
2.26 CED MANUFACTURER REGISTRATIONS 



Question: Am I selling covered electronic devices like computer, cell phone, tv etc.? 

 

Why do I need this approval?  

The registration assures the manufacturers of covered 

electronic devices (CED) comply with the Maryland’s 

Statewide Electronics Recycling law (MSERL). A 

CED is a computer or video display device with a 

screen that is greater than 4 inches measured 

diagonally. This includes computers, computer 

monitors, televisions, portable DVD players, cell 

phones, tablets etc. A CED does not include a video 

display device that is part of a motor vehicle or that is 

contained within a household appliance of 

commercial, industrial or medical equipment. MSERL 

states that a manufacturer may not sell or offer for sale 

to any person in Maryland a new covered electronics 

device unless: 1) the covered electronic device is 

labeled with the name of the manufacturer or the 

manufacturer’s brand label; and 2) the manufacturer 

has registered with and, if applicable, submitted a 

registration fee to the Department   Every year the new 

or renewal registration application is due by March 1st. 

The previous year registration expires on February 28th   

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal 

authority to issue this approval?  

STATE: Environment Article - §9-1701, §9-1727, and 

§9-1728  

What is the process to get this approval?  

1)   Applicant submits to the Department the required 

registration form and estimated fees for the 

registration. 

2)   The Department reviews the information provided 

on the registration for completeness. 

3)   The Department confirms that the estimated 

registration fees are received and acceptable. 

4)   The Department verifies that the number of CEDs 

sold in Maryland during the prior calendar year 

provided in the application is correct.   

5)   The Department validates that the applicant’s 

proposed Take Back Program meets the requirements 

of the law.  

6)   Once the application is deemed technically 

complete and the review process is complete, the 

Department issues the registration and include the 

registered manufacturer in the list of registered 

manufacturers on the Department’s website. 

 

Is this approval directly related or contingent on 

other approvals?  

No  

 

Are there any other requirements?  

To participate in the Take Back Program, the applicant 

is required to provide the following information with 

the registration application: 1) The manufacturer’s 

website must provide a freeway (toll-free number) for 

Maryland customers to contact the manufacturers; 2) 

The free Take Back Program must be described, 

indicating free shipping and a free shipping container, 

or conveniently located drop-off locations; 3) The 

manufacturer’s website must provide data wiping 

instructions or links to free data wiping software to 

safely and securely wipe data from CEDs destined for 

recycling.  

   

How long should I expect it to take to get this 

approval once I submit a complete application?  

 

Type of Approval  Turnaround Time  

Manufacturer Registration 60 Days.  

 

Once I get this approval, how long will it last?  

Up to 12 Months.   

How much will this approval cost?  

Fees are assessed based on the number of CEDs sold in 

Maryland in the prior year and participation in the 

Take Back Program: 

Initial Annual $0 – 0-99 CEDs sold 

Initial Annual $5,000 – 100-999 CEDs sold 

Initial Annual $10,000 – 1,000 or more CEDs sold 

Initial/Renewal $500 – 100 or more CEDs sold with 

Department-approved Take Back Program  

Renewal Annual $0 – 0-99CEDs sold 

Renewal Annual $5000 – 100 or more CEDs sold 

    

Who do I contact with additional questions?  

Caj Didigu - Resource Management Program/LMA  

caj.didigu@maryland .gov 

(410) 537-4004 

Visit www.mde.maryland.gov/eCcling  for the 

registration form, list of registered manufacturers and 

detailed MSERL information.    

http://www.mde.maryland.gov/eCcling

