
1.16 RADIOACTIVE MATERIALS LICENSE 

 D Question: Does my company in Maryland possess, manufacture, use or distribute 
radioactive materials for research, industrial or medical applications? 

 

Why do I need this approval? 
Persons who intend to possess or use radioactive 
materials of certain quantities and types and establish a 
facility in Maryland must be licensed by the State to 
ensure that these materials are used properly and safely 
by qualified persons who have sufficient knowledge 
and training. Examples of such materials include 
radioactive isotopes of elements that occur naturally 
(radium-226), are produced by an accelerator (fluorine- 
18), or are generated as a by-product of a nuclear 
reactor (cobalt-60). 
Industrial radiographers, hospitals, nuclear pharmacies, 
medical offices, radioactive source manufacturers, 
construction companies, laboratories (research and 
medical) and radiation consultants are among those 
who may require this license. 

 
What laws or regulations give MDE the legal 
authority to issue this approval? 
FEDERAL: Section 274b. of the Atomic Energy Act, 
which gives Maryland full regulatory authority over 
radioactive materials users in the State. 
STATE: Environment Article, Title 8, Subtitles 1 and 
3; COMAR 26.12.01.01 

 
What is the process to get this approval? 
1) The licensee completes an initial or renewal 
application. Renewal applications must be 
received by the Department seven months 
prior to expiration of existing license. 
2) All required fees must be paid. The 
application fee must be submitted upon request 
by the Department. Renewal requests must 
continue to maintain a current fee account. 
3) If the application is complete and 
satisfactory, and the appropriate fees are paid, 
an onsite inspection is conducted by the 
Department is performed to verify applicant 
data, inspect facilities and security of 
radioactive material, and review qualifications 
and training of personnel 

 
Are there any other requirements? 
PRE-APPROVAL: 
1) Training requirements for those who use radioactive 
materials range from four hours for the use of a well- 
shielded device containing sealed radioisotopes to a 
three-year training program for the use of sealed 
sources in medical therapy on humans. 
2) Depending upon the specific use and circumstances, 
there may be a requirement for extensive protective 
and monitoring equipment. 

POST APPROVAL: 
Continued license approval is contingent on 
maintaining up to date fee payment and on operating in 
accordance with all license requirements and 
conditions, including requirements relating to 
occupational exposure, security and control of the 
material, inspection status reports, inventories, routine 
surveys, semi-annual leak tests, periodic meter 
calibration, and other routine equipment checks. 

 
How long should I expect it to take to get this 
approval once I submit a complete application? 
Up to 7 months for new and renewal licenses 
Up to 45 days for license amendments 
There are many different types of radioactive material 
licenses. Processing times may vary within the 7-
month period depending on the complexity of the 
process or operation covered by the application, the 
completeness of the initial application, and the quality 
of any response to deficiencies and staff resources. 

 
Once I get this approval, how long will it last? 
Seven years 

 
How much will this approval cost? 
An annual fee of $538 to $17,000 will be assessed, 
depending on the complexity of the operation. Upon 
MDE receipt of your application, you will be billed for 
the appropriate annual fee. Do not send it with the 
application. This fee must be paid prior to licensing 
and is credited as the first year's annual fee. Once the 
annual licensing fees are paid, unlimited license 
amendments may be made at no further cost. The fee 
schedule is found in COMAR 26.12.03. 

 
Do I need to know any additional information? 
Listing as an authorized user on a Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission or Agreement State license currently in 
effect is accepted as proof of adequate training and 
experience. 

 
Who do I contact with additional questions? 
Charles Cox 
Radiological Health Program (410) 537-3301 
charles.cox@maryland.gov 
Related link: 
http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Air/Radiological 
Health/Pages/RadioactiveMaterialsLicensingForms.a 
spx 


