Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities (CEJSC)

​CEJSC Meetings and Agendas​

  • The CEJSC will meet on Tuesday, January 24, 2023 from 10am - 12pm.  The meeting will be held virtually on Google Meet:​
    You can also join by phone at 520-777-1215‬ PIN: ‪862 444 696‬#  The agenda can be found here​.

  • Meetings are held regularly on the fourth Tuesday of the month from 10am to 12pm. Please visit this page to confirm the meeting date and find materials.

Commission Membership​

Maryland Environment Section 1-701 identifies the membership requirements for the CEJSC. The CEJSC consists of 23 members including representatives from multiple state agencies, local government, and labor.  The Governor, the Senate President, and the Speaker of the House appoint representatives of communities concerned with Environmental Justice, the business communities, environmental organizations, health experts, and an academic institution with an EJ institute.


​Camille Burke
​​Standing Members
Secretary Horacio Tablada (Devon Dodson, Designee)​​​
Environment Secretary
​Dennis R. Schrader (Subha Chandar, Designee)
Health Secretary​
​Robert S. McCord (Joseph Griffiths, Designee)
​Planning Secretary
​R. Michael Gill​ (Melissa Brown, Designee)
​Commerce Secretary
​​Kenneth C. Holt (John Papagni, Designee)
​Housing Secretary
​James F. Ports Jr.​​ (Janet Moye Cornick, Designee)
​Transportation Secretary
​The Honorable Regina T. Boyce
​Member of the House of Delegates
​The Honorable Obie Patterson
​Member of the Maryland Senate
Governor Appointed Members

Monica Brooks
​Community Representative
​Voncia Molock
​Business Representative
​Barbara Paca
​Environmental Organization

​Camille Burke
​Health Expert
​Academic Institution with an EJ Initiative
​Senate President & House Speaker Appointed Members

Community Representative​
​Community Representative
Community Representative​
Business Representative​
​Environmental Organization
​Health Expert
​Local Government Appointments
​Pete Hill, Anne Arundel County
Lori Cunningham, City of Bowie​MLL
Appointed by the AFL-CIO
​Donna Edwards
​Union Member
​Gerald Jackson
​Union Member
Past Appointments from Governor (service continues until new appointments are made under 2021 SB674/CH0635 & HB1207/CH0634)
​Paula Dannenfeldt
Paulette Hammond​
​Lesliam Quiros-Alcala

Annual Reports and Archives​

Contact Information

For further information please contact Devon Dodson at (410) 537-4499 or


Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information