Minutes, August 20, 2012, meeting of the Marcellus Shale Safe Drilling Initiative Advisory Commission, approved September 28, 2012.

The Commission held its tenth meeting at the auditorium of Garrett College, 687 Mosser Road, McHenry Maryland 21541. In attendance were Chairman David Vanko and Commission members Shawn Bender, George Edwards, John Fritts, Peggy Jamison, Heather Mizeur, Dominick Murray, James Raley, Paul Roberts, William Valentine, Nick Weber, and Harry Weiss. Also in attendance were Delegates Wendell Beitzel and Sean Robinson, Garrett County Commissioners Gregan Crawford and Robert Gatto, Secretary Summers, staff of state agencies and members of the public.

Chairman Vanko called the meeting to order. The Commissioners introduced themselves. The minutes of the June meeting were unanimously approved.

There were three presentations. Ms. Kenney gave an overview of Marcellus Shale horizontal drilling and hydraulic fracturing. Mr. Gill reviewed the work of the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) and the Department of Natural Resources relating to the Marcellus Shale Safe Drilling Initiative. Chairman Vanko reviewed the work of the Advisory Commission.

Thereafter, the Commission received the comments of members of the audience. Everyone who wished to give comments, 49 people in all, did so. The audience was also reminded that the Commission will accept written comments by mail or email through MDE's website.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:55 pm.

A copy of the slides from the overview of Marcellus Shale Horizontal Drilling and Hydraulic Fracturing, a two page handout that outlined the work of the Departments and a corrected transcript of the meeting will be posted on MDE's website.