
  
 

  
 

 
This newsletter is on the MDE web site:  

http://www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth/InformationalMemos/Pages/Pr
ograms/AirPrograms/Radiological_Health/memos/index.aspx 

 

Upcoming Meeting at the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) 

The state licensed private inspector and registered service provider meeting will be held at MDE 
early next year.  A date will be announced later.  The Radiological Health Program is very 
interested in making this upcoming meeting a helpful and informational opportunity.  If you have 
specific questions please email Mr. Ahsan Bhatti at ahsan.bhatti@maryland.gov or Ms. Mahala 
Thomas at mahala.thomas@maryland.gov to ensure that your questions are answered appropriately 
at the meeting. 
 

Radiological Health Program (RHP) Announcement 

The Radiation Machines Division (RMD) is proud to announce the filling of two positions: 
 
Leteisha Hunt – Health Physicist Trainee in RMD’s Registration and Certification Section 
Marsha Kennedy – RMD’s Office Secretary II 
 
The Regulations and Radiation Exposure Strategies Section is proud to announce the filling of 
two positions: 
 
James Ways – Health Physicist Trainee 
Cydney McGuire – Health Physicist Trainee 
 

Private Inspector License Requirement 

All new and renewal applicants must disclose their Social Security Number on the application 
for a license to inspect radiation machines (RX32).  This is pursuant to the provisions of Section 
10-119.3 of the Family Law Article, Annotated Code of Maryland which requires the 
Department to verify if the applicant has any child support obligations.  New and renewal 
applicants must submit a curriculum vitae with their application.  A line has been added to the 
RX32 requesting your email address.  This will help RHP disseminate information to you 
quickly.  New applicants must submit official transcripts and provide accurate contact 
information of past employers for RHP verification.  Please contact Mr. Ahsan Bhatti for further 
information. 
 

Private Inspector Expectations 

All inspection reports must be completed in their entirety and submitted to the RHP no later than 
30 days after the beginning of each radiation machine inspection. 
 
All facility information on the Radiation Machine Facility Registration Form (RX1) must be 
accurate and signed by the facility representative prior to submitting the inspection report. 
 
Any cited inspection violations must be recorded in the inspection report and listed and properly 
cited on the Inspection Summary Form (RX2). 
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Preventive maintenance (PM) service reports must be reviewed during the inspection.  The 
updated Inspection Data Facility Specific Form (RX4) requires specific PM information.  Should 
the inspector find that the latest PM report date is not current (the manufacturer normally 
requires maintenance every 12 months), the facility may be subject to an enforcement action.  
The inspector should ask the facility representative if the PM report has been sent to the RHP. 
 
Certification inspection forms have been updated and are posted on the website.  Certification 
inspections must be submitted on the updated forms or they will be returned to the inspector 
causing a delay in approval by the RHP.  The following is a link to the updated forms:  
http://www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth/XRayApplicationFormsandGuidance/Pages/P
rograms/AirPrograms/radiological_health/xray_applications/index.aspx  
 

Maryland Certification Inspections Facility Personnel Monitoring 

All radiation machine facilities are required to have continuous personnel monitoring for all 
occupationally exposed workers.  Podiatry and bone density facilities may be exempted after 
receiving RHP approval.  In order to gain an exemption, the facility should submit a written 
request.  The request should include 6 consecutive months or 4 consecutive quarters of dosimetry 
records.  Upon review of the dosimetry records, the RHP may grant an exemption.  A podiatry or 
bone density facility with a Fluoroscopy unit and/or other type of radiographic may not be 
eligible for an exemption.  Approval letters should be available for review during inspections.  
 
Exemptions remain valid unless any of the following occur: 
 

1. The radiation machine facility changes ownership or the Federal Tax ID number changes; 
2. The radiation machine facility relocates from its current location; 
3. More radiation machines are added to the facility; 
4. The radiation machine facility remodels its present location; or 
5. A radiation machine’s operation or performance is such that RHP determines that 

monitoring is warranted again. 
 

Machine Numbers 

The RHP inspectors and state licensed private inspectors are authorized to assign unique 
machine numbers and place red stickers on each radiation machine.  RHP inspectors, state 
licensed private inspectors, and service providers must use the assigned numbers on any 
documentation that is submitted to the RHP.  Please contact Ms. Talya Langbaum or Ms. 
Shannon Page for assignment of machine numbers or red stickers. 
 

Service Provider Expectations 

Service companies providing x-ray services to a radiation machine facility must be registered 
with the RHP.  It is the responsibility of the service company to maintain a current registration 
with the RHP.  A facility, who utilizes the services of an unregistered service company, may be 
subject to enforcement action. 
 
There have been significant changes to the training, requirements and paperwork submission 
expectations; specifically B.6 (e) and B.6 (f) of the regulations that were effective January 2014. 
The new regulations describe what is expected as sufficient content for preventive maintenance 
documentation, the length of time to submit final reports to the customer and to have those 
reports relayed to RHP.  The radiation machine facility has 30 days to submit their PM reports to 
the RHP. 
 
The website contains specific updated PM forms.  These forms MUST be used by all service 
providers. 

http://www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth/XRayApplicationFormsandGuidance/Pages/Programs/AirPrograms/radiological_health/xray_applications/index.aspx
http://www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth/XRayApplicationFormsandGuidance/Pages/Programs/AirPrograms/radiological_health/xray_applications/index.aspx


 
Service companies are required to submit all paperwork to the RHP no later than 15 days after 
service is completed.  The forms are to be completed in their entirety and the machine number 
which is housed on the red sticker should be denoted. 
 
The submission of the report of assembly reassembly or removal of a radiation machine (RX24) 
or FDA 2579 does not absolve the facility from registering their radiation machines with the 
RHP.  The facility must contact the RHP to acquire all the necessary paperwork. 
 
A plan review is required prior to installation of a dental cone beam computed tomography 
machine at a facility. 
 
The RHP reserves the right to deny a facility from acquiring a dental hand held unit.  The service 
company should ask the facility if they have contacted the RHP prior to selling a dental hand 
held unit since there are specific criteria that must be met. 
 

Demonstration Devices 

The RHP does NOT issue temporary registrations or reciprocity for radiation machines. 
Radiation machines used for demonstration purposes on humans must be properly registered 
with the RHP.  This includes fees, inspections, and area survey/plan reviews if applicable.  The 
registration may be done by the vendor or the facility where the demonstration will take place.  
The registrant will become the responsible party.  Registration and certification approval can 
take up to 90 days; therefore, please contact the RHP in a timely manner. 
 
Demonstration units not for human use do not need to register if they will be in the State for less 
than 20 days.  While registration is not required, the Department must be notified in writing prior 
to the planned demonstration.  Notification should include the type of unit, location and duration 
of demonstration, as well as a description of how the unit will be used. 
 

Regulations Update and Clarification of Specific Regulations 

COMAR 26.12.01.01F.3(d) - The regulation requires facilities to have preventive maintenance 
performed based on the recommendation of the manufacturer.  Compliance with this regulation 
is based on the number of months between PM visits as stipulated by the manufacturer in its 
paperwork, installation procedures, or user manual.  The RHP continues to adjust PM periods as 
published by updates from the manufacturers.  Please direct any newly found information that 
may impact the timing of preventive maintenance to Mr. James Ways or Ms. Cynthia Pochan. 
 
In Supplement 24, which will be effective September 15, 2014 there are a series of changes too 
large for inclusion in a newsletter.  A summary of some of the changes can be found below. 
 
B.6 (g) Each person registered to provide services to radiation machine facilities including 
installation, assembly, calibration, repair, maintenance, disablement, or removal of radiation 
machines shall monitor exposures from sources of radiation at levels sufficient to demonstrate 
compliance with the occupational dose limits of Part D of this regulation. 
 
B.9 (b) Each application for renewal of registration of a radiation machine facility must be 
received by RHP at least 14 days prior to expiration of the facility’s existing registration.  Such 
application shall be made in accordance with the provisions of Section B.5.  The RHP shall not 
grant re-registration unless all previously invoiced radiation machine fees are paid in full. 
 
“Thyroid shielding” means a collar or shield consisting of ≥0.5 mm lead equivalent which is 
effective in protecting a patient’s thyroid gland from direct exposure to the useful x-ray beam. 
 



F.3(a)(7) states that thyroid shielding consisting of a ≥0.5 mm lead equivalent thyroid collar or 
shield shall be provided to and used for all patients upon request or whenever the useful beam is 
expected to or may strike the thyroid gland, so long as such shielding does not interfere with 
diagnostic x-ray procedures. 
 
F.7(j) specifically for dental facilities states that thyroid shielding (as described above) shall be 
provided to and used for all patients, so long as such shielding does not interfere with diagnostic 
x-ray procedures. 
 
F.(10)(d) and F.(10)(d)(3) discuss the allowed use of hand held radiographic devices in 
veterinary settings.  These regulations are similar to the use of dental hand held machines. 
 

Service Provider and Licensed Private Inspector Turn-Around Time and Submission 
Results 
 
Enclosed are charts labeled Appendix A and B that provide information about your submission 
compliance rates that will help determine if you are meeting the specific regulations. 
 
Appendix A refers to the private inspector submission time for certification inspections.  
Appendix B refers to the service company’s submission time of the RX24/FDA forms. 
Unique identifiers have been assigned to all service providers and licensed inspectors as 
represented on the graph.  For more information on the status of your compliance rate, please 
contact Ms. Talya Langbaum or Ms. Shannon Page. 
 

Website Update 

The following is the link to website:  
http://www.mde.state.md.us/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth/Pages/Programs/AirPrograms/Radiological_H
ealth/index.aspx 
 
The RHP continues to post updated forms on the Department’s Radiological Health Program 
Web page.  All forms are periodically updated.  Private inspectors and service providers are 
responsible for using the most current version of the documents, as they most accurately reflect 
the regulations set forth in the COMAR. 
 
The Web section called Upcoming Events is updated frequently to reflect RHP informational 
meetings to be held at MDE. 
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