
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

GEIGER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0006

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 2 7
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BRADFORD Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0108

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CROOKS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0218

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT S y
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 7
SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 3 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SPANGLER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0273

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

FORMAN III Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0337

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

GEIGER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0364

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

GLASS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0382

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HARVEY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0390

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HALL Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0416

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16
OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

LUHN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0604

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 4 7
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MAGEE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0611

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

NAPORA Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0727

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ROBINSON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0791

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

REED, SR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0822

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 6 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SMITH Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0899

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SMITH, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0905

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 30
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SPALDING Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0917

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16
OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SAVOY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 0942

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

VON LINDENBERG Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1021

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

GUTIERREZ Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 10286

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WEEMS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 10324

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

JACKSON, II Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 10346

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

NEALE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 10426

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WOODS, JR Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 10443

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WELCH Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1050

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

PLISCHKE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 10760

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WOOD Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1095

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

KLINE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 11172

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

DELOACH Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1131

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

GARCIA-RUBIO Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 11525

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BAILEY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 11544

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MAY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 11632

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 1 0

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HANKEY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 11634

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HINDS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1169

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WYMAN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12253

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WASHINGTON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12256

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 6 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

GAMLER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12257

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 1 0

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

TODD Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12258

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 1 0

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CONLEY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12272

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 24
TEMPORARY WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

STATON JR Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12274

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 4 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

LEATHERMAN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12275

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 4 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ANDRIE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12276

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 6 24
TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 4 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MOORE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12278

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 6 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MCLEAN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12279

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MURPHY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12280

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 1 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WARD Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12281

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MCKENZIE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12282

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 4 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SPRECHER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12283

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 24
TEMPORARY WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

FANTON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12285

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WARREN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12286

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

STEINHICE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12287

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

KANE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12288

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

LAWHORN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12289

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

KERSHNER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12295

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 4 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

GRIMSLEY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12298

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 1 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

DUBLE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12299

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BLAIR Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12301

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BURT Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12302

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

GRIFFIN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12303

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HAMPTON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12304

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BUTLER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12305

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 4 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BEACH Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 12306

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 6 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SEUBERLING Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1232

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CONLEY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1284

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BASSETT Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1310

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 2 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

STIELPER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1312

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

PILKERTON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1352

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HOTT Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1364

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CASTRO Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1411

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 7
SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 2 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 1 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WRIGHT Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1563

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CAPILI Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1584

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MYERS-PALIGO Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1730

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 6 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 2 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 6 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 7
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HYNES, JR Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1787

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ROSSI Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1845

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16
SUPERINTENDENT WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MERKL Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1847

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 1 7
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BRADSHAW, JR Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1848

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 1 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

THOMAS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1852

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30
SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 4 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HERBIG, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1857

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WILLIAMS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1874

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WILLIAMS, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1919

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

JOHNSON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1921

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WARLICK Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1923

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 4 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT S 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CLARK Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 1957

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BAXTER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2052

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WITT Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2189

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SAVOY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2206

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BECKMAN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 22512

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WILLIS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2325

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

LEMASTER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2352

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 2 24
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

POLLARD Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2354

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ANGELINI Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2364

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 2 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SPECK Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2367

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

FERRAMOSCA Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2390

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

AUSHERMAN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2393

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WALTER, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2495

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BUSSARD Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2587

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BELL Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 2702

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 1 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 5AS 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MAPES Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3026

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HALLER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3254

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

NOSACEK Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3292

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 4 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

THOMPSON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3383

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

FADER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3573

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BROADWATER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3603

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 30
SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 3 7
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 1 16
OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 2 0
OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 1 0
SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 1 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ABELL Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3808

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

DENNIS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3823

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ATKINSON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3838

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CAMPBELL Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3888

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BOVIS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 3945

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 4 7
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

EMMONS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4152

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HOWELL Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4275

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MOATS Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4491

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 1 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CLARK Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4754

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WATER TREATMENT 4 45
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 5AS 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HILL Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4763

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ROBINSON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4786

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

JONES Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4795

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

THOMPSON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4817

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16
OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WELLS, SR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4822

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

YOUNG, SR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 4831

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BRANDT Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 5212

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

CROCKETT Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 5245

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30
SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 3 7
SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 4 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MUNDAY Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 5312

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

DARNER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 5316

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 1 16
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 1 7
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 2 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 3 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

JOHNSON, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 5326

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 7
SUPERINTENDENT WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

TROTTA Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 5418

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 45
TEMPORARY WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 24

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

D'ALFONZO Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 5423

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 1 0

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MCGOUGAN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 5992

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

DEMILIO Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 6400

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 3 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

KOLATA Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 6513

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

VON BANK Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 6652

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

DODSON Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 6885

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ROBERTS, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 7315

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MINOTT Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 7338

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HAMMERSMITH Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 7427

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER COLLECTION 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

STONE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 7694

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

BARGER Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 7803

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

WELLS, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 8528

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

DAVIDSON, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 8583

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

ALKIRE, SR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 8621

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

HANSBORO, SR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 8657

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER DISTRIBUTION 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

POOL, JR. Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 8897

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

SUPERINTENDENT WATER TREATMENT 2 7

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

LYNCH Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 8906

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

SMITZ Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $100

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 9589

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER 4 16
OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

LAPP Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 9754

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 2 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MOULDEN Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 9795

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 4 30

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

YATES Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 9813

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT 5 30
OPERATOR WASTEWATER TREATMENT A 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

This notice is provided pursuant to State Government Article, §10-624, Maryland Code Annotated. The personal information requested on
this form is intended to be used in processing you application. Failure to provide the information requested may result in your application not
being processed. You have the right to inspect, amend, or correct this form. The Maryland Department of the Environment ("MDE") is a
public agency and is subject to the Maryland Public Information Act. This form may be available on the Internet via MDE's website and is
subject to inspection or copying, in whole or in part, by the public and other governmental agencies, if not protected by federal or State law.

MARKLE Certification(s) shown 
below will expire on: 1/1/2025

The fee to renew these 
certifications: $50

I. CERTIFICATES TO RENEW:
Certification Type Category

Training Units 
RequiredClass

Operator Certifcation Number: 9905

Please verify your information shown on this application and make any corrections as needed.

Failure to complete or submit renewal 
requirements by the expiration date will 

result in an additional late fees as 
described in Section V.

This is page one of a two page form. Both pages must be completed and returned. 

Please enter you're current address on the lines below and, if necessary, 
correct the City, state and ZIP Code. Please print legibly.

OPERATOR WATER TREATMENT 1 16

II. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Employer's Name: Phone #:

Please provide the following information about each Facility/Plant that you operate. Use addtional pages as needed.

(OVER)

Number of Facilities (or Plants) that you currently operate: I am employed by the Facility owner

I am currently not operating any Facility

Facility / Plant Name PDWIS (Water)    NPDES (Wastewater)Class

I provide contractual services to the Facility

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
MARYLAND BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

III. CONTINUING EDUCATION: Page 2

To qualify for certification renewal, all applicants must demonstrate satisfactory completion of relevant continuing education.

The number of training units required to renew are based on type of certification and indicated in Section I of this application.

For all operator categories, except Water Class 1, Water Class 2, Water Class G, Water Distribution, and Wastewater Collection, a 
minimum of 50% of training units submitted for renewal shall be process related

•

•

Provide proof of training taken during the 3 year renewal period that ends with the expiration date noted on this application.
Examples of acceptable documentation include signed transcripts, certificates of completion, and official training cards.

•

Proof of training must be submitted with this application and include the Course Code (or TRE number), Course Title, date of 
completion, number of training hours and process (or non-process) designation.

•

Courses can be approved for multiple classifications and categories; the number of required training units is not necessarily cumulative.•

Training requirements for Superintendents are in addition to Operator training requirements and cannot be duplicated.•

No course can be used more than one time for any three-year renewal period.•

All training must be approved by the WWSO Board. The inventory of approved training and additional information related to continuing 
education can be found on the Board's website.

•

Training requirements for renewal are outlined in COMAR 26.06.01.16 (Table 8).•

Multiple renewal dates can be consolidated if all requirements are met. Requests must be in writing or by email.•

IV, REQUIREMENTS FOR OPERATORS IN TRAINING

Operators In Training are required to attempt the exam for each certification to be renewed within the three-year period leading up the 
certification expiration date. Passing the exam is not required for renewal.

•

Upon passing the exam and obtainment of full certification, the training requirement is reduced by one-third.•

V. LATE FEES AND REINSTATEMENT

Failure to complete or submit all renewal requirements by the expiration date will result in a late fee of $100 in addition to the 
renewal fee.

•

Beyond 90 days, fully certified Operator certifications enter a reinstatement period for the two year period beyond the initial 
expiration date. The reinstatement fee is $150 and is additional to the renewal fee.

•

Any Operator certificate not renewed after the two-year reinstatement period is considered permanently expired. The unlicensed 
operator must reapply for OIT certification and complete all OIT requirements, including passing the appropriate exam again.

•

There is no reinstatement period for Operators-In-Training (OIT), Grandfather or Superintendent certifications. These remain in the 
late renewal period and do not permanently expire.

•

VII. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT

I hereby affirm that I understand all information provided on this application. I also certify the following:

• This application contains no willful misrepresentations or falsification, and that this information given by me is true and complete to the 
best of my knowledge and belief

I am aware that should an investigation at any time disclose my misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be disapproved or 
my certification will be suspended or revoked.

•

•

Applicant's Signature: Date

Last 4 digits of Social Security Number Email Address

Make checks payable to: Maryland Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Mail to: Maryland Department of the Environment, P.O. Box 2057, Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1708

* AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED *

I agree the Training Sponsors as indicated by my training documentation may release my name, proof of attendance and grade, as 
applicable, to the Maryland Department of the Environment to verify my proof of training.

Operators In Training must work under the direction of an Operator in Responsible Charge.•
Name and Certification Number of 
Operator in Responsible Charge:

I consent to receive my certificate(s) by emial in lieu of mail

MDE/WMA/OPER (Revised 05/10/2021) TTY Users 1-800-735-2258 wwso.board@maryland.gov
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Permits/EnvironmentalBoards/Pages/BWW.aspx


