2.17 CONTROLLED HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE HAULER AND VEHICLE CERTIFICATION

1 Question: Do | drop off or pick up hazardous waste in the State of Maryland?

Why do | need this approval?

To ensure the safe transport of hazardous wastes within the State, the
Department regulates the movements of controlled hazardous
substances (CHS) by certifying CHS haulers and vehicles..

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal

authority to issue this approval?

FEDERAL: N/A

STATE: Environment Article, Title 7, Subtitle 2, Annotated Code of
Maryland; COMAR 26.13.04.

What is the process to get this approval?

1) Applicant submits a CHS hauler application and a CHS vehicle
application for each vehicle with the required documents and the
payment of the fee. Forms are on the Department’s website:
http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/LAND/Pages/landpermits.aspx

2) The Department reviews the application and issues or denies the
certificate.

Are there any other requirements?

PRE-APPROVAL: Applications must include the following:

1) Annual Vehicle Inspection Certificates from a licensed inspection
station approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles or other State
agency and Tank Inspection Certification (I, E, K, & P) (if required);;

2) a) Documentation of Exemption (Form MCS 82/MCS 90) or
b) CHS bond or letter of credit;

3) Proof of liability insurance;

4) List of customers;

5) List of TSD facilities where approval has been received,;

6) List of any environmental violations;

7) Vehicle Listing (in .xIs Format)

How long should | expect it to take to get this approval once |
submit a complete application?
60 days

Once | get this approval, how long will it last?

Type of Approval Term

Haulers/vehicles Annual (12 month period)

How much will this approval cost?

Type of Approval Fee

For each vehicle $50 annually (12 month period)

Who do | contact with additional questions?
Technical Services and Operations Program
Jennifer Hopper, Section Head
Jennifer.hopper@maryland.gov or 410-537-3350

Paul “Brian” Sodeman
Paul.sodeman@maryland.gov or 410-537-3397

mde.haulers@maryland.gov

Related link:
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Land/Pages/landpermits.aspx



https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Land/Pages/landpermits.aspx

