoring” and 
“radiation protection monitoring” are equivalent terms. 
 
“Occupational dose” means the dose received by an individual 
in the course of employment in which the individual’s assigned 
duties involved exposure to sources of radiation, whether in the 
possession of the licensee, registrant, or other person. This 
includes exposure to radiation from registered and unregistered 
radiation machines or exposure to radioactive material from 
licensed and unlicensed sources of radiation. Occupational dose 
does not include dose received from background radiation, from 
any medical administration the individual has received, from 
exposure to individuals administered radioactive material and 
released in accordance with Sec. G.25, from voluntary 
participation in medical research programs, or as a member of 
the public. 
 
“Person” means an individual, receiver, trustee, guardian, 
personal representative, fiduciary, or representative of any kind 
and any partnership, firm, association, corporation, or other 
entity.  “Person” includes any public or municipal corporation 
and any agency, bureau, department, or instrumentality of state 
or local government and, to the extent authorized by federal 
law, federal government. 
 
“Personnel monitoring equipment” [See “Individual monitoring 
devices”] 
 
“Public Dose” means the dose received by a member of the 
public from exposure to radiation and/or to radioactive material 
released by a licensee or registrant, or to any other source of 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.25 – refer to COMAR 26.12.01.01 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The text on the left side of the page   The language on the right side of the page addresses   
of the page is an unofficial version of the official  issues of compliance with the rules   
rule found in COMAR 26.12.01.01                                                                  

8



radiation under the control of the licensee or registrant.  Public 
dose does not include occupational dose or doses received from 
background radiation, from any medical administration the 
individual has received, from exposure to individuals 
administered radioactive material and released in accordance 
with Sec. G.25, or dose from voluntary participation in medical 
research programs. 
 
“Rad” means the special unit of absorbed dose.  One rad is 
equal to an absorbed dose of 100 erg/gram or 0.01 
joule/kilogram (0.01 gray). 
 
“Radiation” means alpha particles, beta particles, gamma rays, 
x- rays, neutrons, high-speed electrons, high-speed protons, and 
other particles capable of producing ions.  For purposes of these 
regulations, ionizing radiation is an equivalent term.  Radiation, 
as used in these regulations, does not include non-ionizing 
radiation, such as radiowaves or microwaves, visible, infrared, 
or ultraviolet light. 
 
“Radiation area” means any area, accessible to individuals, in 
which radiation levels could result in an individual receiving a 
dose equivalent in excess of 0.05 mSv (0.005 rem) in 1 hour at 
30 centimeters from the source of radiation or from any surface 
that the radiation penetrates. 
 
“Radiation machine” means any assemblage of components 
capable of producing radiation except those devices with 
radioactive material as the only source of radiation.  This 
assemblage may include, as determined by the Agency: 
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(1) Not more than one control panel; 
(2) The necessary supporting structures; and 
(3) Any additional components or auxiliary 

equipment that function with the assemblage to 
produce the result desired by using the machine. 

 
“Registrant” means any person who is registered with the 
Agency or is legally obligated to register with the Agency 
pursuant to these regulations and Act. 
 
“Registration” means registration with the Agency in 
accordance with the regulations adopted by the Agency. 
 
“Rem” means the special unit of any of the quantities expressed 
as dose equivalent.  The dose equivalent in rem is equal to the 
absorbed dose in rad multiplied by the quality factor (1 rem = 
0.01 sievert). 
 
“Restricted area” means an area, access to which is limited by 
the licensee or registrant for the purpose of protecting 
individuals against undue risks from exposure to sources of 
radiation.  A restricted area does not include areas used as 
residential quarters, but separate rooms in a residential building 
may be set apart as a restricted area. 
 
“Roentgen” means the special unit of exposure.  One roentgen 
(R) equals 2.58 X 10-4 coulombs/kilogram of air (see 
“Exposure”). 
 
“Shallow Dose Equivalent” [See “Dose”] 
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“SI” means the abbreviation for the International System of 
Units. 
 
“Sievert” means the SI unit of any of the quantities expressed as 
dose equivalent.  The dose equivalent in sievert is equal to the 
absorbed dose in gray multiplied by the quality factor 
(1 Sv = 100 rem).  
 
“Survey” means an evaluation of the radiological conditions 
and potential hazards incident to the production, use, transfer, 
release, disposal, or presence of sources of radiation.  When 
appropriate, such evaluation includes, but is not limited to, tests, 
physical examinations, and measurements of levels of radiation 
or concentrations of radioactive material present. 
 
“Test” means the process of verifying compliance with an 
applicable regulation. 
 
“These regulations” mean all parts of COMAR 26.12 
“Radiation Management”. 
 
“Total effective dose equivalent” [See “Dose”] 
 
“Total organ dose equivalent” [See “Dose”] 
 
“Unrestricted area” means any area, access to which is not 
limited by the licensee or registrant. 
 
“Week” means 7 consecutive days starting on Sunday. 
 
“Whole Body” means, for purposes of external exposure, head, 
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trunk including male gonads, arms above the elbow, or legs 
above the knee. 
 
“Worker” means an individual engaged in work under a license 
or registration issued by the Agency and controlled by a 
licensee or registrant, but does not include the licensee or 
registrant. 
 
“Year” means the period of time beginning in January used to 
determine compliance with the provisions of these regulations.  
The licensee or registrant may change the starting date of the 
year used to determine compliance by the licensee or registrant 
provided that the change is made at the beginning of the year 
and that no day is omitted or duplicated in consecutive years.  
 
Section A.3 Exemptions 
 
(a) General Provision. The Agency may, upon application or 
upon its own initiative, grant such exemptions or exceptions 
from the requirements of these regulations as it determines are 
authorized by law and will not result in undue hazard to public 
health and safety or property. 
 
Section A.4 Records. 
 
(b) Each person responsible for a radiation machine facility 
shall maintain such records as required by these regulations at 
the facility where the radiation machine is located or stored. 
 
(c) Each licensee or registrant shall maintain records 
showing the receipt, inventory, transfer, and disposal of all 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Under certain conditions, the Agency may exempt an x-ray 
machine or use of an x-ray machine from these regulations. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Refer to Appendix A (located at the end of the document) 
All records must be kept at the location of radiation machine. 
(Example: Radiation Machine Facility Registration form (RX1), 
personnel monitoring records, notice to employee posting, and log 
of processing solutions changes). 
 
All service reports such as installation reports and disassembly 
reports must be available. 
 
 
The Agency may conduct an inspection of your office at any 
reasonable time.  Inspections do not have to be pre-announced if a 
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sources of radiation. 
 
Section A.5 Inspections. 
 
(a) Each licensee and registrant shall afford the Agency at 
all reasonable times opportunity to inspect sources of radiation, 
the premises and facilities wherein such sources of radiation are 
used or stored. 
 
(b) Each licensee and registrant shall make available, upon 
inspection by the Agency, records maintained pursuant to these 
regulations. 
 
Section A.6 Tests. 
 
 Each licensee and registrant shall perform upon 
instructions from the Agency, or shall permit the Agency to 
perform, such reasonable tests as the Agency deems appropriate 
or necessary including, but not limited to, tests of: 
 
(a) sources of radiation; 
(b) facilities wherein sources of radiation are used or stored; 
(c) radiation detection and monitoring instruments; and 
(d) other equipment and devices used in connection with 
utilization or storage of licensed or registered sources of 
radiation. 
 
Section A.7 Additional Requirements. 
 
 The Agency may, by rule, regulation, order, license 
amendment or registrant condition, impose such requirements 

violation is suspected or determined to exist. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Agency may perform certain tests to the radiation machine and 
to the automatic processor or manual tank to ensure the optimum 
performance. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Agency may add requirements if necessary to protect public 
health, safety, and the environment. 
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upon any licensee/registrant above and beyond those established 
in these regulations as it deems appropriate or necessary to 
minimize danger to public health and safety or property. 
 
 
 
Section A.8 Violations. 
 
 An injunction or other court order may be obtained 
prohibiting any violation of any provision of the Act or any 
regulation or order issued thereunder.  Any person who 
willfully violates any provision of the Act or any regulation or 
order issued thereunder may be guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
upon conviction, may be punished by fine or imprisonment or 
both, as provided by law. 
      
Section A.9 Impounding. 
 
 Sources of radiation shall be subject to impounding 
pursuant to the Act. 
 
Section A.10 Prohibited Uses. 
 
(c) No person shall posses or store a radiation machine which 
does not meet the requirements of these regulations or COMAR 
26.12.02 unless such radiation machine has been internally 
rendered inoperable, in a manner approved by the Department, 
by a service provider registered under COMAR 26.12.01.01B.6. 
 
Section A.11 Interpretations. 
 

 
 
The Agency may issue injunctions or orders. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The agency may impound your x-ray machine for violating these 
regulations. 
 
 
 
B.6 – refer to COMAR 26.12.01.01. 
COMAR 26.12.02 – refers to radiation machines that undergo the 
certification process.   
Have your radiation machine disabled by a registered service 
company.  
 
 
 
The Office of the Attorney General, MDE, must make official 
interpretations of these regulations. 
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           Except as specifically authorized by the Agency in 
writing, no interpretation of these regulations by an officer or 
employee of the Agency will be recognized to be binding upon 
the Agency. 
 
 
 
Section A.12 Communications. 
 
 All communications and reports concerning these 
regulations, and applications filed thereunder, should be 
addressed to the Maryland Department of the Environment, 
Radiological Health Program, 1800 Washington Boulevard, 
Baltimore, Maryland 21230.  
 
 
Section A.13 Units of Exposure and Dose.  
 
(a) As used in these regulations, the unit of Exposure is the 
coulomb per kilogram (C/kg).  One roentgen is equal to 
2.58x10-4 coulomb per kilogram of air. 
 
(b) As used in these regulations, the units of dose are: 
 
Gray (Gy) is the SI unit of absorbed dose.  One gray is equal to 
an absorbed dose of 1 joule per kilogram (100 rad). 
 
Rad is the special unit of absorbed dose.  One rad is equal to an 
absorbed dose of 100 erg per gram or 0.01 joule per kilogram 
(0.01 Gy). 
 

 
 
Mail correspondence to: 
Maryland Department of the Environment 
Radiological Health Program 
1800 Washington Boulevard 
Baltimore, MD 21230 
Phone number:  (410) 537-3300 or   
call 1-800-633-6101 
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Rem is the special unit of any of the quantities expressed as 
dose equivalent.  The dose equivalent in rem is equal to the 
absorbed dose in rad multiplied by the quality factor (1 rem = 
0.01 Sv). 
 
Sievert is the SI unit of any of the quantities expressed as dose 
equivalent.  The dose equivalent in sievert is equal to the 
absorbed dose in gray multiplied by the quality factor (1 Sv = 
100 rem). 
  
Section A.15 False Statements, Representations and 
Certifications. 
 
No person shall: 
 
(a) make a false statement, representation, or certification in 
any application, record, report, plan or other document 
regarding radiation levels, tests performed, radiation safety 
conditions, practices or notices, or 
 
(b) falsify, tamper with or render inaccurate any monitoring 
device or method for data collection if the data collected by that 
device or method is required by these regulations, or by any 
license or registration condition.  
 
Section A.17 Public Posting of the Notices of Violation 
 
(a)        A notice of violation issued by the Agency to a 

registered or licensed facility shall be conspicuously posted 
at the facility for public review within two (2) working days 
after receipt.  

 
 
 
 
Giving the agency false information is forbidden. 
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(b)        A notice of violation shall remain posted for a minimum 

of 30 working days or until action correcting the violation 
has been completed and this correction has been verified by 
the Agency.    

 
 
 
Section B.2 Definitions.   
 
“Facility” means the location at which one or more devices or 
sources are installed and/or located within one building, vehicle, 
or under one roof and are under the same administrative control. 
  
“Storage” means a condition in which a device or source is not 
being used for an extended period of time, and has been made 
inoperable by a person registered under Sec. B.6 of this Part. 
 
Section B.3 Exemptions. 
 
(a) Electronic equipment that produces radiation incidental 
to its operation for other purposes is exempt from the 
registration and notification requirements of this Part, provided 
that the dose equivalent rate averaged over an area of 10 square 
centimeters does not exceed 5 µSv (0.5 millirem) per hour at 5 
centimeters from any accessible surface of such equipment.  
The production, testing, or factory servicing of such equipment 
shall not be exempt. 
 
(b) Radiation machines while in transit or storage incident 
thereto are exempt from the requirements of this Part. 

 
 
The definitions are self-explanatory. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
These regulations do not apply to certain electronic equipment such 
as televisions. 
 
If you notified the agency in writing and provide documentation 
such as a removal report from a registered service provider that all 
of your x-ray machines are in storage, these regulations do not 
apply to you.  But, if you have a service provider energize an x-ray 
machine in storage, the rules apply. 
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(c) Domestic television receivers are exempt from the 
requirements of this Part. 
 
 
 
 
 
Section B.5 Registration of Radiation Machine Facilities. 
 
Each person owning or operating a radiation machine facility 
shall: 
 
(a)        Apply for registration of such facility with the Agency 
prior to the following, whichever is earliest:  

       
(i) The completion of the installation of a 

radiation machine in the facility; 
(ii) The receipt of a radiation machine by a 

facility, if installation is not required by a 
service provider as described in Section B.6; 

(iii) The relocation of a radiation machine to a 
new facility location; or 

(iv) The purchase of the facility or radiation 
machine in the facility.   

 
(b) Complete application forms for registration furnished by 
the Agency that contain all the information required by the 
forms and accompanying instructions; 
 
(c) Designate on the application form an individual to be 

Send the Radiation Machine Facility Registration Form (RX1), 
payment transmittal form, installation reports, and the annual fee 
before the radiation machine is completely installed.  
 
 
 
 
 
You must name an individual who is responsible for the radiation 
machine. 
 
Refer  to www.mde.state.md.us 
http://www.mde.state.md.us/Programs/AirPrograms/Radiological_Health/xray_applications/index.asp 
 
Visit our website at www.mde.state.md.us to obtain registration 
forms.   

1. You will see the word “Air” on the bottom 
of screen 

2. Click on Choose Program 
3. Click on Radiological Health 
4. Click on X-ray Application Forms and 

Guidance 
5. Download the RX1, Payment Transmittal 

Form, and Instructions for Registering 
New Facilities 
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responsible for radiation protection. 
 
 
(d) Include full payment of all fees in the application for 
registration, as specified in COMAR 26.12.03 for the type(s) of 
radiation machines(s). 
 
 
Section B.7 Issuance of Notice of Registration.  
 
(a) Upon a determination that an applicant meets the 
requirements of the regulations, the agency shall issue a notice 
of registration.  For a radiation machine facility, this will be 
issued in the form of a certificate of registration, which shall be 
posted by the facility as required in J.11. 
 
(b) The Agency may incorporate in the notice of registration 
at the time of issuance or thereafter by appropriate rule, 
regulation, or order, such additional requirements and 
conditions with respect to the registrant’s receipt, possession, 
use, transfer, or servicing of radiation machines as it deems 
appropriate or necessary. 
 
Section B.8 Expiration of Notice of Registration.  
  
 Except as provided by B.9(b), each notice of registration 
shall expire at the end of the specified day in the month and 
year stated therein. 
 
Section B.9 Renewal of Notice of Registration. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A certificate of registration will be issued if the application is 
complete, meets all the requirements, and the fee is paid. 
 
The agency may add conditions to your registration if necessary to 
protect occupational and public health.  The Agency will notify you 
of any conditions it deems necessary.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
The certificate of registration expires every two years on the last 
day of the month the facility was registered.  
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(a) Application for renewal of registration shall be filed in 
accordance with B.5 or B.6. 
 
(b) If a registrant has filed a complete application, not less 
than 14 days prior to the expiration of the existing notice of 
registration, including payment of all fees and submission of 
required inspections or certifications with all violations 
corrected, the existing notice of registration shall not expire 
until the application status has been determined by the Agency.  
 
Section B.10 Report of Changes. 
     
 The registrant shall notify the Agency in writing before 
making any change which would render the information 
contained in the application for registration and/or the notice of 
registration no longer accurate.  This includes, but is not limited 
to, requests for registration cancellation, changes of location 
and ownership, or changes to radiation machines or tubes. 
 
Section B.11 Approval Not Implied. 
 
            No person, in any advertisement, shall refer to the fact 
that he or his facility is registered with the Agency pursuant to 
the provisions of B.5 or B.6, and no person shall state or imply 
that any activity under such registration has been approved by 
the Agency. 
 
Section B.13 Out-of-State Radiation Machines. 
 
(a) Whenever any radiation machine is to be brought into 
the State, for any temporary use, the person proposing to bring 

B.6 refer to COMAR 26.12.01.01. 
The Agency will send you a Radiation Machine Registration Form 
(RX1) and an invoice a month prior to reregistering.  You must 
complete the Radiation Machine Registration Form (RX1) and 
submit fees in order for your registration to be renewed.   
 
 
 
 
 
Refer to Appendix B (located at the end of the document) 
If you decide to relocate, or ownership has changed, or terminate 
your registration the following must be done: 
- You must inform the agency in writing and submit appropriate 
documentation such as: 
     - submit installation reports 
     - submit disassembly reports 
     - submit bill of sale that shows  
       ownership has changed 
     - pay any outstanding fees 
     - submit an RX1 
     - submit registration fees   
 
You cannot advertise you are registered. 
B.6 refer to COMAR 26.12.01.01. 
 
 
 
 
This applies only to dental machines brought in to Maryland from 
out-of-state for temporary use. 
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such machine into the State shall give written notice to the 
Agency at least 3 working days before such machine is to be 
used in the State.   
 
The notice shall include: 

(i) The type of radiation machine; 
(ii) The nature, duration, and scope of use; 
(iii) The exact location(s) where the radiation machine is 

to be used; and  
(iv) The State of Maryland facility registration number, 

the State machine number and the date last certified. 
 
(b) If, for a specific case, the three-day period would impose 
an undue hardship on the person, upon application to the 
Agency, permission to proceed sooner may be granted. 
 
(c) The person referred to in B.13(a) shall: 

(i) Comply with all applicable regulations of the 
Agency; 

(ii) Supply the Agency with such other information 
as the Agency may reasonably request; and 

(iii) Not operate within the State on a temporary basis 
in excess of 180 calendar days per year. 

 
Section D.3 Definitions. As Used in Part D. 
 
“Declared pregnant woman” means a woman who has 
voluntarily informed her employer, in writing, of her pregnancy 
and the estimated date of conception.  The declaration remains 
in effect until the declared pregnant woman withdraws the 
declaration in writing or is no longer pregnant. 

An out-of-state radiation machine must be registered and inspected. 
All regulations apply to this radiation machine. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The definitions are self-explanatory. 
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“Dosimetry processor” means a person that processes and 
evaluates individual monitoring devices in order to determine 
the radiation dose delivered to the monitoring devices. 
 
“Nonstochastic effect” means a health effect, the severity of 
which varies with the dose and for which a threshold is believed 
to exist.  Radiation-induced cataract formation is an example of 
a nonstochastic effect.  For purposes of these regulations, 
“deterministic effect” is an equivalent term. 
 
“Quarter” means a period of time equal to one-fourth of the year 
observed by the licensee, approximately 13 consecutive weeks, 
providing that the beginning of the first quarter in a year 
coincides with the starting date of the year and that no day is 
omitted or duplicated in consecutive quarters. 
 
“Stochastic effect” means a health effect that occurs randomly 
and for which the probability of the effect occurring, rather than 
its severity, is assumed to be a linear function of dose without 
threshold.  Hereditary effects and cancer incidence are examples 
of stochastic effects.  For purpose of these regulations, 
“probabilistic effect” is an equivalent term. 
 
Section D.101 Radiation Protection Programs.   
 
(a) In addition to complying with all other provisions of 
these regulations, a licensee or registrant shall use to the extent 
practical procedures and engineering controls based upon sound 
radiation protection principles to achieve occupational doses 
and doses to the members of the general public as low as is 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
You must maintain radiation exposures as low as reasonably 
achievable (ALARA). 
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reasonably achievable (ALARA). 
 
Section D.201 Occupational Dose Limits for Adults. 
 
(a) The licensee or registrant shall control the occupational 
dose to individual adults, except for planned special exposures 
pursuant to D.206, to the following dose limits: 
 

(i) An annual limit, which is the more limiting of: 
 

(1) The total effective dose equivalent being 
equal to 0.05 Sv (5 rem); or 

 
(2) The sum of the deep dose equivalent and 

the committed dose equivalent to any individual organ 
or tissue other than the lens of the eye being equal to 0.5 
Sv (50 rem). 

 
(ii) The annual limits to the lens of the eye, to the 

skin of the whole body, and to the skin of the extremities, which 
are: 

 
(1) A lens dose equivalent of 0.15 Sv (15 

rem), and 
(2) A shallow dose equivalent of 50 rem 

(/5Sv) to the skin of the whole body or to the skin of any 
extremity. 

 
(b) Doses received in excess of the annual limits, including 
doses received during accidents, emergencies, and planned 
special exposures, shall be subtracted from the limits for 

 
 
 
 
D.206 – refer to COMAR 2.12.01.01. 
 
 
 
There are annual radiation dose limits for workers, pregnant 
women, and the public. 
 
5,000 millirem for workers 
   500 millirem in 9 months for pregnant women 
   100 millirem to the general public 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
15,000 millirem for the lens of the eye 
 
50,000 millirem for the skin and extremity 
 
 
 
D.206e.i and ii – refer to COMAR 26.12.01.01. 
 
 
 

The text on the left side of the page   The language on the right side of the page addresses   
of the page is an unofficial version of the official  issues of compliance with the rules   
rule found in COMAR 26.12.01.01                                                                  

23



planned special exposures that the individual may receive 
during the current year and during the individual’s lifetime.  See 
D.206e.i and ii. 
 
(c) The assigned deep dose equivalent must be for the part 
of the body receiving the highest exposure.  The assigned 
shallow dose equivalent must be the dose averaged over the 
contiguous 10 square centimeters of skin receiving the highest 
exposure.  Such dose shall be determined as follows: 

 
(i) The deep dose equivalent, lens dose equivalent, 

and shallow dose equivalent may be assessed from surveys or 
other radiation measurements for the purpose of demonstrating 
compliance with the occupational dose limits, if the individual 
monitoring device was not in the region of highest potential 
exposure, or the results of individual monitoring are 
unavailable; or 

 
(ii) The dose equivalent as computed by formula or 

methodology specifically approved the Agency. 
 
(f) The licensee or registrant shall reduce the dose that an 
individual may be allowed to receive in the current year by the 
amount of occupational dose received while employed by any 
other person.  See D.205e. 
 
 
Section D.207 Occupational Dose Limits for Minors. 
 
 The annual occupational dose limits for minors are 10 
percent of the annual occupational dose limits specified for 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Agency interprets the dose received by the collar badge to 
represent the dose received by the individual assigned to the badge.  
 
 
 
 
 
Other methods for calculating dose are pre-approved by the Agency 
on a case by case basis. 
 
D.205e refer to COMAR 26.12.01.01. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Annual dose is 500 millirem for any individual under 18 years old 
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adult workers in D.201. 
 
Section D.208 Dose to an Embryo/Fetus. 
 
a. The licensee or registrant shall ensure that the dose 
equivalent to an embryo/fetus during the entire pregnancy, due 
to occupational exposure of a declared pregnant woman, does 
not exceed 5 mSv (0.5 rem).  See D.1107 for record keeping 
requirements. 
 
b. The licensee or registrant shall make efforts to avoid 
substantial variation above a uniform monthly exposure rate to a 
declared pregnant woman so as to satisfy the limit in D.208a. 
 
c. The dose equivalent to an embryo/fetus is the sum of: 

(i) The deep dose equivalent to the declared 
pregnant woman; and  

(ii) The dose equivalent to the embryo/fetus 
resulting from radionuclides in the embryo/fetus 
and radionuclides in the declared pregnant 
woman. 

 
d. If the dose equivalent to the embryo/fetus is found to 
have exceeded 0.5 rem (5 mSv), or is within 0.05 rem (0.5 mSv) 
of this dose, by the time the woman declares the pregnancy to 
the licensee or registrant, the licensee or registrant shall be 
deemed to be in compliance with paragraph (a) of this section if 
the additional dose equivalent to the embryo/fetus does not 
exceed 0.05 rem (0.5 mSv) during the remainder of the 
pregnancy. 
   

 
 
For 9 months the dose is 500 millirem for a pregnant women.  
Should not exceed more than 50 millirem per month. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Facilities must insure and /or demonstrate that dose from the 
radiation machines will not expose the general public to more than 
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Section D.301 Dose Limits for Individual Members of the 
Public. 
 
a. Each licensee or registrant shall conduct operations so 
that: 
 
 i. The total effective dose equivalent to individual 
members of the public from the licensed or registered operation 
does not exceed 0.1 rem (1mSv) in a year, exclusive of the dose 
contribution from background radiation, from any medical 
administration the individual has received, from exposure to 
individuals administered radioactive material and released 
under G.75, from voluntary participation in medical research 
programs, and from the licensee’s or registrant’s disposal of 
radioactive material into sanitary sewerage in accordance with 
D.1003, and 
  
 ii. The dose in any unrestricted area from external 
sources exclusive of the dose contributions from patients 
administered radioactive material and released in accordance 
with Sec G.75, does not exceed 0.002 rem (0.02 mSv) in any 
one hour. 
 
b. The Agency may impose additional restrictions on 
radiation levels in unrestricted areas and on the total quantity of 
radionuclides that a licensee may release in effluents in order to 
restrict the collective dose. 
 
c. If the licensee or registrant permits members of the 
public to have access to restricted areas, the limits for members 
of the public continue to apply to those individuals. 

100 millirem per year.  
G. 25 and D.1003 – refer to COMAR 26.12.01.01. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Facilities must also insure and/or demonstrate that dose from the 
radiation machines will not expose the general public to more than 
2 millirem per hour. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
You must send your personnel monitoring back to the accredited 
film badge supplier for a dose reading.   
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Section D.501 General. 
 
c.          All personnel dosimeters, except for direct and indirect 

reading pocket ionization chambers and those 
dosimeters used to measure the dose to any extremity, 
that require processing to determine the radiation dose 
and that are used by licensees and registrants to comply 
with D.201, with other applicable provisions of these 
regulations, or with conditions specified in a license or 
registration shall be processed and evaluated by a 
dosimetry processor: 

 
i. Holding current personnel dosimetry 
accreditation from the National Voluntary Laboratory 
Accreditation Program (NVLAP) of the National 
Institute of Standards and Technology; and 
 
ii. Approved in this accreditation process for the 
type of radiation or radiations included in the NVLAP 
program that most closely approximates the type of 
radiation or radiations for which the individual wearing 
the dosimeter is monitored. 
 

d. Exposure of a personnel monitoring device to 
deceptively indicate a dose delivered to an individual is 
prohibited 

 
Section D.502 Conditions Requiring Individual Monitoring of 
External and Internal Occupational Dose. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
An investigation by the Agency will be initiated to determine the 
root cause. 
 
 
 
 
Personnel monitoring is required for all dental facilities in order to 
exhibit that it is not possible to exceed 10 percent of the legal 
limits. 
 
If badges are turned in monthly – monitor for 6 months 
consecutively. 
 
If badges are turned in quarterly – monitor for 1 year consecutively. 
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Each licensee or registrant shall monitor exposures from 
sources of radiation at levels sufficient to demonstrate 
compliance with the occupational dose limits of Part D.  As a 
minimum: 
 
a. Each licensee or registrant shall monitor occupational 
exposure to radiation from the licensed and unlicensed radiation 
sources under the control of the licensee or registered and 
unregistered radiation machines under the control of the 
registrant and shall supply and require the use of individual 
monitoring devices by: 
 

i. Adults who potentially may receive, in 1 year, 
from sources external to the body, a dose in 
excess of 10 percent of the limits in D.201a.; 
 

ii. Minors who potentially may receive, in 1 year, 
from radiation sources external to the body, a 
deep dose equivalent in excess of 0.1 rem (1 
mSv), a lens dose equivalent in excess of .15 rem 
(1.5 mSv), or a shallow dose equivalent to the 
skin or to the extremities in excess of 0.5 rem (5 
mSv); 

 
iii. Declared pregnant women likely who potentially 

may receive during the entire pregnancy from 
radiation sources external to the body a deep 
dose equivalent in excess of 0.1 rem (1 mSv); 
and  

 
iv. Individuals entering a high or very high radiation 
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area.  
 
Section D.901 Caution Signs. 
 
a. Standard Radiation Symbol.  Unless otherwise 

authorized by the Agency, the symbol prescribed by 
D.901 shall use the colors magenta, or purple, or black 
on yellow background.  The symbol prescribed is the 
three-bladed design as follows: 

 
Radiation Symbol 
 

i. Cross-hatched area is to be magenta, or purple, 
or black, and 
 

ii. The background is to be yellow. 
 
 
 
b. Exception to Color Requirement for Standard Radiation 

Symbol.  Notwithstanding the requirements of D.901a., 
licensees or registrants are authorized to label sources, 
source holders, or device components containing sources 
of radiation that are subjected to high temperatures, with 
conspicuously etched or stamped radiation caution 
symbols and without a color requirement. 

 
c. Additional Information on Signs and Labels.  In addition 
to the contents of signs and labels prescribed in Part D, the 
licensee or registrant shall provide, on or near the required signs 
and labels, additional information as appropriate to make 

 
 
 
 
 
 
This is the radiation symbol: 

 
Exception to using only magenta and yellow are allowed. 
 
You may use more posting than required. 
 
You must maintain all dosimetry badge reports supplied by the film 
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individuals aware of potential radiation exposures and to 
minimize the exposures. 
 
Section D.902 Posting Requirements. 
 
a.          Posting of Radiation Areas.  The licensee or registrant 
shall post each radiation area with a conspicuous sign or signs 
bearing the radiation symbol and the words “CAUTION, 
RADIATION AREA.”   
 
Section D.1107 Records of Individual Monitoring Results. 
 
a. Recordkeeping Requirement. Each licensee or registrant 
shall maintain records of doses received by all individuals for 
whom monitoring was required pursuant to D.502, and records 
of doses received during planned special exposures, accidents, 
and emergency conditions.  Assessments of dose equivalent and 
records made using units in effect before October 9, 1995 need 
not be changed.  These records shall include, when applicable: 
 

i. The deep dose equivalent to the whole body, lens 
dose equivalent, shallow dose equivalent to the skin, 
and shallow dose equivalent to the extremities;  

 
d. The licensee or registrant shall maintain the records of 
dose to an embryo/fetus with the records of dose to the declared 
pregnant woman.  The declaration of pregnancy, including the 
estimated date of conception, shall also be kept on file, but may 
be maintained separately from the dose records.  
 
e. The licensee or registrant shall retain each required form 

badge supplier at the facility at all times for review as proof of 
minimal radiation exposure. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All records must be kept until the Agency notifies the facility that 
the registration has been cancelled. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If your x-ray machine is lost or stolen, you must notify the Agency 
immediately by telephone (410-631-3300) and notify the Agency 
within 24 hours in writing.  
 
 
Within 30 days from your telephone call, send the agency a written 
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or record until the Agency terminates each pertinent license or 
registration requiring the record, or for such time as the Agency 
shall determine. 
 
Section D.1201 Reports of Stolen, Lost, or Missing Licensed or 
Registered Sources of Radiation. 
 
a. Immediate Report. Each licensee or registrant shall 
report by telephone immediately and in writing within 24 hours 
to the Agency the theft or loss of any source of radiation 
immediately after such occurrence becomes known. 
 
b. Following Report. Each licensee or registrant 
required to make a report pursuant to D.1201a. shall, within 30 
days after making the telephone report, make a written report to 
the Agency setting forth the following information: 
 

i. A description of the licensed or registered source 
of radiation involved, including for radioactive 
material, the kind, quantity, and chemical and 
physical form; and, for radiation machine, the 
manufacturer, model and serial number, type and 
maximum energy of radiation emitted; and  
 

ii. A description of the circumstances under which 
the loss or theft occurred; and 
 

iii. A statement of disposition, or probable 
disposition, of the licensed or registered source 
of radiation involved; and 

 

report that includes these details: 
- manufacturer’s name, model, serial number 
- how the machine was lost or stolen 
- what happened to the machine 
- what you have done to prevent it from happening again 
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iv. Exposures of individuals to radiation, 
circumstances under which the exposures 
occurred, and the possible total effective dose 
equivalent to persons in unrestricted areas; and 
  

v. Actions that have been taken, or will be taken, to 
recover the source of radiation; and 
 

vi. Procedures or measures that have been, or will 
be, adopted to ensure against a recurrence of the 
loss or theft of licensed or registered sources of 
radiation. 

 
c. Subsequent to filing the written report required in 
D.1201(b), the licensee or registrant shall also report additional 
substantive information on the loss or theft within 30 days after 
the licensee or registrant learns of such information. 
 
d. The licensee or registrant shall prepare any report filed 
with the Agency pursuant to D.1201 so that names of 
individuals who may have received exposure to radiation are 
stated in a separate and detachable portion of the report. 
 
Section F.2 Definitions. As used in this part, the following 
definitions apply: 
 
“Added Filtration” means any filtration which is in addition to 
the inherent filtration. 
 
“Aluminum equivalent” means the thickness of type 1100 
aluminum alloy1/affording the same attenuation, under specified 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The definitions are self-explanatory. 
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conditions, as the material in question. 
1/ The nominal chemical composition of type 1100 aluminum 
alloy is 99.00 percent minimum aluminum, 0.12 percent copper. 
 
“Assembler” means any person engaged in the business of 
assembling, replacing, or installing one or more components 
into an x-ray system or subsystem.  The term includes the 
owner of an x-ray system or his or her employee or agent who 
assembles components into an x-ray system that is subsequently 
used to provide professional or commercial services 
 
“Barrier” (See “Protective barrier”). 
 
“Beam axis” means a line from the source through the centers 
of the x-ray fields. 
 
“Beam-limiting device” means a device which provides a 
means to restrict the dimensions of the x-ray field. 
 
“Cephalometric device” means a device intended for the 
radiographic visualization and measurement of the dimensions 
of the human head. 
 
“Certified components” means components of x-ray systems 
which are subject to regulations promulgated under Public Law 
90-602, the Radiation Control for Health and Safety Act of 
1968. 
 
“Certified system” means any x-ray system which has one or 
more certified component(s). 
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“Coefficient of variation” or “C” means the ratio of the standard 
deviation to the mean value of a population of observations.  It 
is estimated using the following equation: 
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“Control panel” means that part of the x-ray control upon which 
are mounted the switches, knobs, pushbuttons, and other 
hardware necessary for manually setting the technique factors. 
 
“Cooling curve” means the graphical relationship between heat 
units stored and cooling time. 
 
“Diagnostic source assembly” means the tube housing assembly 
with a beam-limiting device attached. 
 
“Diagnostic x-ray system” means an x-ray system designed for 
irradiation of any part of the human body for the purpose of 
diagnosis or visualization. 
 
“Entrance exposure rate” means the exposure per unit time at 
the point where the center of the useful beam enters the patient. 
 
“Equipment” (See “X-ray equipment”) 
 
“Field emission equipment” means equipment which uses an x-
ray tube in which electron emission from the cathode is due 
solely to the action of an electric field. 
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“Filter” means material placed in the useful beam to absorb 
preferentially selected radiations. 
 
“Focal spot” means the area projected on the anode of the x-ray 
tube by the electrons accelerated from the cathode and from 
which the useful beam originates. 
 
“Gonad shield” means a protective barrier for the testes or 
ovaries. 
 
“Half-value layer” means the thickness of specified material 
which attenuates the beam of radiation to an extent such that the 
exposure rate is reduced to one-half of its original value.  In this 
definition, the contribution of all scattered radiation, other than 
any which might be present initially in the beam concerned, is 
deemed to be excluded. 
 
“Heat unit” means a unit of energy equal to the product of the 
peak kilovoltage, milliamperes, and seconds, i.e., kVp x mA x 
second. 
 
“HVL” (See “Half-value layer”) 
 
“Image receptor” means any device, such as a fluorescent 
screen or radiographic film, which transforms incident x-ray 
photons either into a visible image or into another form which 
can be made into a visible image by further transformations. 
 
“Inherent filtration” means the filtration of the useful beam 
provided by the permanently installed components of the tube 
housing assembly. 
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“Kilovolts peak” (See “Peak tube potential”). 
 
“kV” means kilovolts. 
 
“kVp” (See “Peak tube potential”) 
 
“Lead equivalent” means the thickness of lead affording the 
same attenuation, under specified conditions, as the material in 
question. 
 
“Leakage radiation” means radiation emanating from the 
diagnostic or therapeutic source assembly except for: 
 

(1) the useful beam, and 
(2) radiation produced when the exposure switch or 

timer is not activated. 
 
“mA” means milliampere. 
 
“mAs” means milliampere second. 
 
“Mobile x-ray equipment” (See “X-ray equipment”). 
 
“Patient” means an individual subjected to healing arts 
examination, diagnosis, or treatment. 
 
“Peak tube potential” means the maximum value of the 
potential difference across the x-ray tube during an exposure. 
 
“PID” (See Position indicating device”). 
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“Position indicating device” means a device on dental x-ray 
equipment used to indicate the beam position and to establish a 
definite source-surface (skin) distance.  It may or may not 
incorporate or serve as a beam-limiting device. 
 
“Protective apron” means an apron made of radiation absorbing 
materials used to reduce radiation exposure. 
 
“Protective barrier” means a barrier of radiation absorbing 
material(s) used to reduce radiation exposure.  The types of 
protective barriers are as follows: 
 

(1) “Primary protective barrier” means the material, 
excluding filters, placed in the useful beam, for 
protection purposes, to reduce the radiation 
exposure. 
 

(2) “Secondary protective barrier” means a barrier 
sufficient to attenuate the stray radiation to the 
required degree. 

 
“Qualified expert” means an individual who has demonstrated 
to the satisfaction of the Agency that such individual possesses 
the knowledge and training to measure ionizing radiation, to 
evaluate safety techniques, and to advise regarding radiation 
protection needs. 
 
“Radiograph” means an image receptor on which the image is 
created directly or indirectly by an x-ray pattern and results in a 
permanent record. 
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“Radiographic imaging system” means any system whereby a 
permanent or semi-permanent image is recorded on an image 
receptor by the action of ionizing radiation. 
 
“Rating” means the operating limits as specified by the 
component manufacturer. 
 
“Recording” means producing a permanent form of an image 
resulting from x-ray photons. 
 
“Scattered radiation” means radiation that, during passage 
through matter, has been deviated in direction (See “Direct 
scattered radiation”). 
 
“Secondary protective barrier” (See “Protective barrier”). 
 
“SID” (see “Source-image receptor distance”). 
 
“Source” means the focal spot of the x-ray tube. 
 
“Source-image receptor distance” means the distance from the 
source to the center of the input surface of the image receptor. 
 
“SSD” means the distance between the source and the skin of 
the patient. 
 
“Stationary x-ray equipment” (See “X-ray equipment”). 
 
“Stray radiation” means the sum of leakage and scattered 
radiation. 
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“Technique factors” means the following conditions of 
operation: 
         (5)       For all other equipment, peak tube potential in kV, 
and either tube current in mA and exposure time in seconds, or 
the product of tube current and exposure time in mAs. 
 
“Termination of irradiation” means the stopping of irradiation 
in a fashion which will not permit continuance of irradiation 
without the resetting of operating conditions at the control 
panel. 
 
“Traceable to a national standard” means that a quantity or a 
measurement has been compared to a national standard directly 
or indirectly through one or more intermediate steps and that all 
comparisons have been documented. 
 
“Tube” means an x-ray tube, unless otherwise specified. 
 
“Tube housing assembly” means the tube housing with tube 
installed.  It includes high-voltage and/or filament transformers 
and other appropriate elements when such are contained within 
the tube housing. 
 
“Tube rating chart” means the set of curves which specify the 
rated limits of operating of the tube in terms of the technique 
factors. 
 
“Useful beam” means the radiation emanating from the tube 
housing port or the radiation head and passing through the 
aperture of the beam limiting device when the exposure controls 
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are in a mode to cause the system to produce radiation. 
 
“X-ray control” means a device which controls input power to 
the x-ray high-voltage generator and/or the x-ray tube.  It 
includes equipment such as timers, phototimers, automatic 
brightness stabilizers, and similar devices, which control the 
technique factors of an x-ray exposure. 
 
“X-ray equipment” means an x-ray system, subsystem, or 
component thereof.  Types of x-ray equipment are as follows: 
 

(1) “Mobile x-ray equipment” means x-ray 
equipment mounted on a permanent base with 
wheels and/or casters for moving while 
completely assembled. 
 

(2) “Portable x-ray equipment” means x-ray 
equipment designed to be hand-carried. 
 

(3) “Stationary x-ray equipment” means x-ray 
equipment which is installed in a fixed location, 
and includes x-ray equipment permanently 
installed in a vehicle. 

 
“X-ray field” means that area of the intersection of the useful 
beam and any one of the set of planes parallel to and including 
the plane of the image receptor, whose perimeter is the locus of 
points at which the exposure rate is one-fourth of the maximum 
in the intersection. 
 
“X-ray high-voltage generator” means a device which 
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transforms electrical energy from the potential supplied by the 
x-ray control to the tube operating potential.  The device may 
also include means for transforming alternating current to direct 
current, filament transformers for the x-ray tube(s), high voltage 
switches, electrical protective devices, and other appropriate 
elements. 
 
“X-ray subsystem” means any combination of two or more 
components of an x-ray system. 
 
“X-ray system” means an assemblage of components for the 
controlled production of x-rays.  It includes minimally an x-ray 
high voltage generator, an x-ray control, a tube housing 
assembly, a beam-limiting device, and the necessary supporting 
structures.  Additional components which function with the 
system are considered integral parts of the system. 
 
“X-ray tube” means any electron tube which is designed to be 
used primarily for the production of x rays. 
 
Section F.3 General Requirements. 
 
(a) Administrative Controls. 
 
 (1) Registrant. The registrant shall be responsible 
for directing the operation of the x-ray system(s) under his 
administrative control.  The registrant or the registrant’s agent 
shall assure that the requirements of these regulations are met in 
the operation of the x-ray system(s). 
 

(i) An x-ray system which does not meet the 

 
 
 
 
You are responsible for the operation of your radiation machine. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If your radiation machine does not meet the requirements set forth 
in these regulations, you may not use the machine. 
 
 
 
The operators must be registered or licensed through the 
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. 
 
 
 
You must have a technique chart for each x-ray machine and follow 
that chart.  This is required for cephalometric machines and the 
newer panoral machines. 
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provisions of these regulations shall not 
be operated for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes. 

 
(ii) Individuals who will be operating the x-

ray systems shall be adequately instructed 
in the safe operating procedures and be 
competent in the safe use of the 
equipment. 

 
(iii) A chart shall be provided in the vicinity 

of the diagnostic x-ray system’s control 
panel which specifies, for all 
examinations performed with that system, 
the following information: 

 
(a) patient's body part and anatomical 

size or body part thickness, or age 
(for pediatrics) versus technique 
factors to be utilized; 

 
(b) type and size of the film or film-

screen combination to be used; 
 

(c) type and focal distance of the grid to 
be used, if any; 

 
(d) source to image receptor distance to 

be used; 
 

(e) type and location of placement of 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Lead aprons should be used on patients to protect them from scatter 
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patient shielding (e.g., gonad, etc.) to 
be used; and 

 
(iv) Written safety procedures shall be 

provided to each individual operating x-
ray equipment, including any restrictions 
of the operating technique required for 
the safe operation of the particular x-ray 
system.  The operator shall be able to 
demonstrate familiarity with these 
procedures. 

 
(v) Except for patients who cannot be moved 

out of the room, only the staff and 
ancillary personnel required for the 
medical procedure or training shall be in 
the room during the radiographic 
exposure.  Other than the patient being 
examined: 

 
(a) All individuals shall be positioned 

such that no part of the body will be 
struck by the useful beam unless 
protected by no less than 0.5 
millimeter lead equivalent. 

 
(b) All persons shall be protected from 

the direct scatter radiation by 
protective aprons or whole body 
protective barriers of not less than 
0.25 millimeter lead equivalent. 

radiation. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Only qualified users may operate the x-ray machine. 
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(c) Patients who cannot be removed from 

the room shall be protected from the 
direct scatter radiation by whole body 
protective barriers of not less than 
0.25 millimeter lead equivalent or 
shall be so positioned that the nearest 
portion of the body is at least 2 
meters from both the tube head and 
the nearest edge of the image 
receptor. 

 
(vi) Gonad shielding of not less than 0.5 

millimeter lead equivalent shall be used 
for patients, who have not passed the 
reproductive age, during radiographic 
procedures in which the gonads are in the 
useful beam, except for cases in which 
this would interfere with the diagnostic 
procedure. 

 
(vii) Individuals shall not be exposed to the 

useful beam except for healing arts 
purposes and unless such exposure has 
been authorized by a licensed practitioner 
of the healing arts.  This provision also 
prohibits deliberate exposure for the 
purpose of training, demonstration, or 
other non-healing-arts purposes. 

 
(ix) Procedures and auxiliary equipment designed 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Minimum dose to the patient is achieved not only by the radiation 
machine working according to manufactures specification but: 
 
 
 
 
 
Ensuring that darkrooms are properly maintained. 
 
 
 
 
 
The timer should be set as low as possible. 
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to minimize patient and personnel exposure 
commensurate with the needed diagnostic 
information shall be utilized.  Such 
procedures and equipment shall include, but 
are not limited to the following: 

 
(a) The speed of film or screen and 

film combinations shall be the 
fastest speed consistent with the 
diagnostic objective of the 
examinations; 

 
(b) The radiation exposure to the 

patient shall be the minimum 
exposure required to produce 
images of good diagnostic 
quality; 

 
(c) Portable or mobile x-ray 

equipment shall be used only for 
examinations where it is 
impractical to transfer the 
patient(s) to a stationary x-ray 
installation; or 

 
(d) X-ray systems subject to F.6 shall 

not be utilized in procedures 
where the source to patient 
distance is less than 30 
centimeters. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tests are used to determine the processing of the film and the 
amount of the light in the darkroom. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The manual tank must be divided into at least three sections – 
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(b) Processing of film. 

 
(1) All film shall be processed in such a fashion 

as to achieve adequate sensitometric 
performance.  “Adequate sensitometric 
performance” means: 

 
(i) A measured processing speed of 

greater than or equal to 80; and 
(ii) that the base plus fog of the 

facility’s film shall not exceed 0.3 
OD; as measured by the 
Sensitometric Technique for the 
Evaluation of Processing (STEP) 
test 1/. 

 
1/This test is described by Suleiman, O.H. et al. in the article 

“Automatic Film Processing:  Analysis of 9 
Years of Observations.” Radiology 1992 Vol. 
185, pp. 25-28. 
 

(2) Manual Processing of Film. 
 

(i) Where film is developed manually, 
a system shall be available which 
consists of at least one three-
sectional tank made of 
mechanically rigid, corrosion 
resistant material (each section of 

developer, water, and fixer.  Also a controlled temperature must be 
maintained in the manual tank. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A thermometer and a timer must be used for manual processing. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for mixing chemicals. 
 
 
Chemical must be changed a minimum of every 3 months and as 
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which shall be constructed so as to 
retain its solution separate from the 
other two) and has the overall 
temperature controlling capability 
of maintaining each solution such 
that the temperature of each 
solution will always fall within the 
range of 60°F to 80°F (16-27°C). 

 
(ii) Devices shall be available which 

will: 
 

(a) Give the actual temperature 
of the developer, plus or 
minus 2° F (or 1°C if SI 
units are used), and 

 
(b) Give an audible or visible 

signal after a preset time, 
plus or minus 10% of the 
preset time. 

 
(3) Chemical-Film Processing Control. 

 
(i) Chemicals shall be mixed in accord 

with the chemical manufacturer’s 
recommendations. 

(ii) Replenishing of chemicals shall be 
sufficient to maintain the standards 
of (b)(1) above. 

(iii) All processing chemicals shall be 

often as required to maintain optimum processing.  (This is 
dependent on the workload of the facility) 
 
 
 
 
Keep a record of when you changed chemicals, cleaned your 
processor, and made any repairs to the processor. 
Automatic daily replenishment of chemicals does not need to be 
denoted. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Your darkroom must not have any extraneous light leakage except 
for light from the proper safelight (for example: GBX 2 or 
equivalent).   
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completely replaced at least every 3 
months. 

 
(4) Automatic Processors and Other Closed Processing 

Systems.  Preventative maintenance shall be performed 
on the unit, except for extended periods of non-use, on a 
frequency basis which is not less than that schedule 
recommended by the manufacturer.  In the event that no 
schedule is available from the manufacturer, a 
maintenance schedule shall be established which will 
preserve good film quality. 

 
 
 
(5) Film Fog Prevention 
 

(i) Film processing areas and devices 
shall be constructed so that film 
being processed, handled, or stored 
will be exposed only to light which 
as passed through a proper safelight 
filter. 

(ii) That light which remains in a film 
processing area or device following 
compliance with F.3(b)(5)(i) shall, 
when exposed to film in a two 
minute fog test, produce an increase 
in fog of not more than 0.05 density 
units. 

(iii) In determining compliance with 
F.3(b)(5)(ii), fog measurements are 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Poor processing contributes to a low quality radiographic film so a 
quality assurance program must be established to obtain the highest 
quality of diagnostic imaging and ensures low radiation to the 
patients.  (example: step wedge, time-temperature chart, etc) 
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to be made at exposed film densities 
of 1.0 plus base plus fog. 

 
(c) Quality Assurance. 

 
The registrant shall be responsible for establishing and 
operating an effective program for radiographic imaging 
quality control.  This program shall be designed to fulfill the 
following goals: 
 

(1) That the diagnostic quality of radiographic 
images will be maintained at the highest 
level; 

(2) That film processing systems will be 
maintained a the highest quality level; 

(3) That radiographic images will be produced 
using the minimum radiation doses to 
patients; and 

(4) That the above three goals will be 
consistently met. 

 
(d) Machine Maintenance. 
  

(1) A registrant shall maintain each radiation 
machine in accordance with the 
manufacturer’s recommended maintenance 
specifications 

(2) A registrant shall maintain documentation, in 
the form of logs, service tickets, or work 
orders, that the machine manufacturer’s 
recommended maintenance schedule has 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The x-ray beam must be filtered.  Most dental x-ray machines are 
manufactured with the correct filters. 
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been met.  
 
 
Section F.4 General Requirements for All Diagnostic X-ray 
Systems.  In addition to other requirements of this part, all 
diagnostic x-ray systems shall meet the following requirements: 
 
(a) Warning Label. The control panel containing the 
main power switch shall bear the warning statement, legible and 
accessible to view: “WARNING: This x-ray unit may be 
dangerous to patient and operator unless safe exposure factors 
and operating instructions are observed.” 
 
(e)        Beam Quality. 
 

(1)        Half-Value Layer. 
 

(i) The half-value layer of the useful 
beam for a given x-ray tube 
potential shall not be less than the 
values shown in Table I.  If it is 
necessary to determine such half-
value layer at an x-ray tube 
potential which is not listed in 
Table I, linear interpolation or 
extrapolation may be made. 

Table I 
Design 

operating 
range (kVp) 

Measured 
potential 

(kVp) 

Half-value 
layer (mm of 
aluminum) 

Below 50 30 0.3 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If your x-ray machine has more than one tube head, the control 
panel and the tube head must show which tube head is being used 
except for non-certified equipment. 
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 40 0.4 
 49 0.5 

50 to 70 50 1.2 
 60 1.3 
 70 1.5 

Above 70 71 2.1 
 80 2.3 
 90 2.5 
 100 2.7 
 110 3.0 
 120 3.2 
 130 3.5 
 140 3.8 
 150 4.1 

 
(ii) In addition to the requirements of 

F.4(e)(1)(i), all intraoral dental 
radiographic systems manufactured 
on and after December 1, 1980, 
shall have a minimum half-value 
layer not less than 1.5 millimeters 
aluminum equivalent filtration 
permanently installed in the useful 
beam. 

 
(f) Multiple Tubes. Where two or more radiographic 
tubes are controlled by one exposure switch, the tube or tubes 
which have been selected shall be clearly indicated prior to 
initiation of the exposure.  This indication shall be both on the 
x-ray control panel and at or near the tube housing assembly 

The x-ray machine tube head shall be stable.  Do not hold the tube 
head during the exposure. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The technique factors shall be posted prior to making an exposure. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
These regulations apply to panoral and cephalometric radiation 
machines. 
 
 
 
 
 
The x-ray field must be contained within the borders of the image 
receptor. 
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which has been selected.  Non-certified equipment is exempt 
from this requirement. 
 
(g) Mechanical Support of Tube Head. The tube housing 
assembly supports shall be adjusted such that the tube housing 
assembly will remain stable during an exposure unless tube 
housing movement is a designed function of the x-ray system. 
 
 
(h) Technique Indicators.  

 
(1) The technique factors to be used during an 
exposure shall be indicated before the exposure begins.  
If automatic exposure controls are used, the technique 
factors which are set prior to the exposure shall be 
indicated. 
 
(2) The requirement of F.4(h)(1) may be met by 

permanent markings on equipment having fixed 
technique factors.  Indication of technique 
factors shall be visible from the operator’s 
position except in the case of spot films made by 
the fluoroscopist. 

 
Section F.6 Radiographic Systems Other Than Fluoroscopic, 
Dental Intraoral, Veterinarian, or Computed Tomography X-ray 
Systems. 
 
(a) Beam Limitation. The useful beam shall be limited 
to the area of clinical interest. 
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 (3)       X-ray Systems Designed for One Image 
Receptor Size. Radiographic equipment designed for only one 
image receptor size at a fixed SID shall be provided with means 
to limit the field at the plane of the image receptor to 
dimensions no greater than those of the image receptor, and to 
align the center of the x-ray field with the center of the image 
receptor to within 2 percent of the SID, or shall be provided 
with means to both size and align the x-ray field such that the x-
ray field at the plane of the image receptor does not extend 
beyond any edge of the image receptor. 
 

(5) X-ray Systems Other Than Those Described 
in F.6(a)(1),(2),(3), and (4). 

 
(i) Means shall be provided to limit the 

x-ray field in the plane of the image 
receptor so that such field does not 
exceed each dimension of the image 
receptor by more than 2 percent of the 
SID when the axis of the x-ray beam 
is perpendicular to the plane of the 
image receptor.  Podiatry units with a 
circular beam are exempted from the 
2% limit provided the diameter of the 
x-ray field shall not exceed the 
diagonal dimension of the image 
receptor. 

(ii) Means shall be provided to align the 
center of the x-ray field with the 
center of the image receptor to within 
2 percent of the SID, or means shall 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The x-ray timer must be accurate and shall stop x-ray production at 
a preset time. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Stand at least 6 feet from the x-ray beam or behind a barrier.  You 
must still be able to view the patient throughout the entire exposure. 
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be provided to both size and align the 
x-ray field such that the x-ray field at 
the plane of the image receptor does 
not extend beyond any edge of the 
image receptor. 

 
(6) Source to Image Distance 

 
Except for certified systems, a method shall 
be provided to indicate the SID to within 2 
inches. 

 
(b) Radiation Exposure Control Devices. 
 
 (1) Timers. 
 

(i) Means shall be provided to terminate the 
exposure at a preset time interval, preset 
product of current and time, a preset 
number of pulses, or a preset radiation 
exposure to the image receptor.  Such 
means shall provide that the resulting 
time interval product of current and time, 
number of pulses or radiation exposure is 
accurate to within ten percent of the true 
value. 

(ii) It shall not be possible to make an 
exposure when the timer is set to a “zero” 
or “off” position if either position is 
provided. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A signal audible to the operation shall be exempted if the x-ray 
machine is manufactured before 1978. 
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(2) X-ray Control. 
 
            (ii)        Each x-ray control shall be located in 

such a way as to meet the following 
requirements: 
 

(a) Stationary x-ray systems shall be 
required to have the x-ray control 
permanently mounted in a 
protected area so that the operator 
is required to remain in that 
protected area during the entire 
exposure; and 

 
(c) Means shall be provided so that 

the operator can view the patient     
  during the exposure. 
 

(d) The x-ray control shall provide     
visual indication observable at or 
from the operator’s protected 
position whenever x-rays are 
produced.  In addition, a signal 
audible to the operator shall 
indicate that the exposure has 
terminated.  

 
(iii) ACCURACY. Except for certified 

systems, means shall be provided to 
terminate an exposure at a preset time 
interval, preset product of current and 

 
 
 
 
 
The exposure from an x-ray machine must be consistent at each 
setting. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Pertains to intraoral radiation machines. 
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time, or preset number of pulses.  Such 
means shall produce a time interval, 
product of current and time, or number of 
pulses within 10 percent of the indicated 
preset value. 

 
(4) Reproducibility. With a timer setting of 0.5 

seconds or less, the average exposure period  
(T ) shall be greater than or equal to 5 times the 
maximum exposure period (Tmax) minus the 
minimum exposure period (Tmin) when 4 timer 
tests are performed: 

 
T  ≥ 5 (Tmax - Tmin) 

 
 
(d) Exposure Reproducibility. The coefficient of 
variation of exposure shall not exceed 0.10 when all technique 
factors are held constant.  This requirement shall be deemed to 
have been met if, when four exposures are made at identical 
technique factors, the value of the average exposure ( E ) is 
greater than or equal to 5 times the maximum exposure (Emax) 
minus the minimum exposure (Emin): 
 

E   ≥  5 (Emax - Emin) 
 
(g) Additional Requirements Applicable to Certified 
Systems Only.  Diagnostic x-ray systems incorporating one or 
more certified component (s) shall be required to comply with 
the following additional requirement (s) which relate to that 

 
 
 
 
If you use an intraoral x-ray machine, there are specific 
requirements for the size of the x-ray beam and the distance from 
the source of the x-rays to the patients skin.  Most dental x-ray 
machines are manufactured to meet these requirements. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The x-ray timer must be accurate and shall stop x-ray production 
at a preset time. 
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certified component (s). 
 
 (1) Reproducibility. When the equipment is 
operated on an adequate power supply as specified by the 
manufacturer in accordance with the requirements of applicable 
Federal standards, the estimated coefficient of variation of 
radiation exposures shall be no greater than 0.05, for any 
specific combination of selected technique factors. 
 
Section F.7 Intraoral Dental Radiographic Systems. In addition 
to the provisions of F.3 and F.4, the requirements of F.7 apply 
to x-ray equipment and associated facilities used for dental 
radiography.  Requirements for extraoral dental radiographic 
systems are covered in F.6. 
 
(a) Source-to-Skin Distance. X-ray systems designed 
for use with an intraoral image receptor shall be provided with 
means to limit source-to-skin distance, to not less than: 
 
 (1) 18 centimeters if operable above 50 kVp, or 
 (2) 10 centimeters if not operable above 50 kVp. 
 
(b) Field Limitation. 
 
 (1) Radiographic systems designed for use with an 
intraoral image receptor shall be provided with means to limit 
the x-ray beam such that: 
 
  (i) if the minimum source-to-skin distance 
(SSD) is 18 centimeters or more, the x-ray field, at the 
minimum SSD, shall be containable in a circle having a 
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diameter of no more than 7 centimeters; and 
 
  (ii) if the minimum SSD is less than 18 
centimeters, the x-ray field, at the minimum SSD, shall be 
containable in a circle having a diameter of no more than 6 
centimeters. 
 
             (2)        An open ended, shield position indicating 
device shall be used.  
 
(c) Timers. Means shall be provided to terminate the 
exposure at a preset time interval, preset product of current and 
time, a preset number of pulses, or a preset radiation exposure 
to the image receptor.  In addition: 
 
 (1) It shall not be possible to make an exposure 
when the timer is set to a “zero” or “off” position if either 
position is provided. 
 
 (2) Reproducibility. With a timer setting of 0.5 
seconds or less, the average exposure period (T ) shall be 
greater than or equal to 5 times the maximum exposure period 
(Tmax) minus the minimum exposure period (Tmin) when 4 timer 
tests are performed: 
 

T  ≥ 5(Tmax - Tmin) 
 
 (3) Accuracy. Except for certified systems, 
means shall be provided to terminate exposure at a preset time 
interval, preset product of current and time, or preset number of 
pulses.  Such means shall produce a time interval, product of 
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current and time, or number of pulses within ten percent of the 
indicated preset value. 
 
(d) X-ray Control. 
 

(1) An x-ray control shall be incorporated into each 
x-ray system such than an exposure can be terminated by the 
operator at any time, except for exposures of one-half (1/2) 
second or less.   

 
(2) Each x-ray control shall be located in such a way 

as to meet the following requirements: 
   

(i) stationary x-ray systems shall be required 
to have the x-ray control permanently mounted in a protected 
area, so that the operator is required to remain in that protected 
area during the entire exposure; and  

(ii)        mobile and portable x-ray systems which 
are:   

(a) used for greater than 1 week in the 
same location, i.e., a room or suite, 
shall meet the requirements of 
F.7(d)(2)(i); 

(b) used for greater than 1 hour and less 
than 1 week at the same location, i.e., 
a room or suite, shall meet the 
requirements of F.7(d)(2)(ii)(a) or be 
provided with a 6.5 feet (1.98 m) high 
protective barrier which is placed at 
least 6 feet (1.83 m) from the patient; 
or  

 
 
The exposure from an x-ray machine must be consistent at each 
setting. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The kilovoltage (kVp) of the x-ray machine must be accurate. 
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(c) used to make an exposure(s) of a 
patient at the use location shall meet 
the requirement of F.7(d)(2)(ii)(a) or 
(b) or be provided with a method of 
x-ray control which will permit the 
operator to be at least 12 feet (3.66m) 
from the tube housing assembly 
during an exposure. 

 
 (3) The x-ray control shall provide visual indication 
observable at or from the operator’s protected position 
whenever x-rays are produced.  In addition, a signal audible to 
the operator shall indicate that the exposure has terminated. 
 
(e) Exposure Reproducibility. The coefficient of 
variation shall not exceed 0.10 when all technique factors are 
held constant.  This requirement shall be deemed to have been 
met if, when 4 exposures are made at identical technique 
factors, the value of the average exposure ( E ) is greater than or 
equal to 5 times the maximum exposure (Emax) minus the 
minimum exposure (Emin): 
 

E  ≥ 5(Emax - Emin) 
 
(f) kVp Accuracy. Except for certified systems, the 
true value of kVp shall not be different from the indicated value 
by greater than ten percent. 
 
(g) Administrative Controls. 

(1) Patient and film holding devices shall be used when 
the techniques permit. 
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(2) The tube housing and the PID shall not be hand-
held during an exposure 

(3) The x-ray system shall be operated in such a 
manner that the useful beam at the patient’s skin 
does not exceed the requirements of F.7(b)(1). 

(4) Dental fluoroscopy without image intensification 
shall not be used. 

 
(h) Additional Requirements Applicable to Certified 
Systems Only. Only diagnostic x-ray systems incorporating one 
or more certified component(s) shall be required to comply with 
the following additional requirements(s) which relate to that 
certified component(s).  
 
 (1) Reproducibility. When the equipment is 
operated on an adequate power supply as specified by the 
manufacturer, the estimated coefficient of variation of radiation 
exposures shall be no greater than 0.05, for any specific 
combination of selected technique factors. 
 
           (2)      Linearity.  When the equipment allows a choice of 
x-ray tube current settings and is operated on a power supply as 
specified by the manufacturer in accordance with the 
requirements of applicable federal standards, for any fixed x-ray 
tube potential within the range of 40 to 100 percent of the 
maximum rating, the average ratios of exposure to the indicated 
milliampere-seconds product obtained at any 2 consecutive tube 
current settings shall not differ by more than 0.10 times their 
sum:                                 

¦ X 1 - X 2¦ ≤ 0.10 ( X 1 + X 2), 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post the certificate of registration. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Post the “Notice to Employees” (Form MDE 279) in a conspicuous 
place. 
This posting has the Agency’s emergency number, employee and 
employer’s responsibility.  
This form can be obtained by calling the Agency.   
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where X 1 and X 2 are the average mR/mAs values obtained at 
each of 2 consecutive tube current settings. 
 
            (3)   Accuracy.  Deviation of technique factors from 
indicated values shall not exceed the limits specified for that 
system by its manufacturer. 
  
            (4)   Timers.  Termination of exposure shall cause 
automatic resetting of the timer to its initial setting or to “zero”. 
 
            (5)  Beam Quality.  All certified dental x-ray systems 
manufactured on and after December 1, 1980, shall have a 
minimum half-value layer not less than 1.5 millimeters 
aluminum equivalent.  Systems operating above 70 kVp are 
subject to the filtration requirements of F.4(e)(1).  
 
 
 
Section J.11 Posting of Notices to Workers. 
 
(a) Each licensee or registrant shall post current copies of 
the following documents: 
 
  (2) The license, certificate of registration, 
conditions or documents incorporated into the license by 
reference and amendments thereto. 
 
(c) Agency MDE 279 “Notice to Employees” shall be 
posted by each licensee or registrant as required by these 
regulations. 
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(d) Agency documents posted pursuant to J.11(a)(4) shall be 
posted within two (2) working days after receipt of the 
documents from the Agency; the licensee’s or registrant’s 
response, if any, shall be posted within five (5) working days 
after dispatch from the licensee or registrant. Such documents 
shall remain posted for a minimum of 30 working days of until 
action correcting the violation has been completed and this 
correction has been verified by the Agency.  
  

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Appendix A:  The Dental Inspection Process 
 

General information pertaining to dental inspections: 
 
Currently all dental facilities are inspected every three years. 
The dental facilities are contacted and appointments are scheduled 30 days in advance. 
It is up to the dentist’s discretion whether patients should be scheduled during the time of an inspection.  It seems to be more 
convenient for the inspector if patients are not scheduled due to the equipment and the accessibility of the room(s).   
An unannounced inspection could be held if there is a complaint from an employee or the general public. 
If the radiation machine has more than one tube head it should be denoted on the tube head and the control panel when in use. 
All operators must be licensed through the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
 
The dental inspection process involves inspecting the following items: 
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Radiation Machine     Administrative   Film Processing  
- Minimum patient exposure    - Current Registration   - Development Speed 
- Operator Protection     - Personnel Monitoring  - Film Fog 
- Protective Apparel Available   - Notice to Employee Posting  - Chemistry Log 
-Timer Accuracy and Reproducibility  - Registration Certificate  - Film Processing Quality Assurance 
- Exposure Reproducibility 
- Minimum Filtration (Half Value Layer) 
- Field Size 
 
Approximate time taken on each dental radiation machine and film processing: 
 
–~ 30 minutes per Intraoral. 
–~ 45 minutes per Panoral.  
–~ 45 minutes per Cephalometric.  
–~ 45 minutes for film processing 
 
During a dental inspection, the Agency requests that the following documentation be present at the facility: 
 
1.  Radiation Machine Registration Form (RX1) – must be available 
2.  The Registration Certificate – must be posted 
3.  Personnel Monitoring Records – records must be kept at the facility (monitoring requirements:  turn in the badges monthly then 

monitor for 6 consecutive months or turn in the badges quarterly then monitor for 1consective year) 
4.  Notice to Employee Posting – must be posted 
5.  A log of processing solution changes – a log must be maintained which shows when the processor was cleaned, solutions changed, 

and maintenance 
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Appendix B:  Reasons A Dental Registrant May Notify the Agency 

 
Notification to the Agency is deemed necessary when one of the following situations arises: 

 
Relocation 

 
1.  Submit a written letter requesting cancellation of your old registration number. 
2.  Submit disassembly reports showing the Agency what happened to the radiation machines located at the facility. 
3.  Submit installation reports showing the Agency how many radiation machines were installed at the new location. 
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4.  All outstanding fees must be paid on the old registration number before the registration number is cancelled. 
5.  A Radiation Machine Registration Form (RX1) must be completed, payment transmittal form, and annual fees paid before a new 
registration number is issued. 
 

Ownership Change 
 

1.  Submit a bill of sale that shows that ownership has changed. 
2.  All outstanding fees must be paid on the old registration number before the registration number is cancelled. 
3.  The new owner must complete a Radiation Machine Registration Form (RX1), payment transmittal form, and fees paid before a 
new registration number is issued. 
 

Termination of Registration 
 

1.  Submit a written letter requesting cancellation of your old registration number. 
2.  Submit disassembly reports showing the Agency what happened to the radiation machines located at the facility. 
3.  All outstanding fees must be paid before the registration number is cancelled. 
 

Stolen, Lost, or Missing X-ray machine 
 

1. Notify the Agency immediately by telephone (410-537-3300) that the x-ray machine has been stolen, lost, or missing. 
2. Notify the Agency within 24 hours in writing that the x-ray machine has been stolen, lost, or missing. 
3. Submit within 30 days a report which details the following:  manufacturers name, model, serial number; how the machine was lost 

or stolen; what happened to the machine, and corrective actions taken. 
 

3-D computed tomography dental imaging system 
 

1. Notify the Agency immediately if your facility acquires this particular type of unit. 
2. The facility must submit a plan review performed by a registered service provider or state licensed inspector 

(http://www.mde.state.md.us/assets/document/air/xray_inspectors.pdf) prior to use of this machine. 
3. The facility must continuously use personnel monitoring for anyone who is energizing this unit. 
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Note:  It is the responsibility of the facility, not the service providers, to notify the Agency of any changes.  
Mail all correspondence to:   Maryland Department of the Environment 

Radiological Health Program 
1800 Washington Boulevard 
Baltimore, MD 21230 

Phone number:  410-537-3300 or 1-800-633-6101 
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