

# Hazardous Substance Reporting Requirements

**Draft Regulations for COMAR 26.14.02** 





## Purpose of Public Workshop

 Provide regulated community and public with opportunity to comment on draft regulations







#### Who Must Report?

- A Responsible Person defined in §7-201(t)...
- Possessing a sample result or other environmental assessment...
- Indicating the presence of hazardous substance at or above established threshold.







## What Must Be Reported?

- "Hazardous substance" is any substance defined by CERCLA §101(14) or identified as a controlled hazardous substance by MDE
- Regulation applies to sample result at or above hazardous substance notification standards
  - Concentrations in soils (subsurface or surface), groundwater, surface water, or wells above standards
  - Other categories of releases, e.g., underground free product, buried containers with more than trace amounts







### When Must Reports be Submitted?

- As soon as practicable, but no later than
  - 15 days after the responsible person discovers that the reporting criteria have been met; or
  - 30 days after
    - the effective date of these regulations or



 The discovery of a sample result or environmental assessment collected or performed before October 1, 2009 that meets the reporting criteria





#### What Releases are Exempt from Notification?







#### What Are the Notification Standards ?

- Notification Standards are based on the U.S. EPA Risk-Based Criteria (RBC)
  - For carcinogens, threshold notification standard based on the EPA RBC and adjusted to 10E-5.
  - Notification standards do not constitute known risk at site and are not a substitute for site-specific risk assessment
- Residential and Industrial Land Uses
  - Residential Notification Standard applies to sites zoned for residential use/not restricted from being used for residential use
  - Industrial Notification Standard applies to sites not available for residential because of zoning requirements or land use restrictions





# Changes to Draft Regulations

- Modified notification form
  - "Responsible Person" changed to "Name of Person Filing Notification"
  - Changed Statement of Certification Language
  - Reduced information requested in form
  - Included space for identifying "Naturally Occurring Substance"
- Reporting deadlines changed
- Provided timelines for responding to notifications
- Interim Final Guidance Document includes Reporting
  Notification Standards and Frequently Asked Questions



## Implementation

- Notification Submitted to MDE
- Acknowledgement of receipt letter (w/in 2 working days)
  - Informs Responsible Person that review conducted under authority of Controlled Hazardous Substance Statute
  - MDE will cost recover for time spent reviewing notification
- MDE notifies responsible person whether additional action required <u>OR</u> will issue No Further Action letter (w/in 45 working days)
- Sites requiring additional action divided into two categories:
  - Assessment and/or cleanup activities needed to address potential environmental issues; or
  - Assessment and/or cleanup activities needed but can be performed on a transactional basis
- Additional actions conducted under CHS Enforcement Program or Voluntary Cleanup Program oversight





### For Further Information:



Proposed Hazardous Substance (CHS) Notification Regulations Land Restoration Program Land Management Administration Maryland Department of the Environment 1800 Washington Boulevard, Suite 625 Baltimore MD 21230 (410) 537-3437

http://www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Land/MarylandBrownfieldVCP/Pages/programs/landprograms/errp\_brownfields/resources.aspx

