
1.19 RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL GENERAL LICENSE REGISTRATION 
  D Question: Is my company required to register its possession of generally licensed 

radioactive material and comply with existing Maryland regulations? 
 

Why do I need this approval? 
As an Agreement State under the Atomic Energy Act, 
Maryland requires most recipients of generally licensed 
radioactive material to register with MDE’s 
Radiological Health Program. The licensee must: 

 
• Meet the requirements in the Maryland 

regulations; 
• Register the general licensed sources of 

radiation with the Department; and 
• Pay a fee for each separate facility site with 

possession of the general licensed material. 
 

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal 
authority to issue this approval? 
FEDERAL: Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, 
§274b 
STATE: Environment Article, Title 8; COMAR 
26.12.01.01 Section C.22 

 
What is the process to get this approval? 
Within 30 days of receipt of the general licensed 
material the company must register the radiation 
sources with MDE’s Radiological Health Program. 
Information specific to registration can be found on the 
MDE Website at 
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Air/ 
RadiologicalHealth/Pages/rh_gl_registration.aspx. 
A company with generally licensed material must pay 
the current annual fee for each company site that has 
generally licensed radioactive material. All users of 
this material must remain in compliance with COMAR 
26.12.01.01 Section C.22 regulations. 

Are there any other requirements? 
Sealed devices containing isotopes in quantities equal 
to or greater than the following amounts must obtain a 
specific rather than general radioactive materials 
license: 
At least 370 MBq (10 mCi) of cesium-137, or 
At least 3.7 MBq (0.1 mCi) of strontium-90, or 
At least 37 MBq (1 mCi) of cobalt-60, or 
At least 3.7 MBq (0.1 mCi) of radium-226, or 
At least 37 MBq (1 mCi) of americium-241 or any 
other transuranic element (atomic number above 92). 

For information on specific radioactive materials 
licenses see 1.16. 

 
How long should I expect it to take to get this 
approval once I submit a complete application? 
Up to 30 days. 

 
Once I get this approval, how long will it last? 
Registration for already possessed generally licensed 
radioactive material is valid for 12 months. Any newly 
acquired sources must be registered with MDE within 
30 days of receipt. 

 
How much will this approval cost? 
For Calendar Year 2020, the annual fee is $55 for each 
separate facility location with possession of general 
licensed material. 

 
Who do I contact with additional questions? 
Tishara Stewart, Radiological Health Program 
tishara.stewart@maryland.gov 410-537-3300 


