2.26 CED MANUFACTURER REGISTRATIONS

□ Question: Am I selling covered electronic devices like computer, cell phone, tv etc.?

Why do I need this approval?

The registration assures the manufacturers of covered electronic devices (CED) comply with the Maryland's Statewide Electronics Recycling law (MSERL). A CED is a computer or video display device with a screen that is greater than 4 inches measured diagonally. This includes computers, computer monitors, televisions, portable DVD players, cell phones, tablets etc. A CED does not include a video display device that is part of a motor vehicle or that is contained within a household appliance of commercial, industrial or medical equipment. MSERL states that a manufacturer may not sell or offer for sale to any person in Maryland a new covered electronics device unless: 1) the covered electronic device is labeled with the name of the manufacturer or the manufacturer's brand label; and 2) the manufacturer has registered with and, if applicable, submitted a registration fee to the Department Every year the new or renewal registration application is due by March 1st. The previous year registration expires on February 28th

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal authority to issue this approval?

STATE: Environment Article - §9-1701, §9-1727, and §9-1728

What is the process to get this approval?

- 1) Applicant submits to the Department the required registration form and estimated fees for the registration.
- 2) The Department reviews the information provided on the registration for completeness.
- 3) The Department confirms that the estimated registration fees are received and acceptable.
- 4) The Department verifies that the number of CEDs sold in Maryland during the prior calendar year provided in the application is correct.
- 5) The Department validates that the applicant's proposed Take Back Program meets the requirements of the law.
- 6) Once the application is deemed technically complete and the review process is complete, the Department issues the registration and include the registered manufacturer in the list of registered manufacturers on the Department's website.

Is this approval directly related or contingent on other approvals?

No

Are there any other requirements?

To participate in the Take Back Program, the applicant is required to provide the following information with the registration application: 1) The manufacturer's website must provide a freeway (toll-free number) for Maryland customers to contact the manufacturers; 2) The free Take Back Program must be described, indicating free shipping and a free shipping container, or conveniently located drop-off locations; 3) The manufacturer's website must provide data wiping instructions or links to free data wiping software to safely and securely wipe data from CEDs destined for recycling.

How long should I expect it to take to get this approval once I submit a complete application?

Type of Approval	Turnaround Time
Manufacturer Registration	60 Days.

Once I get this approval, how long will it last?

Up to 12 Months.

How much will this approval cost?

Fees are assessed based on the number of CEDs sold in Maryland in the <u>prior year</u> and participation in the Take Back Program:

Initial Annual \$0-0-99 CEDs sold Initial Annual \$5,000-100-999 CEDs sold Initial Annual \$10,000-1,000 or more CEDs sold Initial/Renewal \$500-100 or more CEDs sold with Department-approved Take Back Program Renewal Annual \$0-0-99CEDs sold Renewal Annual \$5000-100 or more CEDs sold

Who do I contact with additional questions?

Caj Didigu - Resource Management Program/LMA caj.didigu@maryland.gov (410) 537-4004

Visit www.mde.maryland.gov/eCcling for the registration form, list of registered manufacturers and detailed MSERL information.