2.21 LEAD PAINT RENTAL UNIT REGISTRATION

Question: Do I rent properties in Maryland built before 1978?

Why do I need this approval?

The purpose of this program is to reduce childhood lead poisoning and maintain affordable housing. If not detected early, children with high levels of lead in their bodies can suffer from hyperactivity, slowed growth, damage to their brain and nervous system, hearing problems and headaches.

Property owners with rental units constructed prior to 1978 are required to register the units with MDE, unless the units have valid certified lead free or limited lead free certificates.

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal authority to issue this approval?

STATE: Environment Article - Title 6, Subtitle 8, Annotated Code of Maryland; COMAR 26.16.02 and 26.16.04.

What is the process to get this approval?

If you do not already have a Lead Rental Registry tracking number for the legal owner of the property, contact MDE at mde.leadreg@maryland.gov or call 1-800-776-2706 (in-state) or 410-537-4199 to get a tracking number before registering rental properties. Option 1) You may register online at https://mdolrr.mde.state.md.us/CustomPages/UserLoginPage.aspx, completing all required information and paying the fee online. You may choose instead to submit a paper form.

Option 2) If you are submitting a paper rental property registration form, obtain the form from MDE's website, or contact MDE by email or phone to obtain a form. Complete all required information on the form. Include rental registration fees, payable to the Maryland Department of the Environment, and send the form to:

Maryland Department of the Environment P.O. Box 23660 Baltimore, Maryland 21203-5660

Are there any other requirements?

Rental property owners must distribute tenant educational materials upon execution of leases to new tenants and redistribute every two (2) years thereafter. Properties must meet risk reduction standards at each change of occupancy that are verified through a "visual inspection" or "lead dust test" by an MDE accredited visual inspector or risk assessor. Rental properties can also be tested and certified as lead-free. For a list of accredited lead paint inspection and abatement contractors, contact the email address or phone number above, or contact the Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at (410) 537-3825.

Property owners must disclose to prospective buyers any obligation to perform risk reduction treatments not yet performed that have been triggered to turnover, notice(s) of defect, or notice(s) of elevated blood lead levels that will not be performed prior to transfer.

How long should I expect it to take to get this approval once I submit a complete application?

This is a registration with MDE, and you will not receive an approval document in return.

If you register online at

https://mdolrr.mde.state.md.us/CustomPages/UserLoginPage.aspx and provide all information required as well as successful payment, your unit/s will be registered/renewed in 24 hours.

If you mail in your registration and provide all information required as well as successful payment, your unit/s will be registered/renewed in 30 business days.

Once I get this approval, how long will it last? You must renew the registration of your rental units annually with MDE by December 31st for the following year, regardless of how late in the year you may have registered them. You are encouraged to renew using the online system at https://mdolrr.mde.state.md.us/CustomPages/UserLoginPage.aspx. MDE will, upon request, mail out paper renewal forms to owners of registered properties. The renewal process includes updating information on tenant turnover and inspection

How much will this approval cost?

Registration is \$30 per rental unit. The annual renewal fee is also \$30 per unit. There is a one-time processing fee of \$10 for each rental unit that is certified as lead-free.

Who do I contact with additional questions? Lead Rental Property Registry Section 1-800-776-2706 (in-state) or (410) 537-4199 or via email at mde.leadreg@maryland.gov

Related link:

certificates.

https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/LAND/LeadPoisoningPrevention/Pages/LeadRegistration.aspx