1.18 RECIPROCAL RECOGNITION OF OUT-OF-STATE RADIOACTIVE
MATERIALS LICENSES

D Question: Will my out-of-state company be able to conduct activities in Maryland that
are authorized in my out-of-state radioactive material license under reciprocal

recognition?

Why do I need this approval?

As an Agreement State under the Atomic Energy Act,
Maryland is obliged to recognize radioactive material
licenses (see section 1.15) issued by the U.S. Nuclear
Regulatory Commission (NRC) or any of the other 37
Agreement States to licensees with out-of-

state facilities. The licensee must, however:

e  Meet procedural requirements for working in
Maryland;

e  Obtain an authorization letter from the
Department;

e Pay areciprocity fee; and

e  Notify the Department three days (72 hours)
prior to working in the State.

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal
authority to issue this approval?

FEDERAL: Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended,
§274b

STATE: Environment Article, Title 8; COMAR
26.12.01.01 Section C.90

‘What is the process to get this approval?

A licensee must file an Application for Reciprocal
Recognition of Out of State Radioactive Materials
License. Contact Tishara Stewart for instructions on
submittal of this application. This form requires
information regarding your out-of-State radioactive
materials license, and includes certifications you must
make. You must submit a copy of your out-of-State
license, as well as a copy of your Radiation Safety
Program including documents incorporated into your
Radioactive Materials License.

Are there any other requirements?

Reciprocal recognition requires written notification of
a licensee’s intent to work in Maryland. The
Notification form must be completed for every new
job in Maryland, and is found at
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Air/
RadiologicalHealth/Documents/
www.mde.state.md.us/assets/document/air/

rh reciprocity.pdf. Contact Tishara Stewart for
instructions on form submission and changes or
extensions to existing job requests.

How long should I expect it to take to get this
approval once I submit a complete application?

Up to 21 days

Once I get this approval, how long will it last?

Authorization to use radioactive materials under reciprocity
shall not exceed 180 days in any twelve (12) consecutive
month period. Prior to that time, a written request may be
made that reciprocity remain in force.

How much will this approval cost?

$538-$17,000 per year depending on the complexity of the
operation and the content of the license. This fee must be
paid before any work will be authorized and is identical to
the fee for in-State licenses. The fee schedule is found in
COMAR 26.12.03.

Do I need to know any additional information?

Radioactive materials users approved to work in Maryland
must have in their possession specific documents listed in
the reciprocity letter, as well as a copy of COMAR
26.12.01.01, entitled “Regulations for Control of Ionizing
Radiation (1994)”, and copies of both the request for
authorization and the Department’s reciprocity letter.
Section C.90 of the regulations refers to requirements for
reciprocity.

The Department must be notified in the event of the
following changes:

1) By 9 AM, if previously scheduled work is not to be
performed;

2) By 4 PM, if work scheduled after regular hours is not to
be performed;

3) Any time if personnel leave a work site before half of the
scheduled work period has passed; and

4) Any time submitted work times are rescheduled

or changed.

Any incident occurring in Maryland such as personnel
overexposure, loss or theft of any device containing a
sealed radiation source, leakage due to loss of source
integrity, severe damage to the device causing or
threatening to cause excessive radiation or loss of source
integrity or any other event requiring notification of local
civil authorities shall be immediately reported to the
Department:

e  After hours (866) 633-4686
e  During work hours (410) 537-3300
‘Who do I contact with additional questions?

Tishara Stewart

Radiological Health Program
tishara.stewart@maryland.gov
410-537-3300



