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INTRODUCTION  
 

Pursuant to Chapter 384 of 2017, Department of the Environment – Yard Waste, Food Residuals, and Other 

Organic Materials Diversion and Infrastructure Study, this document summarizes organic material diversion laws 

enacted in the following states: Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont, California, and Rhode Island. This 

document will explore laws and regulations related to source reduction, food donation, use of food as animal 

feed, and recycling (composting, mulching, and anaerobic digestion). 

 

SOURCE REDUCTION AND REUSE  
 

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Economic Research Service reports an estimated 31 percent of food 

available for human consumption in 2010 was lost at the retail and consumer levels, resulting in an estimated 

total retail loss of $161.6 billion. The top three food groups lost, in terms of retail monetary value, were animal-

based at $48 billion (30 percent), vegetables at $30 billion (19 percent), and dairy products at $27 billion (17 

percent).1, 2 Laws which promote the source reduction of food residuals, donation of edible surplus food, or 

reuse of food through animal feeding can combat food loss in the U.S. These laws can include consistent and 

science-based date labeling provisions, liability protection and safety standards for food donation, and clear 

rules for use of human food residuals as animal feed. However, most states do not expand upon the donation 

liability protections, food labeling, and food safety requirements codified in federal laws. In addition, the 

complexity of federal animal feed laws can disincentivize the reuse of food residuals as animal feed. The 

subsequent sections will explore how states have adopted or expanded upon federal laws in these areas. 

 

Date Labeling of Food 

Consumers and sellers of food often rely upon date labels in determining when to discard food as no longer safe 

to eat or sell.  However, in many circumstances, date labels are not required by law and are not intended to 

communicate information on product safety.  Further, producers use a broad variety of date language to 

communicate information such as peak quality, leading to inconsistency and consumer confusion. States’ 

labeling laws are not uniform in the food products regulated, nor in food products that are prohibited from 

being sold or served past the label’s date. Rethinking date labeling policies and clarifying the meaning of labels 

through outreach can achieve source reduction by preventing the disposal of wholesome food simply because it 

is near or past the date on the label.3   

At the federal level, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) only regulates date labeling of infant formula.4 

The USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) regulates the labeling of meat, poultry and egg products. 

FSIS regulations allow the voluntary use of date labels on regulated food products, provided that the labels are 

not false or misleading and comply with FSIS calendar date provisions.5, 6 Most states only regulate date labeling 

                                                           
1
 See Buzby, J., et al. The Estimated Amount, Value, and Calories of Postharvest Food Losses at the Retail and Consumer Levels in the 

United States. Economic Information Bulletin Number 121. Economic Research Service, United States Department of Agriculture. Feb. 
2014. https://www.ers.usda.gov/webdocs/publications/43833/43680_eib121.pdf.  
2
 The Economic Research Service’s food loss estimations are adjusted to exclude inedible food residuals, such as vegetable peels. 

3
 Keeping Food Out of the Landfill: Policy Ideas for States and Localities, Harvard Food Law and Policy Clinic. p. 26. Oct. 2016. 

https://www.chlpi.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Food-Waste-Toolkit_Oct-2016_smaller.pdf. 
4
 21 CFR § 107.20. 

5
 9 CFR 317.8 and 381.129. 

https://www.ers.usda.gov/webdocs/publications/43833/43680_eib121.pdf
https://www.chlpi.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Food-Waste-Toolkit_Oct-2016_smaller.pdf
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of dairy products and shellfish. Table 1 provides an overview of Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont, 

California, and Rhode Island laws requiring date labels. 

Table 1. State Food Date Labeling Laws 

Citation Food Items  Requiring Date Labels 
Sale Past Date Label 

Prohibited 

California 

Cal. Food & Agric. Code § 27644         

Cal. Food & Agric. Code § 36004; 3 CCR § 627 

Cal. Health & Safety Code § 114039 

Eggs 

Dairy products 

Shellfish  

No 

No 

No 

Connecticut 

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 22-197b; Conn. Agencies 

Regs. §22-133-131 

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 26-78a(c)
7
 

Dairy products 

 

Donated game meat  

No 

 

No 

Massachusetts 

105 CMR 500.006 
Prepackaged perishable or semi-perishable food 

products, with exemptions
8
 

Yes, with exemptions 

Maryland 

COMAR 10.15.06.10-.11 Grade A Milk 
Yes, with 

exemptions
9
 

Rhode Island 

R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 21-14-9 

R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 21-33-2 

Shellfish 

Packaged baked goods 

No 

Yes, with exemptions 

Vermont 

12-5 Vt. Code R. § 30:5-204 

12-5 Vt. Code R. § 30:5-205 

Shellfish 

Ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food 

No 

Yes 

 

Massachusetts has a broad requirement for labeling of packaged food products with a recommended last date 

of retail sale (indicated with “sell by,” “best by,” or “use by” language) that provides for a reasonable 

subsequent period of home shelf life.10  Shelf life is not necessarily a safety-related concept but takes into 

account risk of spoilage, loss of nutritional value, and loss of palatability. Frozen or long shelf life food products 

may be date labeled, in which case they must follow the format of the label laid out in the regulation. 

Massachusetts generally prohibits sale of past-date food products, but provides additional detail, allowing food 

products to be distributed after the date if the food is (1) apparently wholesome and its quality is not 

considerably reduced; (2) segregated from food products that have not exceeded their date; and (3) labeled 

                                                                                                                                                                                                         
6
 In December 2016, the USDA FSIS issued new guidance which recommends the use of the “Best if Used By” phase when applying date 

labels to meat, poultry, and eggs products. The “Food Product Dating” guidance document can be view at: 
https://www.regulations.gov/contentStreamer?documentId=FSIS-2016-0044-0001&contentType=pdf. 
7
 Charitable organizations must notify recipients the donated game meat was not and is not required to be inspected under Connecticut’s 

food safety laws and the State is not liable for injury as a result of eating the meat, and meat should be labeled with the phase “not for 
sale.” 
8
 The food products exempt from Massachusetts food labeling regulations include: fresh meat, poultry, fish, fruits and vegetables 

unpackaged or packaged in translucent containers; pre-packaged food products for retail sale weighing less than 1.05 ounces; and food 

products intended for sale outside of Massachusetts (105 CMR 500.006(B)(9)). 
9
 Food service facilities, hospitals, schools, institutions, and place where milk is consumed on the premises can serve Grade A Milk for no 

more than four days past the sell-by-date (COMAR 10.15.06.11). 
10

 105 CMR 500.006(B)(5). 

https://www.regulations.gov/contentStreamer?documentId=FSIS-2016-0044-0001&contentType=pdf
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indicating the product is for sale after the recommended sale or use by date. 11, 12 Vermont’s food label 

regulations incorporate food safety provisions, requiring ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food to be labeled 

with a date that is at least seven calendar days from the preparation date or its removal from refrigeration of at 

least at 41˚F. 13,14 If the food is not consumed or sold within this seven day period, it must be disposed of.15  

 

Liability Protection for Food Donation 

 

The Bill Emerson Good Samaritan Food Donation Act (the Emerson Act) serves as a federal baseline by providing 

liability protection to donors and nonprofit recipients of donated food where the food is distributed by a non-

profit at no cost to needy populations and the donor or nonprofit distributor did not act with gross negligence or 

intentional misconduct. 16 The Emerson Act also protects a person who allows the gleaning of donations on the 

person’s property from civil or criminal liability that arises due to the injury or death of the gleaner, where the 

donations are distributed to needy populations and the person did not act with gross negligence or intentional 

misconduct.17 The Harvard Food Law and Policy Clinic has examined the limitations of the Emerson Act and ways 

in which state laws may provide stronger liability protections.18  The Emerson Act does not provide liability 

protection for food donations that are distributed at a nominal fee to recipients or that are distributed directly 

to recipients without passing through a nonprofit. The donated food must comply with quality and labeling 

standards, even where those standards are not safety-related, and the Emerson Act does not explicitly protect 

food that is past the date on the label but is still safe for human consumption. The Emerson Act addresses only 

food donated for human consumption, not food used for animal feed. 

 

Table 2. State Liability Protection Laws 

State Law Citation 

Liability 

Protection  
Distributors Covered Nominal Fee 

Permitted 

Past Shelf 

Date Covered 
Civil Criminal Non-Profit Direct 

CA Cal. Civ. Code § 1714.25 X  X X  X 

CT 
Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 52-557L-K; 

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 26-78a 
X X X  X  

MA 
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. Ch. 94, § 

328
19

; 105 CMR 500.006(B)(4) 
X  X  X X 

MD 

Md. Code Ann. Cts. & Jud. Proc. § 5-

634; Md. Code Ann. Health—Gen. § 

21-322 

X  X    

                                                           
11

 The Emerson Act defines “apparently wholesome” as food that meets all quality and labeling standards imposed by Federal, State, and 
local laws and regulations even though the food may not be readily marketable due to appearance, age, freshness, grade, size, surplus, or 
other conditions (42 U.S. Code § 1791(b)(2)) 
12

 105 CMR 500.006(B)(4). 
13

 Ready to eat food means food that is edible without washing, cooking, or additional preparation can be consumed in this form (12-5 Vt. 
Code R. § 30.13). 
14

 Potentially hazardous food means food that requires temperature control to prevent the growth of infectious or toxigenic bacteria (12-
5 Vt. Code R. § 30:5-203). 
15

 12-5 Vt. Code R. § 30:5-205. 
16

 42 USC § 1791. 
17

 Id. 
18

 Harvard Food Law and Policy Clinic, Keeping Food Out of the Landfill: Policy Ideas for States and Localities, p. 6. Oct. 2016. 
https://www.chlpi.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Food-Waste-Toolkit_Oct-2016_smaller.pdf  
19

 A non-profit organization’s liability protection is contingent on the organization ensuring the food establishment which donated the 
food is compliant with the permit and inspections requirements of the Department of Public Health and the local board of health. 

https://www.chlpi.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Food-Waste-Toolkit_Oct-2016_smaller.pdf
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RI 
R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 21-34-1—2; 

R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 21-33-3
20

 
X X X   

Prepacked 

baked goods 

VT VT. Stat. Ann. Tit. 12 §§ 5761-5762
21

 X X X X   

 

Table 2 summarizes the food donation liability laws in selected states. The limitations of the Emerson Act can be 

addressed within provisions of states’ individual “Good Samaritan” food donation laws. For example, California 

and Vermont protect direct donation of food to needy people, without passing through a non-profit.22 

Specifically, California’s law protects direct donation by food facilities, and Vermont’s law protects donation by 

any “good-faith donor.” 23 Connecticut and Massachusetts both allow nonprofit organizations to distribute 

donated food at a fee while maintaining liability protection for the donor and nonprofit organization.  In 

Massachusetts, the fee must be “sufficient only to cover the cost of handling such food,” and in Connecticut the 

fee must be “nominal.” 24 Massachusetts, which has stringent date labeling laws for food (see above), specifically 

allows for the donation of past-date food without losing liability protection, as long as that food meets other 

requirements related to wholesomeness, separation from other foods, and labeling.25  

 

Food Safety Standards for Food Donation 

 

The FDA Food Code establishes national food safety standards for food establishments; however, it is not 

codified into federal law.26 States can choose to adopt the FDA Food Code in its entirety or in part. 

Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont, California, and Rhode Island have all adopted a version of the FDA Food 

Code; however, neither the FDA Food Code nor these states' food safety regulations provide comprehensive 

standards for safely handling food intended for donation. 27  The Comprehensive Resource for Food Recovery 

Programs,28 the sole federally recognized food donation guide for entities facilitating food recovery programs, is 

updated infrequently and does not incorporate the FDA Food Code. This may discourage state regulatory 

agencies from adopting provisions of the Comprehensive Resource for Food Recovery Programs into state food 

safety regulations.29  

Texas and Washington have adopted regulations that provide comprehensive food safety guidance for food 

establishments participating in food recovery programs. If more states enacted similar laws, food establishments 

may be incentivized to participate in food recovery programs. Summaries of Texas’ and Washington’s donated 

food safety regulations are provided below: 

                                                           
20

 Rhode Island authorizes the sale of pre-packed baked goods after the “past date” as long as (1) its separated from products that have 
not and (2) is labeled as being offered for sale “past date.” 
21

 Vermont does not extend liability protection for the donation of canned goods that are rusted, leaking, swollen or defective 
22

 Cal. Civ. Code § 1714.25(a). 
23

 VT. Stat. Ann. Tit. 12 §§ 5762(a). 
24

 Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. Ch. 94, § 328; Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 52-557I(a). 
25

 Id.; 105 CMR 500.006(B)(4). 
26

 The FDA Food Code webpage: https://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/RetailFoodProtection/FoodCode/.  
27

 Massachusetts adopted the 1999 FDA Food Code, Connecticut adopted the 2017 FDA Food Code; Vermont and California adopted the 
2001 FDA Food Code; and Rhode Island adopted the 2005 FDA Food Code. See full list the adoption of the FDA Food Code by each state 
at https://www.fda.gov/downloads/Food/GuidanceRegulation/RetailFoodProtection/FoodCode/ UCM577858.pdf.  
28

 Food Recovery Committee. Comprehensive Resource for Food Recovery Programs. Apr. 2016, The Conference for Food Protection. 
http://www.foodprotect.org/media/guide/comprehensive-resource-for-food-recovery-2016-version.pdf.  
29

 Harvard Law School Food Law and Policy Clinic and the Natural Resources Defense Council. Don’t Waste, Donate: Enhancing Food 
Donations Through Federal Policy. Mar. 2017, https://www.nrdc.org/sites/default/files/dont-waste-donate-report.pdf. 

https://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/RetailFoodProtection/FoodCode/
https://www.fda.gov/downloads/Food/GuidanceRegulation/RetailFoodProtection/FoodCode/%20UCM577858.pdf
http://www.foodprotect.org/media/guide/comprehensive-resource-for-food-recovery-2016-version.pdf
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 Texas establishes requirements for properly handling, transporting, and storing potentially hazardous 

food for distribution through a charitable organization or directly to a recipient.30 In addition, it outlines 

the food products that are not permitted for donation, which include, for example, foods previously 

served to customers, heavily rim- or seam-dented canned goods, packaged foods without the 

manufacturer's complete labeling, and foods that have been subject to extreme temperature or 

weather. 

 Washington provides comprehensive donated food safety requirements for operating a food recovery 

program.31 It exempts donated food distribution organizations from requirements of a food 

establishment permit and certain food service regulations if (1) the food is donated to food insecure 

populations; and (2) potentially hazardous food prepared on-site is distributed within eight hours. It 

also: 

o Establishes standard operating procedures and equipment requirements for donated food 

distribution organizations to ensure food safety; 

o Lists the food products a donated food distribution organization may and may not receive, and 

requires all food products received to be inspected for quality and safety; 

o Allows alternative labeling of packaged foods; and 

o Requires record keeping of certain received donated foods for at least 30 days and annual 

reporting to the local board of health. 

 

Animal Feeding Policies 

 

Certain types of food residuals that cannot be used to feed hungry people may be used to feed animals, such as 

brewery grains; peels, hulls, pulp and other produce residuals; and human food products that are safe but not 

marketable for various reasons. A human food facility may provide food residuals directly to an animal producer 

for feeding or to an animal feed production facility for further processing. Or, a human food facility may process 

food into animal feed on site. 

 

Federal and state laws govern the use of food residuals as animal feed with an emphasis on preventing the 

spread of diseases. The majority of state laws incorporate the animal feed requirements mandated in federal 

laws, including the following:  

 Animal feed may not be adulterated or handled in unsanitary conditions nor may food labels be false or 

misleading, pursuant to the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FD&C Act);32  

 “Garbage” must be heat-treated (212˚F for 30 minutes) by a licensed facility before being fed to swine, 

pursuant to the Swine Health Protection Act; and 33, 34 

 Food residuals containing animal tissue may not be used as feed for ruminant animals, pursuant to the 

Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathy/Ruminant Feed Ban Rule.35  

 

Table 3 summarizes state laws related to feeding food residuals to animals.  

                                                           
30

 25 Tex. Admin. Code § 228.83. 
31

 Wash. Admin. Code § 246-215-09400 et seq. 
32

 21 USC §§ 342 – 343.  
33

 9 CFR § 166. 
34

 Federal law defines “garbage” as all waste material derived in whole or in part from the meat of any animal and other refuse of any 
character that has come into contact with the meat of an animal due to handling, preparation or consumption. This definition excludes 
meat containing food waste from a household that is fed to swine only for that household’s use (9 C.F.R. § 166.1). 
35

 21 CFR § 589.2001. 
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Table 3. State Laws Governing Use of Food Residuals for Animal Feed36 

Citation 
Animal 

Covered 

License  

To Feed 
Treatment Requirements 

Covered Food 

Scrap Types 

California 

Cal. Food & Agric. Code §§ 10901–90 Swine Required Boil 212˚F/30 min Untreated garbage 

Cal. Food & Agric. Code § 34006 
 

Farm Livestock 
 

No 
 

Boil 145˚F/30 mins or 185˚F 
 

Unpasteurized milk 

Connecticut 

Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 22-320a–g Swine Required Boil 212˚F/30 min Untreated garbage 

Maryland     

Md. Code Ann., Agric. § 3-404
37

 Swine Required Heat-treated Garbage 

Massachusetts 

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 270, § 9 All ruminants No None Animal Tissue 

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 129, § 14B Swine Required Boil 212˚F/30 min Untreated garbage 

Rhode Island 

R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 4-3-1–11 Swine Required Boil 212˚F/30 min Garbage 

Vermont 

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 6, §§ 1671–77 Swine No None Garbage 

 

In addition to these laws, animal food production facilities must comply with the FDA’s Food Safety 
Modernization Act (FSMA) Preventive Controls rule for animal food.38 The FSMA Preventive Controls rule for 
animal food applies to facilities registered under the FD&C Act to manufacture, process, pack, or hold animal 
food.39 It does not apply to farms, retail food establishments, restaurants, non-profits producing or serving food 
directly to consumers, and non-processing fishing vessels.40, 41 In general, the FSMA Preventive Controls rule 
requires animal food facilities to implement the following food safety controls: Current Good Manufacturing 
Practices (CGMPs); (2) Hazard Analysis and Risk-based Preventive Controls (HARPC); and if applicable, a Supply 
Chain Program.42 A human food facility that uses human food by-products for animal feed is subject only to basic 
CGMPs related to holding and distribution if it already complies with CGMPs and other safety requirements for 
human food under the FD&C Act, and does not further process (e.g. cook, pelletize) the by-products for use as 
animal feed. Modified requirements exist for very small businesses. 
 
 
 
 

                                                           
36

 All state swine feeding laws exempt households from garbage treating licenses and authorize the feeding of untreated household 
garbage to swine on that household’s premises. 
37

 Maryland law does not specify the temperature or duration the garbage must undergo heat-treatment. The law requires the garbage 
be heat-treated until it is a uniform consistency containing no more than one percent moisture and is determined to be non-putrescible; 
the resultant product is considered commercial animal feed, not garbage.  
38

 21 CFR § 507. 
39

 21 USC § 350d.  
40

 21 CFR 507.5(a). 21 CFR § 1.226 lists the facilities exempt from registration under section 350d of the FD&C Act; these facilities are also 
exempt from the FSMA Preventive Control rule for animal food. 
41

 Processing fishing vessels are required to develop and implement Preventative Controls rule for human food’s CGMPs and HARCPs for 
their operations (21 CFR 123). 
42

 Leftovers for Livestock: A Legal Guide for Using Excess Food as Animal Feed, by Harvard Law School Food Law and Policy Clinic and the 
Food Recovery Project at the University of Arkansas, provides a comprehensive guide of federal and state animal feeding laws. The full 
report can be accessed at https://www.chlpi.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Leftovers-for-Livestock_A-Legal-Guide_August-2016.pdf 
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ORGANIC MATERIALS DISPOSAL BANS  
 

 

 

Overview of Bans and Recycling Mandates 

 
Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont, California, and Rhode Island have enacted laws that ban disposal or 
require diversion of food residuals. All these states except Rhode Island have also passed laws that ban disposal 
of yard trimmings. California’s law requires commercial businesses that generate a specific tonnage of organic 
material to arrange for recycling services for those materials. The other four states prohibit covered generators 
of organic materials from disposing of those materials and/or require covered generators to divert those 
materials from disposal. Generators are subject to the laws if they generate greater than a threshold quantity of 
organic materials; some states also apply a threshold distance from an available composting or anaerobic 
digestion facility with capacity. See Table 4 for a summary of the laws in selected states.  
 

Table 4. State Organic Waste Bans and Mandatory Recycling Laws  

Citation 
Waste Covered 

Generation Threshold 
Generators Covered Distance 

Exemption Food  Yard  Residential ICI  Gov’t 

California         

Cal. Pub. Res. Code §§ 42649.81 - 
42649.82 (2014)

43
 

X X 
2016 
2017 
2020 

8 yd
3
/week 

4 yd
3
/week 

2 yd
3
/week

44
 

 X  None 

Connecticut         

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 22a-208v (1993)  X 1998 None X X X None 

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §22a-226e (2013) X  
2014 
2020 

104 tons/year 
52 tons/year 

 X  20 miles 

Maryland         

Md. Code Ann., Envir., §9-1724 (1992)
45

  X 1992 None X X X None 

Massachusetts         

310 CMR 19.017
46

 
 

X 
X 1991 

2014 
None 
1 ton/week 

 X X None 

Rhode Island         

R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 23-18.9-17 (2014)   X 
 2016 104 tons/year  

X 
 

15 miles
47

 
 2018 52 tons/year   

Vermont         

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 10, § 6621a (2012)  X 2016 None X X X None 

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 10, § 6605k (2012) X  

2014 
2015 
2016 
2017 
2020 

104 tons/year 
52 tons/year 
26 tons/year 
18 tons/year 
None 

X X X None 

 

                                                           
43

 Rural counties may adopt a resolution exempting the county from the mandatory recycling requirements. 
44

 If by 2020 the statewide organic waste disposal rate has not been reduced to 50% of the 2014 levels, covered generators reaching two 
cubic yards (yd

3
) threshold will be required recycle organic material. 

45
 The ban only applies to the disposal of source separate yard trimmings.  

46
 A temporary disposal of restricted organic materials may be permitted if (1) the material is not acceptable for recycling or composting; 

and (2) or if a recycling facility is unable to accept material. 
47

 A waiver may be granted if a composting or anaerobic digestion facility tipping fee is greater than landfill or incinerator facility fee.  

The entire “Organic Material Disposal Bans” section contains updated and new information. 
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Vermont’s Universal Recycling Law is the most extensive of the organics disposal bans, requiring all generators 
to comply with the disposal bans for yard trimmings and food residuals by 2016 and 2020, respectively. 48 The 
Vermont law incorporates several additional components, aside from the mandate on generators:    

 The law includes waste management hierarchy language, declaring that “it is the policy of the state that 
food residuals collected…shall be managed according to the following order of priority uses: (1) 
reduction of the amount generated at the source; (2) diversion for food consumption by humans; (3) 
diversion for agricultural use, including consumption by animals; (4) composting, land application, and 
digestion; and (5) energy recovery.”49 

 The 2012 version of the law instituted parallel collection of organic materials by solid waste haulers and 
drop-off centers.  Bother were required to offer yard trimmings and food residual collection services. 
Drop-off centers and waste haulers were required to offer recycling services for yard trimmings by 2015 
and 2016 and to offer food residual recycling services by 2017 and 2018, respectively.50 Act 208 of 2018 
repealed the requirement for haulers to collect yard trimmings and provided that drop-off centers only 
have to collect yard trimmings between April 1st and December 15th. In addition, the requirement for 
haulers to offer food residual collection was delayed from July 1, 2018 to July 1, 2020.  

 
Also, a provision was added in 2018 that requires haulers that offer bag-drop or fast-trash at a fixed site to offer 
collection of yard trimmings and food residuals.51 The next section will discuss how these changes to the 
Universal Recycling Law may impact organics diversion in Vermont.  
 

Results of Organic Materials Ban 

 
The following section will summarize successes and challenges experienced by Massachusetts, Connecticut, 

Vermont, California, and Rhode Island in implementing their organic materials diversion laws.  

California  
The most recent data available from California is from calendar year 2016. The Mandatory Commercial Organics 
Recycling Law became effective for certain businesses beginning in April 2016, so data is not yet available to 
determine whether the law has had an impact on recycling rates. According to the 2017 State of Disposal in 
California and State of Recycling in California Report, in 2016 the State reported a recycling rate of 44 percent, 
which was the lowest rate since a 75% recycling goal was established in 2011.52 Calendar year 2016 marked the 
fourth consecutive year in which disposal rates have increased.  Also, the largest component of landfill 
alternative daily cover (ADC) was green material.53  
 
The California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery discussed in the 2017 report several challenges 
facing organics recovery.  California’s organic material processing infrastructure does not have enough capacity 
to process all the organic material generated, and the development of new composting facilities has stalled. The 
environmental value of compost use (improved soil health, etc.) has not been translated into monetary value, 
leading to a small market for compost. While the State has begun to monitor compliance with the commercial 
organics recycling requirement, the report noted that “there are few compliance tools in place to ensure that 

                                                           
48

 Act 148, Statues of 2012 - An act relating to establishing universal recycling of solid waste. 
49

 Sections 6605 and 6607a of the Conservation and Development Title require leaves and yard trimmings be managed according to the 
priorities established in subdivisions 6605k(a)(3)–(5). 
50

 Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 10, §§ 6605(j) and 6607a(g)(1).  
51

 Section 2 of Act 208, Statutes of 2018. 
52

 See the State of Disposal in California and State of Recycling in California Report at 
http://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/publications/Documents/1612/2017%20State%20of%20Recycling%20and%20Disposal%20Report_01612.p
df. 
53

 Starting in 2020, using green materials as ADC will count as disposal under the 75 percent recycling 2011 law. 
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businesses recycle organic waste.”54 Further, the report stressed that improved infrastructure will be key to 
implementing the new law and cited the State’s Organics Grant Program as one effort to address this 
challenge.55 
 
Connecticut 
The Commercial Organics Recycling Law went into effect in 2014, and the food residuals generation threshold 

decreased in 2016, subjecting additional generators to the law. According to the State-wide Solid Waste 

Composition and Characterization Stud[ies] (the “study”) of 2010 and 2015, organic materials accounted for an 

estimated 26.7 percent in 2009 and 33.4 percent in 2015 of MSW (both residential and ICI) disposed.56 When 

comparing the change in MSW composition between 2009 and 2015, the tons of yard trimmings disposed 

decreased by an estimated 79,000 tons; however, food residuals disposed increased by an estimated 198,000 

tons (see Table 5).57 The increase in food residuals may be due to the challenges related to (1) collecting source-

separated food residuals; and/or (2) separating disposed food residuals from other refuse in order to be use as 

feedstock at an organic materials processing facility. In fact, an estimated 12.4 percent of the approximate 

520,000 tons of food discarded in 2015 was packaged, which would require pre-processing and may prevent its 

recovery for composting or anaerobic digestion.  

Table 5: Composition of Organic Materials in the Connecticut MSW* Stream 58 

  CY 2009  CY 2015  

Organic Waste Type Est. % Disposed Est. Tonnage Est. % Disposed Est. Tonnage 

Yard Waste** 9.4% 223,958 6.2% 145,367 

Food Waste 13.5% 321,481 22.3% 519,832 

  * MSW Stream includes both residential and ICI generated waste.  
** Yard waste includes leaves and grass, and prunings and trimmings. 

The 2015 study also included waste sampling at two material recovery facilities, which revealed that an 

estimated one percent of residential single-stream recyclables consisted of food residuals (including sorted 

bagged waste). The 2015 study does not include tonnages of food residuals received by material recovery 

facilities and cannot be compared to the more than 4,600 tons of food residuals diverted in 2017.59 The 

Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) informed the Department that one 

broader challenge it faces in evaluating the impact of the food residuals disposal ban is tracking activities of food 

                                                           
54

 State of Disposal in California and State of Recycling in California Report, p. 19 at 
http://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/publications/Documents/1612/2017%20State%20of%20Recycling%20and%20Disposal%20Report_01612.p
df. 
55

 Id.  
56

 The 2015 Connecticut Statewide Solid Waste Composition and Characterization Study separated the categories of food waste (22.3%) 
and other organic waste (11.1%); these percentages are added together in the above discussion because they were not separated in the 
2010 Connecticut Statewide Solid Waste Composition and Characterization Study. Note, the 2010 study contains results from waste 
sorting that occurred in 2009 and were then applied to Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection 2009 MSW tonnage.  
57

 See Table 3-2 Comparison of Detailed MSW Composition from the 2015 Connecticut Statewide Solid Waste Composition and 
Characterization Study. Please note, change in the disposal of categories leaves & grass (-0.2%) and trimmings & prunnings (-2.9%) were 
added together. 
58

 See the Statewide Solid Waste Composition and Characterization Stud[ies] of 2010 and 2015 published on the Connecticut Department 
of Environmental Protection website at http://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?a=2718&q=439264&deepNav_GID=1639.  
59

 The CT Statewide Average Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) Statistics document, which reports the average recycling, disposal and 
generation rates per fiscal year has not been made publicly available since 2014. However, the Connecticut Department of Environmental 
Protection through email correspondences with the Department provided tonnages for food residuals diverted to the State’s four 
permitted composting and anaerobic digestion facilities.  

http://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?a=2718&q=439264&deepNav_GID=1639
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generators and food donation organizations. These generators or charitable organizations are not traditionally 

regulated by DEEP. Despite these challenges, DEEP believes that the increase in food scrap feedstocks led to the 

construction of one operating anaerobic digestion facility, and one composting facility has begun processing 

food residuals. Another three anaerobic digestion facilities have received DEEP authorization ; however, 

construction has yet to begin due to delays in finalizing power purchase agreements with utilities needed to 

secure financing. 

Massachusetts 
Since Massachusetts amended its solid waste disposal regulations to include a ban on disposing commercial 

food residuals in 2014, it has seen a growth in the in-state organics recovery industry.60, 61 When comparing the 

2014 and the 2017 Municipal Solid Waste & Recycling Survey responses, 15 percent of reporting municipalities 

offered food residuals recycling services in 2017 versus only nine percent in 2014.62 In addition, municipalities 

enforcing mandatory recycling on a local level increased from 33 percent in 2014 to 49 percent in 2017.63 

Although 2,081 tons more of food residuals was composted in 2017, the tonnage of yard trimmings composted 

decreased by 92,789 tons from the levels reported in 2014.  

Commissioned by the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (MassDEP), consultant firm ICF 
analyzed the impact the Commercial Food Waste Disposal Ban on the organics recovery industry. 64  The study 
found that the Commercial Food Waste Disposal Ban further encouraged the cultural trend within the 
Commonwealth, which started in the 1990s, of residences and businesses adopting organic material diversion 
practices. Some other highlights from the report are as follows: 65 

 In 2016, the organics recovery industry added approximately $77 million to the gross state product and 
generated approximately $175 million in economic activity. 

 Food rescue organizations, organic material haulers, and organic materials processing facilities 
experienced a 150 percent increase in the number of employees from 2010 to 2015.66  

 Organic material haulers and processing facilities managed six and eight times more food residuals, 
respectively, in 2015 when compared to 2010.67 

 Some organic materials haulers and processors interviewees indicated their customer base has 
remained mostly consistent with pre-2014 levels but fluctuates as a result of pilot and short-term grant 
programs aimed at increasing food waste diversion. 

 Food residuals processors and haulers are concerned with the availability of composting sites that have 
capacity to process high volumes of material at a low cost, as well are located nearby generators. 

 Although food rescue organizations report an increase in food establishments willing to donate food, 
the solid waste regulations weighing the donation and recycling of food equally exacerbates the issue of 
large generators’ preference for composting food residuals.68 

                                                           
60

 310 CMR 19.017 
61

 See ICF Inc. (2016, December). Massachusetts Commercial Food Waste Ban Economic Impact Analysis. 
https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2016/12/nx/orgecon-study.pdf.  
62

 In both 2014 and 2017, three fourths of Massachusetts municipalities participated in MassDEP’s Solid Waste and Recovery Surveys. The 
excel sheets summarizing the annual Solid Waste and Recovery Surveys can be accessed on the “Recycling & Solid Waste Data for 
Massachusetts Cities & Towns” webpage at https://www.mass.gov/lists/recycling-solid-waste-data-for-massachusetts-cities-towns. 
63

 Generators, haulers, and waste processors are regulated under the ban; however, Massachusetts municipalities can enact local laws 
and recycling programs to encourage compliance with state-wide commercial food waste ban. 
64

 Ibid.  
65

 Ibid. 
66

 See “Figure 2. Average Number of Employees per Business” of the Massachusetts Commercial Food Waste Ban Economic Impact 
Analysis. 
67

 Haulers and processors managed fewer than 33,000 tons in 2010 and more than 200,000 tons in 2015. Note, these tonnages only 
reflect information collected from survey respondents. See “Figure 5. Average Annual Tonnage of Food Received by Industry Segment, 
2010-2016 per Business” of the Massachusetts Commercial Food Waste Ban Economic Impact Analysis. 
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Rhode Island 
Rhode Island’s statute requires all collected municipal refuse and recyclables be delivered to the Rhode Island 
Resource Recovery Corporation (RIRRC) solid waste acceptance facility.69 Before the Commercial Food Waste 
Disposal Ban’s 2016 effective date, the 2015 Rhode Island Solid Waste Characterization Study revealed that 
vegetative food waste, at 17.1 percent, was the largest component of organic material received at the RIRRC 
landfill.70 The RIRRC publishes an annual “Municipal Summary” that reports each municipalities recycling and 
diversion rates. The “2017 Municipal Summary” reveals the tonnage of leaf and yard waste composted peaked 
in 2015 (67,284 tons) and decreased by more than 4,000 tons as of 2017 (63,103 tons).71   

 
It is difficult to empirically assess the impact of the Commercial Food Waste Disposal Ban in Rhode Island. The 
annual RIRRC “Municipal Summary” composted material tonnage reported and calculated mandatory recycling 
rate does not include commercially generated food residuals composted as a result of the ban. The Rhode Island 
Code of Regulations (RICR) lists leaf and yard waste as the only “mandatory” organic material that must be 
diverted under a municipal and business recycling program; the mandatory recycling rate incorporates the 
tonnage of RICR “mandatory recyclables” diverted from disposal.72  Also, Rhode Island businesses are no longer 
required to submit an “Annual Recycling Report” to the Rhode Island Department of Environmental 
Management (RIDEM) as of 2016.73  
 
Nonetheless, the RIDEM believes without the certainty of organic feedstock diverted under disposal ban the 
State’s first commercial anaerobic digester would not have been constructed.74 As of 2017, a commercial scale 
composting facility and animal feeding operation have begun to process food residuals.75  However, the RIDEM 
expressed that the interest of commercial generators to recycle their food residuals exceeds the current organic 
material processing infrastructure capacity.  
 
Vermont 
Overall, the Universal Recycling Law has increased organic material diversion since its enactment in 2012. The 
2016 Diversion and Disposal Report notes the following changes in Vermont’s organic material diversion:76 

 The diversion rate was higher than the average diversion rate over the last 17 years. Vermont diverted a 
total of 44,383 tons of organic materials, which included 32,788 tons of material composted at 
households and 11,595 material processed at organic recycling facilities;77 

 Nine composting facilities were certified to process food residuals and/or yard trimmings; and 

 The Vermont Food Bank reported that 3,658 tons of food diverted was through food donation. 

                                                                                                                                                                                                         
68

 Food rescue organizations explained that generators prefer composting food residuals because handling procedures do not involve 
food safety provisions and can allow for centralized waste management at all a generator’s location. 
69

 R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. §§ 23-18.9-1 and 23-19-4.  
70

 See RI Statewide Solid Waste Composition and Characterization Study 2015 at https://www.rirrc.org/sites/default/files/2017-
02/Waste%20Characterization%20Study%202015.pdf.  
71

 See the “2017 Municipal Summary” at http://www.rirrc.org/sites/default/files/2018-
03/2017%20Municipal%20Summary%20Detailed%20with%20Charts%2020180330_0.pdf. 
72

 250-RICR-140-20-1.6 and 250-RICR-140-20-2.15.  
73

 According to the RIDEM “Annual Recycling Report” webpage commercial business are no longer required to submit a recycling survey 
as RIDEM plans to remove this requirement in revised commercial regulations. See http://www.ri.gov/DEM/recycling. 
74

 The Orbit Energy commercial anaerobic digestion facility is designed to accept up to 250 tons of food residuals daily. See Faulkner, T. 
(2017, May 8). R.I.'s First Digester Expected to Take Food Scrap in June. https://www.ecori.org/composting/2017/5/8/food-digester-
taking-scrap-in-june. 
75

 See “Rhode Island Wasted Food Stakeholder Engagement and Initial Findings” 2017 report by the Center for EcoTechnology at 
https://wastedfood.cetonline.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/AssessmentRI_112117_nomarks_nospread.pdf. 
76

 See the 2016 Diversion and Disposal Report: A summary of solid waste management in the State of Vermont at 
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/wmp/SolidWaste/Documents/2016-Diversion-and-Disposal-Report.pdf. 
77

 The overall solid waste diversion rate was 36 percent and the overall disposal rate was 64 percent, which was the lowest rate achieved 
in Vermont since the late 1990s. 

https://www.rirrc.org/sites/default/files/2017-02/Waste%20Characterization%20Study%202015.pdf
https://www.rirrc.org/sites/default/files/2017-02/Waste%20Characterization%20Study%202015.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/wmp/SolidWaste/Documents/2016-Diversion-and-Disposal-Report.pdf
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The 2018 amendments to the Universal Recycling Law temporarily eased the requirements on haulers and 
collection facilities. Haulers have more time to implement a food residuals collection program, while the repeal 
of the requirement to collect yard trimmings may increase their available capacity to collect food residuals. Also, 
the added requirement for haulers to offer food residuals and yard trimming collection at their fast trash or bag-
drop site may encourage residents not serviced by a curbside collection program to comply with the organic 
waste ban.  

PROMOTING RECYCLING INFRASTRUCTURE 
 
The following sections discuss how Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont, California, and Rhode Island have 
addressed regulatory and technical barriers to organics recycling infrastructure development. 

 
Updating Composting and Anaerobic Digestion Regulations 
 
Like Maryland did in 2015, many states have updated their regulations in recent years to more clearly address 
composting facilities, distinguish those facilities from solid waste facilities, allow for composting of additional 
materials, and craft permit exemptions or general permits for facilities considered to pose less risk of 
environmental impact.78 Some states have extended this process by amending their regulations to address 
anaerobic digestion and other technologies that recycle organics. The following are examples from California, 
Connecticut, and Massachusetts.  
 
California- In-Vessel Digestion Regulations   
California adopted significant updates to its compostable materials handling regulations in 2015. As part of that 
effort, it enacted regulations governing in-vessel digestion, which includes both anaerobic and aerobic 
digestion.79 In addition to basic operational requirements, the regulations establish permitting tiers for different 
types of in-vessel digestion facilities, summarized in Table 5. 
 

Table 7: California’s In-Vessel Digestion Permitting Tiers 
 

Permitting Tier Facility Types 

Excluded (not 
regulated) 

1. Co-digestion at a POTW. Co-digestion of kitchen grease and food material with wastewater at a 
publicly owned treatment works (POTW); the POTW permit must address acceptance of the 
additional materials. 

2. Agricultural Site. On-site digestion of material derived from an agricultural site, if no more than 
1,000 cubic yards of composted digestate is given away or sold annually off-site. 

3. Co-digestion at a dairy.  Co-digestion of manure with agricultural material derived on- or off-site, 
and/or imported vegetative food material in accordance with a water permit. No more than 1,000 
cubic yards of composted digestate may be given away or sold annually off-site. 

4. Small volume. In-vessel digestion activities with less than 100 cubic yards of solid waste, 
feedstock, and digestate on-site. 

Notification 1. Research operations. Must submit results of research for review every two years. 

2. Co-digestion at a dairy. Accepts imported solid waste feedstock and agricultural materials for co-
digestion with manure, in accordance with a water permit. 

                                                           
78

See U.S. Composting Council, State Compost Regulations, https://compostingcouncil.org/state-compost-regulations-map/  
79

 14 CCR §17896.2 et seq. 
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3. Distribution center digester. Accepts unsold products from retail stores to which the products 
were originally sent. All unsold products must be collected and processed in covered, leak-proof 
containers, and if putrescible must be refrigerated at the store and kept cool during transport. 

4. Limited volume. Receives less than an average of 15 tons of solid waste per day and not to exceed 
105 tons per week. 

Registration
80

  1. Medium volume. Receives on average between 15 and100 tons of solid waste per day, not to 
exceed 700 tons per week. 

Full Permit 1. Large volume. Receives on average greater than 100 tons of solid waste per day or greater than 
700 tons per week. 

 
Connecticut - Separate Definition and Elimination of the Determination of Need for Waste Conversion 
Facilities  
 
 
In 2017, Connecticut legislation distinguished waste conversion facilities from resources recovery facilities.81 
Resources recovery facilities combust municipal solid waste (MSW) for electricity, while waste conversion 
facilities do not combust MSW, but use thermal, chemical or biological processes to convert solid waste into 
electricity, fuel, gas, chemical or other products. Waste conversion facilities include anaerobic digestion and 
MSW composting facilities. In contrast to a resources recovery facility, a waste conversion facility does not 
require the Commissioner to issue a determination of need as part of the permitting process.  The 

determination of need is a determination that the facility is necessary to meet the solid waste disposal needs 
of the state and will not result in substantial excess capacity; it involves an additional public comment 
period. Since the enactment of this law, DEEP has not received any waste conversion facility permit 
applications; therefore, DEEP is unable to evaluate if these changes have reduced the regulatory burden of 
proposed composting or anaerobic digestion facilities.  
 
Massachusetts - Site Assignment Regulations for Solid Waste Facilities  
Massachusetts amended its regulations in 2012, excluding a broad variety of recycling facilities from the site 
assignment requirement, 82 which is a determination by the Board of Health that designates an area of land as 
suitable for use as a solid waste facility.83 The amended regulations also established specific permitting 
requirements for recycling, composting, and aerobic and anaerobic digestion.  Handling of organic materials on 
farms is not subject to permits as long as it complies with guidelines and requirements of the Department of 
Agricultural Resources.84 Small-scale anaerobic digestion operations that receive no more than 100 tons per day 
of organic materials, based on a 30-day rolling average, require a general permit. The general permit 
requirements for composting and anaerobic digestion facilities are similar and consist mainly of performance 
standards to prevent odors, harborage of vectors, and water pollution. Residuals may not be greater than 5 
percent by weight of the materials received during any quarter. Anaerobic digestion facilities receiving more 
than 15 tons per day of nitrogen-rich material from off-site must have those materials delivered via sealed tank 

                                                           
80

 The registration tier is a less extensive version of the full permit, which requires submission of basic information about the facility. The 
agency reviews the information within 30 days and issues or denies the registration permit. Registration permits are issued by local 
enforcement agencies, while the full permit is issued by the State agency. 
81

 Public Act No. 17-218 of 2017. 
82

 310 CMR 16.03c. 
83

 310 CMR 19.006. 
84

 The Agricultural Composting Program is regulated under 330 CMR 25.00. 

Information within this subsection was updated. 
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or vessel and transferred to the digester using a direct connection (e.g. hose) technology.85 Facilities that do not 
qualify for the general permit are required to obtain a more extensive, individual permit for composting or 
“conversion” (which includes aerobic or anaerobic digestion or other enzymatic, thermal or chemical 
degradation of organic materials). The individual permit requires submission of detailed information, which is 
reviewed for additional criteria, such as whether there is a market for the compost or converted product.86 
 

Rhode Island – Organic Waste Recycling Facility Regulations 

 

 

In response to the Commercial Food Waste Disposal Ban becoming effective, the RIDEM amended its organic 

waste recycling facilities regulations in 2016. Both small-scale and medium-scale composting operations are 

largely exempt from the provisions of Solid Waste Regulation Number 1 (General Requirements).These 

operations must still comply with (1) all zoning and other local laws; (2) RIDEM’s right to inspect a facility; and 

(3) penalties for non-compliance with applicable solid waste regulations.87 Small-scale composting operations 

are not required to be registered with RIDEM. 88 Medium-scale composting operations must register with RIDEM 

using a one-time “Registration Form for Medium-Scale Composting Facility” and renew their registration every 

three years.89 The Solid Waste Regulation Number 8 (R.I. Waste Composting Facility) provides detailed operation 

and infrastructure requirements for small to large-scale composting operations. In addition, Regulation 8 

includes Rhode Island’s first provisions for the licensure and operation of anaerobic digestion facilities.90 

 

The RIDEM collaborated with the Rhode Island Food Policy Council to update Regulations Number 1 and 

Number 8; these amended regulations encourage the development of local community and small business 

based composting infrastructure.91, 92  Also, Regulation Number 1 allows a municipality with approval from 

RIDEM to conduct a limited demonstration pilot project prior to applying for an organic waste recycling facility 

license. Pilot projects may be conducted for up to six months and can process no more than 50 tons of organic 

material per day.93 This will allow communities to test technologies and methodologies prior to making large 

investments in organic material recycling infrastructure.  

 

Dairy Farm Biogas Programs 
 
Anaerobic digestion projects located on animal farms are of increasing interest to state legislators. These 
operations promote the diversion of agricultural by-products and provide a profitable alternative for manure 
management. California and Vermont have enacted legislation to encourage development of dairy farm 
anaerobic digestion projects. 

                                                           
85

 A summary of permit requirements are provided on the “Instructions: General Permit Certification for New or Newly Acquired 
Recycling, Composting & Aerobic or Anaerobic Digestion Operations pursuant to 310 CMR 16.04” document at 
http://www.mass.gov/eea/docs/dep/recycle/approvals/swgpinst.pdf. 
86

 310 CMR 16.05. 
87

 250-RICR-140-05-1.5, 1.6.08(a) and (d), 1.6.09, and 1.6.10.   
88

 250-RICR-140-05-1.6.  
89

 250-RICR-140-05-1.6 and 250-RICR-140-05-8.D. 
90

 250-RICR-140-05-8. 
91

 The Rhode Island Food Policy Council, launched by the State House in 2011, consist of a diverse group of Rhode Island food system 
stakeholder. The council’s mission is to promote a sustainable and equitable Rhode Island food system through the creation of 
partnerships and policies. Learn more on the Rhode Island Food Policy Council website at: http://rifoodcouncil.org/. 
92

 See the 2016 “Rhode Island announces rules for composting facilities” report in the Waste Dive newsletter at 
https://www.wastedive.com/news/rhode-island-announces-new-rules-for-composting-facilities/419839/.  
93

 250-RICR-140-05-1.6.11. 

This subsection was added to “Updating Composting and Anaerobic Digestion Regulations.” 
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California’s Dairy Biomethane Pilot Projects 
Senate Bill 1383 of 2016 established a statewide goal for the reduction of short-lived climate pollutants, 
including a 40% reduction of methane emissions below 2013 levels by 2030. 94, 95 To achieve this goal, the bill 
directs the California Public Utility Commission (CPUC) to require California utility companies to implement at 
least five dairy biomethane pilot projects to demonstrate interconnection to a common pipeline system.96 The 
pilot projects must use biomethane produced from California dairy farms and result in a measurable reduction 
in GHG emissions. In response to the bill, CPUC will issue a request for proposals in spring 2018.  
 
Vermont’s Cow Power Ombudsman Program 
In 2004, Vermont's legislature approved the implementation of the Cow Power program, which provides 
financial incentives and technical assistance to promote the development of anaerobic digestion projects on 
Vermont farms. Act 69, Statutes of 20 n mn03 requires Vermont utilities to implement renewable energy pricing 
programs that allow customers to voluntarily invest in renewable energy, currently $0.04 per kilowatt-hour 
(kWh). 97 These proceeds are deposited into a Renewable Energy Development Fund, administered by Green 
Mountain Power (GMP), and used to provide production incentives to farm digesters through financial and 
technical assistance.98 To achieve the goals of the Cow Power program, the Agricultural Anaerobic Digestion 
Ombudsman position was created in 2005. The ombudsman serves as a consultant to assist farmers in 
developing anaerobic digestion projects and provides subsequent technical support. Since 2005, the 

ombudsman has assisted in the development of 16 anaerobic digestion projects.99 

RECYCLING FINANCIAL INCENTIVES 
 

State Tax Incentives 
 
Tax incentives can be used to reduce the tax liability of organics generators or recyclers by providing credit for 
energy produced using organics, money spent on organics recycling equipment or infrastructure, value of 
donated food, or costs to transport donated food.100 The tax incentives summarized in Table 5 were enacted by 
states to support food donation, renewable energy, or organic material recycling infrastructure. 

 
Table 8:  State Tax Incentive Laws 

 

Citation Tax Incentive 
Tax 

Affected 
Provisions 

California 

Cal. Rev. & Tax. Code § 17053.88 Credit Income 
15% of the qualified value of fresh fruits or fresh 
vegetables donated by a farmer to a food bank until 2020. 

Cal. Rev. & Tax. Code § 17053.12 Credit Income 50% of the transportation costs incurred for the donation 

                                                           
94

 The Climate and Clean Air Coalition defines short-lived climate pollutants as contaminants with short lifetimes in the atmosphere, in 
comparison to longer-lived pollutant carbon dioxide (CO2), with a capacity to heat the atmosphere that is tens to thousands of times 
greater than CO2. This category of pollutants includes methane, hydrofluorocarbons, ground ozone, and black carbon. The Coalition’s 
short-lived climate pollutants webpage can be accessed at http://www.ccacoalition.org/en/science-resources.  
95

 Cal. Health & Safety Code, §39730.5(a). 
96

 Cal. Health & Safety Code, §39730.7(d). 
97

 Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 30, § 8003. 
98

 The Vermont Public Service Board Order Proposal for Decision to approve the Cow Power program can be accessed at 
http://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/orders/2004/6933fnl.pdf.   
99

 See EPA’s “Case Study: Overcoming Barriers in Vermont, Anaerobic Digestion Ombudsman at: 
 https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-02/documents/vt_ombudman_case_study_1_20_16.pdf. 
100

 See Sam, A., et al. How Incentives Affect the Adoption of Anaerobic Digesters in the United States.  
Sustainability 2017, 9(7), 1221.  http://www.mdpi.com/2071-1050/9/7/1221/html.  

http://www.ccacoalition.org/en/science-resources
http://puc.vermont.gov/sites/psbnew/files/orders/2004/6933fnl.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-02/documents/vt_ombudman_case_study_1_20_16.pdf
http://www.mdpi.com/2071-1050/9/7/1221/html
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of agricultural product to a non-profit charitable 
organization. 

Cal. Rev. & Tax. Code §§ 18851-55   Donation Income 
A taxpayer can donate a portion of their income tax 
refund to the Emergency Food for Families Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund. 

Connecticut 

Conn. Gen. State. § 12-81ff  Exemption Property 

Authorizes local governments to provide a property tax 
exemption for equipment for recycling installed after 
October 2013. The exemption applies to the increased 
value of the property the first fifteen assessment years 
after installation. 

Massachusetts 

Mass. Gen. Stat. ch. 64H, § 6(s) Exemption Sales 

Exempts purchase of machinery used for agricultural 
production and producing electricity delivered to 
consumers through mains, lines, or pipes from the 6.25% 
sales tax. 

Rhode Island 

R.I. Gen. Laws Ann § 44-3-3 Exemption Property 
Exempts qualifying renewable energy systems and 
associated equipment used in the residential and 
manufacturing sectors.

101
  

R.I. Gen Law §44-3-9 Stabilization Property 
Authorizes local governments to provide property tax 
stabilization agreements for renewable energy systems 
for up to 20 years. 

Vermont 

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741 Exemption Sales 

Exempts purchase of anaerobic digestion equipment, with 
a capacity of 500 kilowatts (kW) that is available for 
distribution on grid-tied systems and off-grid systems, 
from the 6% sales tax. 

 
State Government Financial Assistance 
 
New companies in the recycling industry may struggle to secure capital from conventional lenders due to (1) 
high capital cost of installing recycling technology and equipment, (2) uncertainty in feedstock supply levels and 
recyclable product prices, and (3) the lack of comparable recycling business to evaluate.102 For example, food 
product depackaging equipment, which can improve the ability to recover food residuals for animal feed or 
recycling, can cost between $250,000 and $500,000.103 This section provides examples of state grant and loan 
programs intended to increase the development of organic materials processing infrastructure. 
 
California - Recycling Market Development Zones 
The Recycling Market Development Zone (RMDZ) Program provides loans, technical assistance, and free product 
marketing to eligible businesses that (1) produce commodities from recycled materials normally disposed of in 
California landfills; (2) increase market demand from diverted recyclable materials; and (3) are located in within 
a RMDZ designated area, which consists of 88,000 square miles.104 The program provides loans with a 4.0% fixed 
interest rate on up to $2,000,000 or 75% of total project costs.  Businesses and nonprofits are eligible, and the 
loans may be used for machinery and equipment, working capital, real estate purchases and improvements, 
refinancing of excessive debt that result in increased diversion, and loan-closing points. According to the RMDZ 

                                                           
 
102

 Kirckpatrick, D. “Financing Recycling Ventures: There are increasing financial resources for recycling start-ups and expansions.” 
Recycling Today, Aug. 2001. http://www.recyclingtoday.com/article/financing-recycling-ventures/.  
103

 Spencer, Robert and Casella, Morgan. “Massachusetts Pioneers Food Waste Separators.” BioCycle. Jan. 2018 
https://www.biocycle.net/2018/01/11/massachusetts-pioneers-food-waste-separators/. 
104

 Cal. Pub. Res. Code §§ 42010 –24. 

http://www.recyclingtoday.com/article/financing-recycling-ventures/
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businesses location search tool, there are 68 RMDZ participating businesses in California utilizing organic 
material feedstock.105    
 
California - Greenhouse Gas Reduction Grant and Loan Programs  
These programs provide financial incentives for capital investments in infrastructure for composting, anaerobic 
digestion and recycling manufacturing facilities that will reduce greenhouse gas emissions and deliver economic 
benefits in disadvantaged and low-income communities.106 The programs include the following: 

 Food Waste Prevention and Rescue Grant Program: grants up to $500,000 for projects that prevent 
food waste generation at the source or recover food to be distributed to people, with any remaining 
food residuals sent to composting or digestion when available in the project service area. Businesses, 
nonprofits, and state and local government agencies are eligible. 

 Organics Grant Program: grants up to $3,000,000 for composting projects and $4,000,000 for anaerobic 
digestion projects, with $2,400,000 allocated for requested infrastructure costs and $600,000 delivered 
in performance payments. Eligible costs include construction, renovation, and expansion of facilities. Of 
the total composting grants awarded, $3,000,000 is reserved for projects serving rural communities. 
Businesses, nonprofits, and state and local government agencies are eligible. 

 Greenhouse Gas Reduction Loan Program: loans up to $2,000,000 or 75 percent of total project costs, 
whichever amount is less (with a 25% matching requirement). Eligible costs include purchase of 
equipment, real estate, and improvements to real property for facilities for digestion or composting of 
materials into soil amendments, biofuels, or bioenergy; pre-processing facilities; and food waste 
prevention projects. 
 

Connecticut - Green Bank Anaerobic Digestion Pilot Project Program 
Public Act 11-80 of 2011 established the Clean Energy Finance and Investment Authority, also known as the 
Connecticut Green Bank.107 The Green Bank is a quasi-public finance institution responsible for partnering with 
the private sector to leverage public and private funds to finance renewable energy and energy efficiency 
projects.108 The Green Bank administers the Anaerobic Digestion Pilot Project Program. Anaerobic digestion 
projects can be financed through loans, loan enhancements, power purchase agreements, or grants.109, 110 A 
total of $5,000,000 is allocated for the program, with funding per project not to exceed $450 per kW of energy 
generated over a 15 or 20-year term. Businesses, nonprofits, farms, and state and local governments are 
eligible. Eligible projects are anaerobic digestion projects with a generator a capacity of no more than three 
megawatts (MW) that are in the development phase and will distribute energy off-site. 
 
Connecticut - Recycle CT Foundation  
Public Act 14-94 of 2014 established the Recycle CT Foundation, Inc., (Foundation), a nonprofit state chartered 
foundation. The Foundation's purpose is to promote education programs that increase the public's participation 
in recycling and reuse activities.111  The Foundation administers the following programs. 

                                                           
105

 The Recycling Market Development Zones Business Search tool can be accessed at 
http://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/rmdz/Reports/Businesses/  
106

 Cal. Pub. Res. Code §§ 42995 – 99. A summary of the Greenhouse Gas Reduction and Loan Programs and links to each program’s 
webpage can be accessed at http://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/climate/grantsloans/.    
107

 Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 16-245n. 
108

 A description of the Green Bank role in financing renewable energy projects in Connecticut can be accessed at 
https://www.ctgreenbank.com/about-us/. 
109

 See the Clean Energy Finance and Investment Authority’s “Anaerobic Digestion Request for Proposals” at 
https://www.energizect.com/sites/default/files/uploads/V1%20S103_11-80%20AD%20Rolling%20Enroll%20%28final%206-14-
13%29.pdf.  
110

 The Anaerobic Digestion Pilot Project Program was expanded under PA 15-152 of 2015 for two additional years.  
111

 Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 22a-228a. See the RecycleCT Foundation webpage at http://www.recyclect.com/about-us.html.  
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 School Grant program112: provides grants of $500 - $1500 for projects that educate and encourage 

reduction, reuse, recycling, composting and/or anaerobic digestion activities. Eligible awardees include 

all Connecticut-based K-12 schools; however, preference will be given to registered CT Green LEAF 

Schools. 113 

 Innovation Grant Program114: provides grants of $2,500 - $10,000 per project for new and innovative 

programs, processes or demonstration projects related to sustainable materials management. Eligible 

awardees include non-profits, municipalities, higher education institutions, school districts, and public 

housing authorities. 

 
Massachusetts - Recycling Business Development Grants 
Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection provides grants to recycling processors and 
manufacturers who create sustainable markets and add value to municipal and business recycling efforts.115 
Grants range from $50,000 to $400,000 per project, with a required match of 25 percent. Eligible projects 
include processing, manufacturing, and reuse of eligible materials, such as processing source-separated 
contaminated food materials. Non-profit and for-profit organizations are eligible. 116 
 
Massachusetts - Sustainable Materials Recovery Program (SMRP) Municipal Grants 
The SMRP awards grants to local governments to conduct certain activities in order to improve local recycling, 
composting, reuse, and household hazardous waste diversion programs.117 Projects that expand capacity for 
food donation, composting or anaerobic digestion are eligible for grants of $10,000 to $250,000.118 
 
Massachusetts - Clean Energy Center (CEC) Commonwealth Organics to Energy Grants 
CEC, which administers the Massachusetts Renewable Energy Trust Fund consisting of surcharges on customers 
of electric utilities, provides grants of up to $500,000 for organics to energy implementation projects and up to 
$250,000 for organics to energy pilot projects.119 A cost-share of 25 percent applies to the design phase, and 50 
percent to the construction phase.  Commercial, industrial, institutional and public entities are eligible.120 
Previously funded projects include the construction of an anaerobic digestion facility to process food residuals at 
a Stop and Shop distribution center.121 
 
Rhode Island - Rhode Island Resource Recovery Corporation Municipality Grants 
When funds allow, the RIRRC may make funding available to finance municipal grants.122 Grant amounts of at 
least $5,000 are available for project-based grants and grants of at least $2,000 are available for training-based 

                                                           
112

 See the RecycleCT School Grant Application at http://www.recyclect.com/assets/downloads/SchoolGrantDraftApplication2017.pdf.  
113

 Connecticut Green LEAF Schools a statewide initiative in which participating schools to provide environmental and sustainability 
geared education to improve the health of students and staff, and the sustainable use of school resources.   
114

 See the RecycleCT “Application Guidelines for RecycleCT Innovation Grant” 
http://www.recyclect.com/assets/downloads/Innovation%20Grant%20Criteria%20and%20FAQ.pdf  
115

 Mass. Gen. Stat. ch. 25A § 11F(d); 310 CMR 19.303(2)b; and the Declaration of Trust. Article 2.1/ 
116

 See 2017 Recycling Business Development Grant Application at https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2017/11/06/rbdgap_3.pdf.  
117

 310 CMR 19.300. The grant program is funded by 50 percent of the revenue from Waste Energy Credits earned by municipal waste 
combustors. 
118

 Massachusetts DEP, Sustainable Materials Recovery Program Municipal Application - Grant Guidance 
https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2018/03/21/smrpguid.pdf 
119

 Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 23J, §9. 
120

 Massachusetts CEC, Commonwealth Organics-to-Energy Grants for Implementation Projects and Pilot Projects, Solicitation No. 2017-
COTE-IP5, http://files.masscec.com/Implementation%20-%20Read%20Me%20First%20Solicitation.pdf.  
121

 Massachusetts CEC, Stop & Shop, http://www.masscec.com/success-stories/stop-shop 
122

 R.I. Gen Law § 23-19-32. See the “Resource Recovery Grantmaking Policy” eligibility and application guidance document at 
http://www.rirrc.org/sites/default/files/2017-02/Grantmaking%20Policy%20%28PP%29%2020170208.pdf. Chapter 23-19 of the Rhode 
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grants, with a dollar for dollar match requirement. Municipalities may apply for grants for programs that 
promote waste diversion and recycling practices, initiate public-private partnership, focus on providing long-
range waste diversion solutions, and invest in professional development opportunities for employees. 
 
Vermont- Compost Heat Recovery Grants 
Act 74, Statutes of 2005 established the Vermont Clean Energy Development Fund, administered by the 
Vermont Public Service Department, to advance cost-effective and environmentally sustainable electric power 
resources in Vermont; specifically, renewable energy sources utilized in combined in heat and power 
technologies. 123  Eligible projects are compost heat recovery projects located on Vermont farms. Grants of 
$15,000 to $63,000 per project are available (with a total availability of $63,000), with a matching requirement 
of at least 60% of the cost of the heat recovery and heat distribution equipment. 
 
Renewable Energy Mandated Purchasing Agreements 
 
States have attempted to incentivize the development of the renewable energy industry by enacting renewable 
portfolio standards (RPS), policies that require a minimum portion of electricity purchased by utility companies 
to be from designated renewable sources. Utilities can enter into power purchase agreements with renewable 
energy generators to satisfy their RPS obligations. Power purchasing agreements incentivize utility-scale 
renewable energy projects  by providing stable and long-term revenue streams to generators, and low-cost 
energy sources and renewable energy credits for utility companies.124 This section discusses legislation that 
mandates power purchase agreements with anaerobic digestion facilities. 
 
Request for Information  
 
 
In June 2017, the Philadelphia Water Department (PWD) issued a food waste co-digestion Request for 
Information (RFI) to solicit business plans from vendors that can collect, preprocess, and transport food waste 
slurry to be digested at a city-owned treatment plant. This RFI will allow the City of Philadelphia to identify 
potential organic waste processors to manage the increased food residuals diverted under the 2015 update to 
the Philadelphia Code. The amended “Dumpster Code” bans all commercial businesses from disposing of food 
residuals in dumpsters; business must grind up non-packaged food residuals in the sink garbage disposal or 
arrange for organic waste recycling services.125 In total, PWD received 12 responses and three inquiries from 
food residuals pre-processing facilities. Most responses proposed providing PWD treatment plants with 
industrial and institutional food residuals, and scaling up their pre-processing activities by adding shifts or 
modules at their facilitates. Overall, the RFI confirmed that PWD’s business strategy for pre-processing food 
residuals is viable and has encouraged investment in Philadelphia’s organic recycling infrastructure.126 
 
 
 

                                                                                                                                                                                                         
Island General Laws created the RIRRC. The RIRRC is responsible for providing solid waste management and recycling services for Rhode 
Island.  
123

 Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 30, § 8015. See “Request for Proposals for Heat Recovery from Composting” 
http://www.trorc.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/RFP-for-Compost-Heat-Recovery-Grants-2018.pdf  
124

 See The National Conference of State Legislators “State Policies for Power Purchase Agreements” webpage at 
http://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/state-policies-for-purchase-agreements.aspx.  
125

 Section 10-722, Title 10 of the Philadelphia Code.  
126

 See the “draft SWRAC meeting minutes 9-28-17 final” from the City of Philadelphia Solid Waste and Recycling Advisory Committee 
(SWRAC) meeting at https://www.philadelphiastreets.com/images/uploads/documents/draft_SWRAC_meeting_minutes_9-28-
17_final.pdf. 

This subsection was added to “Renewable Energy Mandated Purchasing Agreements.” 
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Long-term contracts 
Connecticut, pursuant to Public Act 17-144 of 2017, issued a request for proposals to procure up to 899,250 
megawatt hours (MWh) per year of renewable energy, and associated renewable energy credits, from 
technologies such as anaerobic digestion for 20 year contracts.127, 128 A previous renewable energy solicitation in 
2016 resulted in the selection of only solar energy projects.129 The current 2018 solicitation excludes solar 
projects, and includes annual carve-out of 74,250 MWh per from fuel cells and anaerobic digestion.  
 
 
The New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA) purchases qualifying renewable 
energy credits from renewable resources that became operational on or after January 1, 2015 through fixed-
price long-term contracts pursuant to the Clean Energy Standard (formerly known as the Renewable Portfolio 
Standard).130 The Clean Energy Standard requires energy to be generated from at least 50% of any eligible Tier 1 
renewable energy source by 2030, including biogas. The Clean Energy Standard differs from some other RPS by 
not including generation carve-outs for each type of Tier 1 renewable energy source. 131, 132   
 
Feed-in Tariffs and Net Metering Programs 
Feed-in tariffs are performance based incentives that allow greater participation of renewable energy 
generators by providing price certainty, streamlining the contracting process, and allowing access to small scale 
renewable energy generators.133 Net metering systems allow residential and commercial renewable energy 
generators to sell surplus electricity back to a utility company, reducing their utility bills and distributing 
renewable energy to other customers. The adoption of aggregate net metering and virtual or community net 
metering has allowed non-profits, multi-dwelling housing, and municipalities unable to install renewable energy 
generating systems to benefit from the net metering systems.134  
 
The Vermont utility company GMP offers a feed-in tariff to farm biomethane generators through the Cow Power 
program, a renewable energy pricing program which allows customers to voluntarily invest in renewable energy, 
pursuant to Act 69, Statutes of 2003. 135 GMP rate payers can subscribe to the Cow Power program and make a 
voluntary $0.04 per kWh payment on their utility bill in turn for access to renewable energy. Customers can 
select to have 25%, 50%, or 100% of their electricity generated by Vermont farmers. When purchasing electricity 
from farm generators under a Vermont’s Standard-offer Program, GMP provides a production incentive to these 
generators by purchasing RECs for up to $0.04 per kWh.136 The program promotes anaerobic digestion projects 

                                                           
127

 Draft Notice Of Request For Proposals From Private Developers For Clean Energy 
http://www.dpuc.state.ct.us/DEEPEnergy.nsf/c6c6d525f7cdd1168525797d0047c5bf/c5b302de4d16dcdc852581f70059cdbd/$FILE/2017.
12.15_FINAL%20Draft%20RFP.pdf.  
128

 Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 16a-3h. 
129

 The 2017 Press Release for the “Shared Clean Energy Pilot Projects Selected” can be accessed at 
http://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?A=4918&Q=594296.  
130

 Public Authorities Law §§ 1850 et seq (2013). 
131

 See New York Public Service Commission Order in Case No 15-E-0302, Establishing Clean Energy Standard. 
132

 The first Renewable Energy Standard Request for Proposals in 2017, under the Clean Energy Standard, resulted in no biogas 
generators systems being selected; see https://www.nyserda.ny.gov/All-Programs/Programs/Clean-Energy-Standard/Renewable-
Generators-and-Developers/RES-Tier-One-Eligibility/Solicitations-for-Long-term-Contracts/2017-Solicitation. 
133

 See Best Practices for Implementing a Feed‐in Tariff Program, University of California Los Angeles Luskin School of Public Affairs at: 
https://luskin.ucla.edu/sites/default/files/Best%20Practices%20for%20Implementing%20a%20Feed%20in%20Tariff%20Program.pdf.  
134

 See The National Conference of State Legislators “State Net Metering Policies” webpage at http://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/net-
metering-policy-overview-and-state-legislative-updates.aspx.  
135

 Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 30, § 8003. 
136

 Vermont farmers enter a purchasing agreement with GMP through the Vermont Standard-offer program, which pays a fixed price over 
a 20-year contract. In 2017, the Vermont established a price cap of $0.145 per kWh for large farm methane generators and for $0.199 per 
kWh for small farm methane generators. Learn more about the 2018 Standard-Offer Program at 
http://www.vermontstandardoffer.com/farm-methane/.  

New paragraph was added to this subsection. 
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on farms by depositing unused proceeds into the Renewable Energy Development Fund for later investments 
into farm based anaerobic digestion projects.137  
 
 
The NYSERDA from 2011 to 2015 offered the Anaerobic Digester Gas-to-Electricity Program, operated under the 
former RPS. 138 Financial incentives offered under the program are as follows: capacity incentives to offset 
system installation cost; performance-based incentives of $0.0025/kWh for up to 10 years; digester project 
enhancement incentives; and interconnection incentives to offset cost of implementing grid connection. The 
program was available to residential, commercial, industrial, agriculture, non-profit, school, and government 
applicants who installed anaerobic digestion systems. In 2016, $4 million was available for the development of 
Anaerobic Digester Gas-to-Electricity Systems in New York State.139   
 
California has combined the benefits of feed-in tariffs and net metering systems through the Renewable Energy 

Self-Generation Bill Credit Transfer Tariff (RES-BCT) program, established under Assembly Bill 2466 of 2008. The 

RES-BCT program allows local government institutions with one or more 5 MW renewable generating systems to 

export surplus energy to the electricity grid and share the resultant generation credits, which lowers utility cost 

of the benefiting account, with up to 50 other metering accounts owned by same local government 

institution.140 The program increases access to renewable energy to rate payers across California and provides a 

performance incentive to large public renewable energy generators. 

                                                           
137

 See “Cow Power — the Vermont brand of electricity”. Times Argus. May 2013. https://www.timesargus.com/articles/cow-power-the-
vermont-brand-of-electricity/.  
138

 The NYSERDA is no longer accepting applications and may re-open Program Opportunity Notice if funding becomes available, see 
https://www.nyserda.ny.gov/All-Programs/Programs/Anaerobic-Digester-Gas-to-Electricity-Program. 
139

 See the NC Clean Energy Technology Centers “Anaerobic Digester Gas-to-Electricity Rebate and Performance Incentive” webpage at: 
http://programs.dsireusa.org/system/program/detail/2725.  
140

 The RES-BCT program is summarized on the California Public Utilities Commissions “Net Energy Metering” webpage at 
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/General.aspx?id=3800.  

New paragraph was added to this subsection. 
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