## **COST OF LIVING INCREASE IN RADIATION FEES & FACILITY RESPONSIBILITIES CALENDAR YEAR 2024**

Download the Radiation Machine Facility Registration renewal (RX-1) form at:

https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth/Documents/www.mde.state.md.us/assets/document/air/rx1 new.pdf

The Facility Registration renewal form (RX-1) can be returned via email to

### mdexray.submission@maryland.gov or faxed to 410-537-3198.

**FEES CAN BE PAID: Online (processing fee added) at:** https://egov.marvland.gov/mde/invoice/

### OR

## Mailed with the invoice remittance copy to: Maryland Department of the Environment, Radiological Health Program **P.O. Box 2198** Baltimore, MD 21203-2198

In accordance with COMAR 26.12.03.04 titled "Consumer Price Index Adjustment", the annual fees set forth in COMAR 26.12.03; (except dental and vet dental), all machines are increased each year by the percentage by which the Consumer Price Index for the most recent calendar year exceeds the **Consumer Price Index for the previous calendar year.** 

Therefore, radiation machine fees have slightly increased for certain machine uses effective January 1, 2024. The annual fee payment required for each radiation machine tube for Calendar Year 2024 is as follows:

GROUP	NAME OF GROUP	CY 2024
1	Particle Accelerators	\$ 1,090
2	Medical Accelerators	\$ 1,090
3	Hospital	\$ 276
4	Medical Office	\$ 276
5	Industrial, Research, Academic	\$ 276
6	Dental	\$ 80
7	Veterinary	\$ 276
8	Mammography	\$ 276
9	Veterinary Dental	\$ 80

Past due fees for radiation machine facilities effective Calendar Year 2024, per tube, per year without registration, are as follows:

GROUP	NAME OF GROUP	CY 2024
1	Particle Accelerators	\$ 5,434
2	Medical Accelerators	\$ 5,434
3	Hospital	\$ 1,363
4	Medical Office	\$ 1,363
5	Industrial, Research, Academic	\$ 1,363
6	Dental	\$ 80
7	Veterinary	\$ 1,363
8	Mammography	\$ 1,363
9	Veterinary Dental	\$ 80

Questions regarding fees should be directed to the Radiation Machines Division at 410-537-3193.

### MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT RADIOLOGICAL HEALTH PROGRAM 1800 Washington Boulevard, Suite 750 • Baltimore, MD 21230 (410) 537-3193 • 1-800-633-6101 • <u>mde.maryland.gov</u>

### X-RAY MACHINES GENERAL INFORMATION

### 1. <u>Relocation</u>, <u>Change of Ownership</u>, or <u>Termination of Registration</u>:

The **REGISTRANT** (not the Service Provider) is responsible for notifying and providing documentation to the Maryland Department of the Environment (Radiological Health Department) of any changes to the facility. The registrant can contact the Department at 410-537-3193 with questions or concerns prior to making any changes to the status of their facility, registration of their machine(s), as well as for information regarding the maintenance schedule for their machine(s). Registration, certification and documentation of these machines(s) must be maintained in accordance with Maryland law; otherwise, escalated enforcement may be pursued.

Should any of the following changes need to be made to your facility, download and submit the appropriate form(s) to the Department. The documents can be found at <u>mde.maryland.gov</u> click tabs:  $\rightarrow$ Air  $\rightarrow$  Radiological Health  $\rightarrow$  X-ray Application Forms and Guidance, open and download the correct form number.

### **Relocation**

- A written letter requesting cancellation of your old registration number
- A Disassembly/Removal/Reassembly report (**MDE RX-24**) completed by an **ACTIVE** registered service provider, showing the Department the status of each radiation machine registered to the facility
- A Radiation Machine Registration Form (RX-1)
- Payment Transmittal Form for the new facility location
- All fees must be paid before a new registration number is issued

# If additional information is needed, please refer to the MDE website at <u>mde.maryland.gov</u> and follow instructions under "Registering a new facility."

If relocating a <u>used</u> radiation machine, in addition to registration, the machine must undergo a certification inspection by a State Licensed Private Inspector prior to operation. This applies to all facilities **except** those classified as dental, veterinary, or mammography. <u>Submit a Plan Review or Area Survey, if applicable.</u>

If you plan to remove or disable your radiation machine, you must notify the program prior to this action and provide the required documentation for removal or disablement before the fee due date. If such documentation is not received within 30 days of the invoice due date, you will be required to submit annual fees for the radiation machine(s) in question. Feel free to forward all documents to mdexray.submission@maryland.goy.

### **Change of Ownership**

- A written letter detailing new ownership
- When you anticipate the transaction will take place and if there will be any change to the machine(s). If the anticipated date of sale changes, submit an additional written letter and state when you anticipate the transaction will take place.
- A **Bill of Sale**, signed by both parties, that shows the ownership has changed.
- All outstanding fees must be paid on the old registration number before the registration number is cancelled and a new registration can be issued.
- A Radiation Machine Facility Registration Form (RX-1) and a Payment Transmittal Form must be completed and submitted.

## **Termination of Registration**

- A written letter requesting cancellation of your old registration number
- A Disassembly/removal report (**MDE RX-24**) completed by an **ACTIVE** registered service provider, showing the Department the status of each radiation machine registered to the facility.
- All outstanding fees must be paid before the registration number is cancelled.

## \*<u>NOTE</u>

### \*Once a facility is registered and the initial fees are paid, the facility fees will be due ANNUALLY.

In order for a registration to be cancelled, the Department MUST receive a written request to cancel and the service reports accounting for each machine registered. They MUST be received PRIOR to the due date of any annual fees due, to avoid any future invoices.

## 2. <u>RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION</u> – <u>Dentists</u> (Group 6), <u>Veterinarians</u> (Group 7), <u>Mammography Facilities</u> (Group 8), and <u>Veterinary Dental Facilities</u> (Group 9)

Be aware of the renewal date on your registration certificate. At least 14 days prior to your facility expiration date, submit a form MDE RX-1 providing all information requested concerning your radiation machine facility and the machines at your facility.

### NOTE ON X-RAY MACHINE PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE

All radiation machines (except those facilities classified as Group 5) must have **preventive maintenance** (**PM**) performed on the schedule recommended by the machine manufacturer. An **ACTIVE** registered service provider must perform the PM and use the appropriate Department form.

Preventive maintenance reports must be submitted within 30 days of the service being performed to: Maryland Department of the Environment, Radiological Health Program, 1800 Washington Boulevard, Suite 750, Baltimore, MD 21230 or by e-mail to preventive.maintenance@maryland.gov, or by fax to 410-537-3198.

### WEBSITE INFORMATION

- Changes to the "Regulations for the Control of Ionizing Radiation" are in the form of Supplements to COMAR 26.12.01.01. The most recent regulations may be viewed **for research purposes only** at <a href="http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth/Pages/RegulationsforControlofIonizingRadiation.aspx">http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth/Pages/RegulationsforControlofIonizingRadiation.aspx</a>.
- The <u>official</u> Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 26.12.01.01 "Regulations for the Control of Ionizing Radiation" is available for purchase from the State of Maryland Division of State Documents (DSD). Contact DSD at 410-260-3874 or 410-260-3876. Once you purchase this regulation, DSD will advise you of the availability for purchase of future Supplements when they are adopted and effective.