MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT
Land and Materials Administration - Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
1800 Washington Blvd. - Suite 630 - Baltimore Maryland 21230
(410) 537-3825 - 1-800-633-6101

NOTICE OF TENANT’S RIGHTS
INTRODUCTION

This Notice of Tenants’ Rights explains your legal rights pursuant to the Maryland Reduction of
Lead Risk in Housing Law, which went into effect on February 24, 1996. Under this law, property
owners are required to address all potential lead-based paint hazards in rental properties
constructed prior to 1978, register and annually renew registration of their properties with
Maryland Department of the Environment and provide tenants with lead educational materials.
This Notice of Tenant’s Rights provides a detailed explanation of what property owners are
required to do to comply with the law, how to inform your landlord that repairs need to be
performed in your home, and steps you can take to enforce your legal rights if your landlord
refuses to respond to your request.

Please read this material carefully and call the Lead Hotline at 410-537-4199 or 800-776-2706
if you have any questions. (TTY Users 800-735-2258)

I HAVE JUST MOVED INTO A RENTAL DWELLING THAT WAS BUILT BEFORE 1978.
WHAT DO I NEED TO KNOW?

To be fully compliant with the law, your landlord is required to:

1) Give you the Notice of Tenant Rights, the EPA brochure, “Protect Your Family from
Lead in Your Home,” and a copy of the lead inspection certificate for the unit on or before
the day you move in. The property owner may ask you to sign a statement acknowledging
that you received these items.

2) Ensure that the property is currently registered with the Maryland Department of the
Environment (MDE) and is required to pay a $30.00 per property/unit registration fee.
3)Obtain a passing Full Risk Reduction certificate prior to you moving into the property.

DOES MY RENTAL DWELLING UNIT HAVE TO BE INSPECTED BEFORE I
MOVE IN?

Yes. The property owner must have the unit inspected at the owner’s expense. This is currently
mandatory for all pre-1978 rental properties. Only an inspector accredited by MDE can perform
lead inspections. If the house passes the lead inspection, the property owner will receive a copy of
a Lead Paint Inspection Certificate. This certificate will be on file at MDE. The owner is required
by law to give you a copy of the inspection certificate when you move in. If you wish to know the



results of the inspection, ask your landlord or use the Inspection Certificates online search for Lead
Certificate.

WHAT HAPPENS IF MY CHILD IS DIAGNOSED WITH AN ELEVATED BLOOD
LEAD LEVEL?

When a child under six years of age, or a pregnant woman is identified with an elevated blood lead
level (EBL) greater than or equal to 5 pg/dL, MDE or the local health department will send a
Notice of EBL to the parent/guardian or pregnant woman and the property owner in writing.

MDE or the local health department will also perform an environmental investigation for a child
under the age of 6 years old or pregnant woman diagnosed with a blood lead level of greater than
or equal to 5 pg/dl (3.5 pg/dl effective January 1, 2024). If during the environmental investigation
the inspector identifies chipping, peeling, or flaking paint in a pre-1978 rental property, MDE or
the local health department will issue a Notice of Defect and send it to the property owner. Upon
receipt of the Notice of Defect, the property owner must satisfy the modified risk reduction
standard within 30 days.

HOW DO I TELL THE PROPERTY OWNER ABOUT ANY DEFECTS AND/OR THAT
THERE IS CHIPPING, PEELING, AND FLAKING PAINT IN MY HOME?

You must send a notice to the property owner in writing. You may either write a letter or use a
“Notice of Defect Form”, that can be found on page 5 of this brochure. When sending a notice,
MDE suggests sending it Certified Mail, Restricted Delivery. This documentation is also useful
when making a referral to MDE or your local housing department. Once the property owner
receives the notice they must satisfy the modified risk reduction standard within 30 days.

HOW DOES AN OWNER MEET THE MODIFIED RISK REDUCTION
STANDARD?

Within 30 days after the receipt of the Notice of Defect, the property owner is required to provide
for the temporary relocation of all tenants to a property built after 1977, a pre-1978 rental property
that is certified as meeting the lead-free standard or that has met the lead risk reduction standard.
OR

Within 30 days after the receipt of the Notice of Defect, the property owner ensures that the
property passes a test for lead contaminated dust and by performing certain lead hazard reduction
treatments. The property owner must pay for those repairs and must use a contractor that is
accredited by the Department to perform lead abatement work.

SHOULD MY FAMILY STAY IN THE HOME WHILE REPAIRS ARE BEING MADE?

Nobody is permitted in the work area. Pregnant women and children under 6 years old are
prohibited from being in the house while the lead hazard reduction treatments are being performed.
If you must leave your home for more than 24 hours while treatments are performed, the property
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owner must pay for all your reasonable expenses related to your required relocation of all tenants
to temporarily lead safe housing.

The property owner is also responsible for expenses related to the moving, storing, or cleaning of
furniture, and possibly food costs for the family while work is being done in the home.

You must allow the property owner to enter your home to do the treatments.

The property owner is required to have the home inspected to verify the modified risk reduction
standard has been met. After all work is completed, an MDE accredited inspector must inspect the
property to verify compliance with the modified risk reduction standard.

WHAT IF MY LANDLORD HAS NOT COMPLIED WITH THE LAW, OR HAS FAILED
TO RESPOND TO MY NOTICE?

1. Make a Referral

If you have given your landlord a written Notice of Defect and no repairs have been completed,
you can make a referral to Maryland Department of the Environment’s Lead Poisoning Prevention
Program by calling 1-800-776-2706 or 410-537-3825. When making a referral, please provide
copies of the Notice of Defect, along with any verification of receipt you may have.

2. Rent Escrow

Rent Escrow is a legal process that requires you to file a complaint for rent J 4&‘@@
escrow in the district court in the county in which you live. If the district court nd

grants your request for an escrow account, you will be required to pay your rent

into the district court’s escrow account instead of to your landlord. This provides an incentive for
your landlord to complete repairs in your home that threaten the life, health, or safety of you and
your family. To have an escrow account established based on lead hazards, you only need to prove
that your landlord is not in compliance with Maryland’s lead laws.

A rent escrow account is only established after all facts have been presented to a judge in a judicial
proceeding. Therefore, it is suggested that you seek the advice and representation of an attorney.

3. Rent Protection

In 2004, the Maryland General Assembly enacted legislation requiring landlords to confirm their
compliance with Maryland’s Lead Risk Reduction in Housing Law when filing for repossession of
property based on a tenant’s failure to pay rent. If the property to be repossessed was constructed
prior to 1978, the landlord must state that they are currently registered with Maryland Department
of the Environment and provide the certificate number for the inspection conducted for the current
tenancy. Failure to provide this information may result in the dismissal of the landlord’s
complaint.
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4. Retaliatory Eviction

It is unlawful for your landlord to evict you for complaining about dangerous conditions present in
your home, including the presence of peeling, chipping, and flaking paint. The law protects
tenants against eviction and illegal rent increases initiated after notification. It is presumed that any
attempt to evict a tenant or to raise the rent, except for nonpayment of rent, within two months
after compliance with the applicable risk reduction standard, is in retaliation for the tenant's
notification of dangerous conditions and shall be void. It is also against the law for the property
owner to evict you because there is someone in your home found to have a high blood lead level.

5. Termination of Lease & Relocation Expenses

If an owner of an affected property fails to comply with the applicable risk reduction standard
under §6-815 or §6-819 of the Environment Article, the owner, on the written request of the tenant,
shall: (1) immediately release the tenant from the terms of the lease or rental agreement for that
property; and (ii) pay to the tenant all reasonable relocation expenses, not to exceed $2,500,
directly related to the permanent relocation of the tenant to a lead-free dwelling unit or another
dwelling unit that has satisfied the risk reduction standard in accordance with §6-815 of the
Environmental Article.

If you have any questions about the Maryland Lead Law, visit MDE's Website or call the Lead
Hotline at 410-537-4199 or toll-free at 1-800-776-2706, or TTY 1-800-735-2258.
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Notice of Defect

Send this notice by certified mail, return receipt requested or hand-deliver this notice and get a signature
from the property owner or the property owner's agent or manager.

To: From:
Name of Property Owner Your Name
Property Owner Address Your Address
City, State, Zip City, State, Zip
Phone
email

Property Subject to This Notice:

THIS IS TO NOTIFY YOU TO MEET THE MODIFIED RISK REDUCTION STANDARD AS
REQUIRED BY § 6-819 OF THE ENVIRONMENT ARTICLE OF THE ANNOTATED CODE
OF MARYLAND BECAUSE:

____ The following defects require your attention:

The following areas contain peeling, chipping, flaking paint that is accessible to a child:

___ Living Room ____Bathroom ____Hallway __ Door
Frame

____Dining Room ____Front Porch ___ Stairway ____ Windows
___Kitchen ___ Bedroom ___ Exterior Walls ___ Other

The following areas contain structural defects:

___ Living Room ___ Bathroom _ Hallway _ Door Frame
____Dining Room ____Front Porch ____ Stairway ____ Windows
__Kitchen ___Bedroom __ Exterior Walls ___ Other

Other Hazardous Conditions:

PROPERTY OWNER / MANAGER SIGNATURE

1, owner / manager of the above-noted property (circle one)
hereby acknowledges receiving this Notice of Defect

Signature

Date
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