2.17 CONTROLLED HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE HAULER, VEHICLE AND
DRIVER CERTIFICATION

o Question: Do I transport hazardous waste over public highways? If so, Does that transport require

the use of a hazardous waste manifest? OR

0 Question: Are you a Maryland-domiciled driver of a vehicle used to transport hazardous waste over
public highways, with the transportation of the waste requiring use of a hazardous waste manifest?

Why do I need this approval?

To ensure the safe transport of hazardous wastes within

the State, the Department regulates the movements of
controlled hazardous substances (CHS) by certifying

CHS haulers, vehicles and Maryland-domiciled drivers.

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal
authority to issue this approval?

FEDERAL: N/A
STATE: Environment Article, Title 7, Subtitle 2,
Annotated Code of Maryland; COMAR 26.13.04.

What is the process to get this approval?

1) Applicant submits a CHS hauler application and a
CHS vehicle application for each vehicle with the
required documents and the payment of the fee.
Drivers domiciled in Maryland must submit an
application for driver certification.

2) The Department reviews the application and issues
or denies the certificate.

Are there any other requirements?

PRE-APPROVAL: Applications must include the
following:
1) Vehicle Inspection Certificates from a licensed
inspection station approved by the Department of
Motor Vehicles or other State agency;
2) Copy of vehicle registration certificate;
3) Either: a) CHS bond or letter of credit or

b) Documentation of Exemption (Form MCS
82/MCS 90);
4) Proof of liability insurance (only required if CHS
Bond or Letter of Credit used);
5) List of customers;

6) List of TSD facilities where approval has been
received;

7) List of any environmental violations;

8) Hazardous Waste Tracking Form.

How long should | expect it to take to get this
approval once | submit a complete application?

30 days

Once | get this approval, how long will it last?

Type of Approval Term

Haulers/vehicles 12 month period

Drivers 12-month period

How much will this approval cost?

Type of Approval Fee

For each vehicle $50 annually (12 month
period)

For domiciled drivers $20 annually (12 month

period)

Who do I contact with additional questions?

Jennifer Hopper

Hazardous Waste Program
Jennifer.Hopper@maryland.gov
(410) 537-3344

Related link:
https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Land/Pages/

landpermits.aspx
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