
2.18 SPECIAL MEDICAL WASTE HAULER AND VEHICLE 
CERTIFICATION AND IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 

 Question: Do I transport special medical waste over public highways? If so, Does that transport 
require the use of a shipping paper under U.S. Department of Transportation Hazardous Materials 
Transport regulations? OR 

 Question: Do I generate 50 pounds or more of special medical waste a month or accumulate more 
than 50 pounds of special medical waste?  

Why do I need this approval? 

To ensure the safe transport of medical wastes within 
Maryland, the Department regulates the movements of 
medical wastes by certifying haulers and vehicles. 
 
What laws or regulations give MDE the legal 
authority to issue this approval? 

STATE: Environment Article, Title 7, Subtitle 2, 
Annotated Code of Maryland; COMAR 26.13.13. 
 
What is the process to get this approval? 

Generators: 
1) Applicant submits a Notification of Special Medical 
Waste (SMW) Activity Form (see website for form). 
2) Department assigns a special medical waste Id 
number to the site. 
Hauler/Vehicle: 
1) Applicant submits a Special Medical Waste (SMW) 
Hauler Application, a SMW vehicle application for 
each vehicle with supporting documents and the fee. 
2) The Department reviews the application and issues 
or denies the certificate. 
 
Are there any other requirements? 

PRE-APPROVAL: Applications must include: 
1) Vehicle Inspection Certificates from a licensed 
inspection station approved by the Maryland 
Department of Motor Vehicles or other State agency; 
for out of state companies, a copy of the vehicle 
registration will be acceptable; 
2) Copy of the vehicle registration certificate; 

3) Proof of liability insurance (certificate of insurance); 
4) List of customers; 
5) List of destination facilities where approval has been 
received; 
6) List of any environmental violations; 
7) Hazardous waste tracking form; and 
8) Certificate of insurance, and $10,000 bond or letter 
of credit. 
 
How long should I expect it to take to get this 
approval once I submit a complete application? 

30 days 
 
Once I get this approval, how long will it last? 

12 months 
 
How much will this approval cost? 

$50 annually for each vehicle (12 month period) 
 
Who do I contact with additional questions? 

Jennifer Hopper 
Hazardous Waste Program 
Jennifer.Hopper@maryland.gov 

 
(410) 537-3344 
 
Related link: 
http://www.mde.state.md.us/landpermits/pages/forms.a
spx 
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