2.20 LEAD PAINT TRAINING PROVIDER AND INSTRUCTOR ACCREDITATIONS

Question: Do I plan to conduct a training course on lead paint services? OR

Question: Do I plan to train workers, supervisors, inspectors, or risk assessors who provide lead paint abatement services?

Why do I need this approval?

Providers of training for persons involved in the abatement of lead paint must employ instructors and conduct training courses that are accredited by the Department. Training courses for workers, supervisors, inspectors, and risk assessors who provide lead paint abatement services or are involved with lead paint abatement in Maryland are designed to instruct those individuals of the potential toxic effects of exposure to lead and to provide methods to protect workers and sensitive populations from exposure to lead during abatement activities. The primary hazard addressed in the training courses is exposure to lead from painted surfaces containing lead in the paint. This exposure may contribute to childhood hyperactivity, slowed growth, and damage to a child's brain or nervous system.

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal authority to issue this approval?

STATE: Environment Article - Title 6, Subtitle 10, Annotated Code of Maryland; COMAR 26.16.01.

What is the process to get this approval?

Lead paint instructor:

Successfully complete an accredited course in the category which you intend to teach.
Pass an annual exam administered by the Department with at least a 90%.
Submit an electronic application for each course you plan to teach using the Lead Rental Certification and Accreditation (LRCA) database.
New applicants are to upload documentation,

including on-site experience with relevant lead abatement projects.

Lead paint training provider and course: 1)Submit an electronic application form for training provider and one for each training course to be accredited using the Lead Rental Certification and

Accreditation (LRCA) database.

2)Upload curriculum detailing: learning objectives; course outline; time allocated for specific topics; description of learning activities, teaching materials, training facility; and plans for administering examinations, issuing student training ID cards, and reporting to the Department. 3)Include the qualifications of the course instructor(s) and expert instructor(s). Also, include the name of the designated primary accredited instructor.4)The Department will review the electronic application package and discuss any deficiencies6)A successful on-site audit by the Department will be required.

Are there any other requirements?

Lead Paint Instructors are accredited by the Department after successfully completing specified training courses at least equivalent to the course which the applicant intends to teach, successfully passing an examination administered by the Department which covers essential technical and regulatory knowledge, and demonstrating relevant work experience in conducting lead paint abatement activities. An instructor for lead paint inspector technician courses must be an accredited inspector with a minimum of 6 months experience in lead paint inspection.

How long should I expect it to take to get this approval once I submit a complete application? 90 days

Once I get this approval, how long will it last? 1 year

How much will this application cost?

Instructor- No fee Training Provider - \$300 Non-profit Training Provider- Fee waived Training Course- No fee See COMAR 26.16.01.20 for the specific fee schedule. Renewal fees are the same as the initial application fee.

Who do I contact with additional questions?

Lead Accreditation and Oversight Division (410) 537-3825