### 2.08 OIL TRANSFER LICENSE

Question: Does my company import (transfer) oil into Maryland by tank truck, transport, rail car, pipeline or marine vessel/barge? If so, does my company own the oil at the first point of import (transfer) into Maryland?

#### Why do I need this approval?

An <u>oil transfer license</u> is required for any person who transfers oil intended to be used as a motor fuel, lubricant or fuel source in larger than 55-gallon drums into Maryland.

## What laws or regulations give MDE the legal authority to issue this approval?

STATE: Environment Article, §4-411, Annotated Code of Maryland; COMAR 26.10.01.06.

#### What is the process to get this approval?

 Application is submitted to the Oil Control Program.
The Oil Control Program reviews the application.
The Oil Control Program verifies the company has a business license and is in good standing with the Maryland Department of Assessment and Taxation.
The Department issues or denies the license.

# Is this approval directly related or contingent on other approvals?

No

#### Are there any other requirements?

The licensee must submit quarterly reports indicating the volume of oil transferred and method of transfer into the state and the fee paid.

#### How long should I expect it to take to get this approval once I submit a complete application? 30 days

#### Once I get this approval, how long will it last?

Licenses are issued within a 5-YR cycle and are valid through the expiration date of the current cycle.

#### How much will this approval cost?

An oil transfer fee of \$0.08 per barrel of oil transferred into the state is assessed at the first point of transfer and paid quarterly. The fee is subject to legislative changes.

#### Who do I contact with additional questions?

Permits and Support Division Oil Control Program (410) 537-3461

Related link: https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Land/Pages/ landpermits.aspx