
2.08 OIL TRANSFER LICENSE 
 Question: Does my company transfer oil into Maryland (e.g. import) by commercial vessel, 

barge, tank truck, transport, tank car (i.e. rail car), pipeline, or other means? 
 

Why do I need this approval? 
In Maryland, transferring oil into the state without a 
license is prohibited. A person other than a vessel or 
barge may not transfer oil into the State without a 
license. 

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal 
authority to issue this approval? 
STATE: Environment Article, §4-411, Annotated Code 
of Maryland; COMAR 26.10.01.08. 

What is the process to get this approval? 
1) Application is submitted to the Oil Control Program. 
2) The Oil Control Program reviews the application. 
3) The Oil Control Program verifies the company is 

registered with the Maryland Department of 
Assessment and Taxation to conduct business in the 
State and is in good standing. 

4) The Department issues or denies the license. 
 

Is this approval directly related or contingent on 
other approvals? 
No 

 
What does it mean to transfer oil? 
“Transfer" means the offloading or onloading of oil 
into the State from or to any commercial vessel, barge, 
tank truck, tank car, pipeline, or any other means used 
for transporting oil. 

Are there any other requirements? 
The licensee must submit quarterly reports indicating 
the volume of oil transferred, the method of transfer, 
and the fee paid. Shipment of oil in containers of less 
than 100 gallons capacity is exempt from the license 
fee. 

 
How long should I expect it to take to get this 
approval once I submit a complete application? 
30 days 

Once I get this approval, how long will it last? 
Licenses are issued within a 5-year cycle and are valid 
through the expiration date of the current cycle. 

How much will this approval cost? 
There is no cost for the oil transfer license. However, 
there is a fee assessed on transfers of oil in Maryland. 
Beginning July 1, 2025, the oil transfer fee of $0.09 per 
barrel of oil transferred into the State is assessed once, 
at the first point of transfer, and is paid quarterly. The 
fee is subject to legislative changes. 

 
Who do I contact with additional questions? 
 Oil Control Program 
(410) 537-3442 

 
Related link: 
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/LAND/OilControl/ 
Pages/oiltransportation.aspx 

https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/LAND/OilControl/Pages/oiltransportation.aspx
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