3.27 BOARD OF WATERWORKS AND WASTE SYSTEMS OPERATORS

CERTIFICATION

Information to Become a Water or Wastewater Certified Operator or Superintendent

Why do I need to be certified?

This certification helps to protect public health and the
environment by setting minimum education, experience, and
examination standards that applicants must satisfy. It is
required for individuals working in water treatment plants, water
distribution systems, wastewater treatment plants, wastewater
collection systems, certain pretreatment facilities that discharge
to sanitary sewers, or industrial wastewater facilities who make
process control decisions or determine remedial action in
emergencies.

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal
authority to issue this approval?

STATE: Environment Article, Title 12 COMAR 26.06.01.

What is the process to get this approval?

1) You must be employed at a facility (works) in Maryland
or have employment pending the issuance of your
Maryland Certification before applying.

2) Determine the correct facility classification(s) for your
certificate, based upon your employment (see COMAR
26.06.01.16 Tables 1-3)

3) Submit completed certificate application formand fee to the
Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators.

4) Pass necessary certification examination(s).

5) Complete experience and education requirements (see
COMAR 26.06.01.16 Tables 4-7).

6) Submita completed application for full certification and the
application fee to the Board.

APPLICATIONS & OTHER INFO
Application for Initial Operator-in-Training (OIT) Certificate
Application for Initial Operator Certification

Application for Operator Examination

Application for Initial Superintendent Certificate

Application for Operator Reciprocity

Application for Training Approval.

To request a Reinstatement or Renewal Application, contact

the Board at wwso.board@maryland.gov or (410)537-3167.

Please have your certification number.

Are there any other requirements?

PRE- APPROVAL: A minimum of high school education,
six months to three years of related work experience (based
upon facility class) and pass the appropriate examination.

POST-APPROVAL: Renewal requires completion of
specified number of hours of Board-approved training (see
COMAR 26.06.01.13). Contact the Board for the details.
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Once I get this approval, how long will it last? Maximum
of three years; renewal is required.

How long should I expect it to take to get this approval
after I submit a complete application?

Type of Certificate Turnaround Time
New certificates 45 days
Renewal certificates 30 days

How much will this approval cost?

Type of Fee Fee
Examination $50
Application fee for OIT, $50

operator or superintendent
certificate for each facility
classification*

Renewal fee for each facility | $50 each with cap of
classification* $100 during any 3-
year renewal period

Do I need to know any additional information?
1) Facility classifications for fees*:
e  Water Treatment
Wastewater Treatment
Industrial Wastewater Treatment
Water Distribution
Wastewater Collections

2) Exams are given monthly by the Board; applications and
fees must be received at least three weeks before the
examination date. Exams are also available by an
approved third-party proctor in and around Maryland.

3) Renewal dates are based upon the date of issuance.
Multiple renewal dates can be aligned to a single renewal
date; contact the Board for more information.

Am I eligible for Reciprocity?

1) Before applying, you must be employed at a facility in
Maryland or employment pending the issuance of your
Maryland Certification.

2) Your experience & current certification from the previous
state of employment must be equal to the treatment
process that you will be working with in Maryland.

3) See Reciprocity Application for additional requirements.

Who do I contact with additional questions?
MDE Board of Waterworks and Waste Systems Operators
Email: wwso.board@maryland.gov
Phone: (410) 537-3167




