Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities (CEJSC)

CEJSC Meetings and Agendas

  • 2021 Mee​t​i​​n​g Schedule 
The CEJSC will meet on Tuesday, November 23, 2021 from 10am - 12pm.  The meeting will be held virtually on Google Meet:​ or by phone at 424-261-0700‬, PIN: ‪917 556 266‬#.  The agenda for the meeting will be posted here closer to the meeting.  .

In December the Commission will hold a joint meeting with the Children's Environmental Health and Protection Advisory Council.  That meeting will be held on Tuesday, December 7, 2021, 10am to 12pm.  

Meetings are held regularly on the fourth Tuesday of the month from 10am to 12pm.  Please visit this page to confirm the meeting date and find materials.

Commission Membership​

Maryland Environment Section 1-701 identifies the membership requirements for the CEJSC. The CEJSC consists of 20 members and 12 members are appointed by the Governor and must represent a variety of stakeholder interests that includes: affected communities concerned with environmental justice, business organizations, environmental organizations, health experts on environmental justice, local government, and the general public with interest or expertise in environmental justice. Click on the Commissioner's name to view their biography.​

Maryland Senator The Honorable Obie Patterson 
Maryland Delegate The Honorable Regina T. Boyce
Maryland Department
of the Environment 
Secretary Ben Grumbles (Devon Dodson, Designee)
Maryland Department
of Health
Dennis R. Schrader (Subha Chandar, Designee)
Maryland Department
of Planning
Robert S. McCord (Joseph Griffiths, Designee)
Maryland Department of Housing
and Community Development
Kenneth C. Holt (John Papagni, Designee)
Maryland Department
of Commerce
Kelly M. Schutz (Malachy Rice, Designee)
Maryland Department
of Transportation
Gregory I. Slater​ (Janet Moye Cornick, Designee)
Business Organization Voncia Molock​
Environmental Organization Vacant as of 1/4/2021
Business/Public Robert Hackman
Health Expert Lesliam Quiros-Alcala
Health Expert Vacant as of 1/4/2021
Local Government Camille Burke
Business/Affected Community Crystal Faison
Business/Public Paula Dannenfeldt
General Public with Interest/Expertise Paulette Hammond
General Public Barbara Paca​
Affected Communities w/EJ Concern Monica Brooks
Affected Communities w/EJ Concern Vacant as of 1/4/2021


Annual Reports and Archives​

Contact Information

For further information please contact Devon Dodson at (410) 537-4499 or